We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend if you need to be close to train station”
Review of Hotel Mithat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mithat
Ranked #97 of 175 Hotels in Ankara
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Recommend if you need to be close to train station”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I would give this hotel 3.5 stars.

Based on the reviews I read, I was starting to dread my options in Ankara. We were staying one night and catching a train. This hotel, which is maybe 5 minutes walk from Genclik Park and 15-20 to the train station, was a good choice for us.

PROS:

1. Breakfast included - it comes pre-packaged but it was decent.
2. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
3. Cost was reasonable - we were only staying one night.
4. Our room, on the 4th floor, was quiet and very clean. Amenities were provided (soap, shampoo, etc.)
5. Location was good- close to the park, the subway, and you can walk through the park to the train station.
6. Wifi included.

CONS
1. Other than its proximity to the train station, the location wasn't particularly great, but there was a grocery store nearby and a few restaurants.


The place has an old feel to it, but it wasn't drabby or dreary as others had said.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EthanandJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
29
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Western Norway, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our taxi had some problems to find the hotel, but it should be easy to find since it is close to the Genclik Park and the Opera.

Friendly staff - large room - OK bathroom - very clean room on 4th floor - window view towards the park. OK priced.

Location excellent - walking distance to the Ethno-museum and the Citadel with the museum of Anatolian Civilisations.
5 mins walk to Genciler Park with restaurants, lake and light & music fountains show every night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Easy to find and perfectly placed for the Citadel, the park and the Metro. Comfortable room and pleasant staff. Very good value. (NB. This is in the old part of the city - finding a bar may be difficult!) However, the metro is 5 mins away and its a short journey to other parts of the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel is very clean, room did not smell like cigarettes at all, we had a great view of Ankara, breakfast was decent (but NOT buffet), cheap, comfortable, polite and helpful staff - best of all, it was walking distance to all major tourist attractions in Old Ankara including the local bazaar. We liked busy city street right outside, but it can be a bit overwhelming for some. On the down side, TV was small and old, bathroom was TINY, toilet is almost under the shower.

Overall, if you're looking for a simple budget accommodation near old Ankara, this is definitely the one to pick!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Based on our flying visit, Ankara is an odd place. Taxi drivers think it's too much trouble to take customers anywhere... Hotel receptionists can't be bothered to give information to their guests... Polish tv was on in the breakfast room...
Otel Mithat is a clean but dreary place. The adequate breakfast comes on a tray accompanied by a limp, pre-packaged bread roll (in a country bursting with so many fresh and fantastic varieties of bread!). Service was unenthusiastic and at times lacked basic courtesy. Our triple room was very cramped.
The location is fairly convenient for the Museum of Anatolian Civilisations and the 'castle'. It's walkable from the railway station, just about - but do not attempt this in torrential rain, as it's further than it looks on the map...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loui54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sighetu Marmatiei, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had the worst possible experience while staying at this hotel. First of all, when I made the booking, they charged my credit card for all the 3 nights I was going to spend there. When I checked in, the guy at the reception was very arrogant and unfriendly. The room was small and smelled of stale smoke - even my suitcase smelled of stale smoke when I got home from my trip. Before going out, I opened all the windows and the door to the balcony, so fresh air could come in; however on my return in the evening, the room still smelled horrible. The bathroom is just a little bit bigger than the size of a shower cabin. There is no bathtub or shower curtain whatsoever so when you take a shower there is water everywhere, you can virtually swim in the bathroom. Although situated close to the centre, the neighboring area is like a market for selling cell-phone and tobacco, is very dirty and seems unsafe at night. Other hotels in the area appear to serve as brothels. The WiFi stops working in the evening (happened to me on both days I stayed there) and starts working again only late in the night. But the cherry on top of the cake was when one of my best friends from Turkey wanted to come up to my room. He was not allowed to come up. I asked for an explanation, but the older guy at the reception became extremely rude and was not even answering my questions. He even pretended he did not understand me ("No understand. Little speak English."), although before this incident he had no problem understanding me or speaking English. I have stayed in several hotels in Turkey and throughout Europe and it NEVER was a problem to receive guests in my room. I asked to speak to the hotel manager, because that's not the way they should treat their guests. I mean I was not staying there for free, I payed for the hotel so I have some rights. I expected to be treated with respect. He told me the manager was not there and I should come later. I returned a couple of hours later and the manager was still not there. The receptionist told me I should come again at 5 o'clock. I came AGAIN and the answer was "Manager not here. Maybe tomorrow". I suppose the receptionist did not even bother to let the manager know I wanted to speak to him. I told him if the manager was not there tomorrow morning, I would call the Police and the Romanian Embassy, because I was not going to spend another night there and wanted my money back, so I could book another hotel for my last day in Turkey. Shortly after that I received a phone call to my room from the manager and he agreed to reimburse me. So I booked another hotel (a night there cost me just 5 euro more that at Mithat hotel), but you really cannot compare it. The room was a lot nicer, bigger, a lot cleaner, more modern and the staff is very cheerful and helpful, willing to go an extra yard to help their guests. When I checked out, one of the guys at the reception drove me to a good baklava shop nearby to do some final shopping, then to the bus station to catch the bus to the airport. I really appreciate that, especially since it was for free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank refineddemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ankara hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My one night at this hotel was great! Walking in the lobby was like a flashback in time, the charm was unique. The room was super clean, comfortable bedding and good A/C although the shower was not self contained showering in the middle of the bathroom it was ok- Service was attentive and breakfast was included and perfect. Really can't ask for more at such a great price! There is a park right down the street a great perk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoshked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankara hotels
Capital Hotel Ankara
#84 of 175 in Ankara
25 reviews
Altındağ
Grand Sera Hotel
Grand Sera Hotel
#89 of 175 in Ankara
11 reviews
Çankaya
Gurkent Hotel
Gurkent Hotel
#44 of 175 in Ankara
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kayra Hotel
#71 of 175 in Ankara
37 reviews
Hotel Abro Sezenler
#85 of 175 in Ankara
21 reviews
Çankaya
Destino Park Hotel
Destino Park Hotel
#113 of 175 in Ankara
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mithat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mithat

Property: Hotel Mithat
Address: Opera Meydani Tavus Sok. No:2 Ulus, Altindag, Ankara 06050, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 175 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mithat 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mithat offers comfort and secure accommodation opportunity at the Ankara city center with super budget prices. Customers with their families are mostly welcomed since they do not need to spend time for searching a better place. At the walking distance there is a lot of restaurants and recreational areas like Turkish bath, Museums, Castle of Ankara and modern shopping malls. Hotel Mithat is supplying high quality services by reasonable prices to her customers with her well-educated stuff. All the rooms have nice sight seeing of Ankara. All rooms have bath, direct phone, TV. Breakfast and room services are available for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Mithat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing