We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wel worth exploring.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Patara Ruins

Patara Ruins
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Patara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Much of the city of Patara remains buried in sand, which has helped to preserve many of the ruins. Of particular interest are the Amphitheatre, Necropolis and the monumental gate or Arch of Triumph.
nr Rochdale Manchester UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wel worth exploring.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Each time I visit this site I see something fresh. That is because there is a certain amount of excavation Archealogical not exploitation going on. There is a small visitor centre at the entrance near the Amphitheatre and Parliament Building. Dnot be put off visiting by the small entrance fee charged at the Toll gate on the beach road. I think you can get a multi entrance pass if you are staying in Patara.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank IanK1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    66
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sands of Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I are very interested in archeology, albeit in a very amateur sort of way. That being said, Patara was one of our favorite places in Turkey. There are some very nice things that have been excavated and rebuilt or restored. What is fascinating though is the sense that as you kick around, there is just alot more right under your feet. The ruins are sticking out of the sand everywhere! We especially enjoyed seeing the rebuilding of the lighthouse, dating back to the time of Nero. What an amazing project! It was also special to hike over to the ruins of only one of three extant Roman granaries. Altogether fascinating.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Worlds oldest lighthouse, Really intriguing ancient culture, Tombs and writing scattered across the land.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paloma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fascinating ruins”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have visited before but they are now doing some restoration work on the Council chamber - very interesting

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing, Awesome and Awe-Inspiring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We keep on coming back here, year after year, some years I come to see the ruins at least twice. This is one of the biggest sites in terms of geographical spread, from the newly uncovered lighthouse to the Byzantine churches, triumphal Roman arch, Grecian amphitheatre and newly restored forum. The wildlife around here is also lovely - we have seen hoopoes, bee-eaters and kingfishers here on the site. This year, we got a chance to have a look around the newly reconstructed public forum, or council chamber, building. A really good job has been done and we were seriously impressed at the progress in the space of a year. This is a truly magnificent site, spanning Lycian, Greek, Roman and Byzantine periods of occupation, so has something for everybody. Patara was also the birthplace of St. Nicholas (yes, that one), and St. Paul came here too (boo, hiss), and of course Alexander the Great. Fabulous, and the history is fantastic. We will be back next year to check up again on progress.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tiggy Merryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patara Ruins also viewed

Patara, Antalya Province
 
Antalya, Antalya Province
Kas, Antalya Province
 

Been to Patara Ruins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing