We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very unfriendly staff, horrible experience!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mithat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mithat
Ranked #96 of 174 Hotels in Ankara
Sighetu Marmatiei, Romania
Level Contributor
1 review
“Very unfriendly staff, horrible experience!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had the worst possible experience while staying at this hotel. First of all, when I made the booking, they charged my credit card for all the 3 nights I was going to spend there. When I checked in, the guy at the reception was very arrogant and unfriendly. The room was small and smelled of stale smoke - even my suitcase smelled of stale smoke when I got home from my trip. Before going out, I opened all the windows and the door to the balcony, so fresh air could come in; however on my return in the evening, the room still smelled horrible. The bathroom is just a little bit bigger than the size of a shower cabin. There is no bathtub or shower curtain whatsoever so when you take a shower there is water everywhere, you can virtually swim in the bathroom. Although situated close to the centre, the neighboring area is like a market for selling cell-phone and tobacco, is very dirty and seems unsafe at night. Other hotels in the area appear to serve as brothels. The WiFi stops working in the evening (happened to me on both days I stayed there) and starts working again only late in the night. But the cherry on top of the cake was when one of my best friends from Turkey wanted to come up to my room. He was not allowed to come up. I asked for an explanation, but the older guy at the reception became extremely rude and was not even answering my questions. He even pretended he did not understand me ("No understand. Little speak English."), although before this incident he had no problem understanding me or speaking English. I have stayed in several hotels in Turkey and throughout Europe and it NEVER was a problem to receive guests in my room. I asked to speak to the hotel manager, because that's not the way they should treat their guests. I mean I was not staying there for free, I payed for the hotel so I have some rights. I expected to be treated with respect. He told me the manager was not there and I should come later. I returned a couple of hours later and the manager was still not there. The receptionist told me I should come again at 5 o'clock. I came AGAIN and the answer was "Manager not here. Maybe tomorrow". I suppose the receptionist did not even bother to let the manager know I wanted to speak to him. I told him if the manager was not there tomorrow morning, I would call the Police and the Romanian Embassy, because I was not going to spend another night there and wanted my money back, so I could book another hotel for my last day in Turkey. Shortly after that I received a phone call to my room from the manager and he agreed to reimburse me. So I booked another hotel (a night there cost me just 5 euro more that at Mithat hotel), but you really cannot compare it. The room was a lot nicer, bigger, a lot cleaner, more modern and the staff is very cheerful and helpful, willing to go an extra yard to help their guests. When I checked out, one of the guys at the reception drove me to a good baklava shop nearby to do some final shopping, then to the bus station to catch the bus to the airport. I really appreciate that, especially since it was for free.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank refineddemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
28
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

My one night at this hotel was great! Walking in the lobby was like a flashback in time, the charm was unique. The room was super clean, comfortable bedding and good A/C although the shower was not self contained showering in the middle of the bathroom it was ok- Service was attentive and breakfast was included and perfect. Really can't ask for more at such a great price! There is a park right down the street a great perk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoshked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed there for two nights with my business partner it was very good in value of price 160 Liras for two nights for economic double room, very neat and clean bedsheets, good wifi internet connection, cleaned bathrooms with clean towels, shampoo and soap daily changed.

Good location very near to the main road and a Big amusement park Genchlik Park, very friendly and helpful receptionist, but people in Ankara does not speak English at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minhaj a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I decided to book this hotel after comparing prices and reviews and I was not disappointed. The hotel offers great value for money.
The room and bathroom were very clean and the beds comfortable. The only negative aspect was that the free wifi signal was a bit weak in our room as there is only one router per floor.
Breakfast consisted of some cheese, bread, sausage, olives, tomato, cucumber, jam, and tea or coffee.
The location is just north of the centre and it's close to buses and the metro. A supermarket selling necessities can also be found nearby.
Last but not least, the reception staff were very polite and helpful!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhSy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good value for staying in the heart of city. Sleeping was comfortable...Cheap, clean, full quality breakfast...room was ok for 1 or 2 person..No luxurious but efficient hotel. I recommend it..Bus stop 100m, metro station 400m away from hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oktayozkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Good: Big rooms, big comfortable beds, everything clean and welcoming.

Bad: The location is great for visiting the castle, the museum of Anatolian civilizations, and the big amusement park nearby, but it gets a little creepy at night. Not unsafe though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lefteris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankara hotels
Capital Hotel Ankara
#80 of 174 in Ankara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Altındağ
Grand Sera Hotel
Grand Sera Hotel
#81 of 174 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Hotel Abro Sezenler
#82 of 174 in Ankara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Çankaya
Gurkent Hotel
Gurkent Hotel
#44 of 174 in Ankara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Kayra Hotel
#54 of 174 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Maltepe 2000
#30 of 174 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mithat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mithat

Property: Hotel Mithat
Address: Opera Meydani Tavus Sok. No:2 Ulus, Altindag, Ankara 06050, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 174 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mithat 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mithat offers comfort and secure accommodation opportunity at the Ankara city center with super budget prices. Customers with their families are mostly welcomed since they do not need to spend time for searching a better place. At the walking distance there is a lot of restaurants and recreational areas like Turkish bath, Museums, Castle of Ankara and modern shopping malls. Hotel Mithat is supplying high quality services by reasonable prices to her customers with her well-educated stuff. All the rooms have nice sight seeing of Ankara. All rooms have bath, direct phone, TV. Breakfast and room services are available for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mithat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing