We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sahinbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sahinbey Hotel to your Saves list
Sahinbey Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hisarpark Cad. Alatas Sok. No:5 Ulus/Ismetpasa, Altindag, Ankara 6050, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 163 Hotels in Ankara
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed at the Sahinbey Hotel at the beginning and end of our trip to Turkey. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the room was clean, quiet and modern. In addition there was a very good view from the breakfast room on the top floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jg6343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a great value hotel for a solo traveler. The room was spacious, very clean and modern. The service (Ercan) was excellent. They showed great initiative by arranging a hotel transfer, despite the fact I had booked through booking.com. The location was great for the Museum of Anatolian Civilization, the Ankara Hisar and was walking distance from the train station. Decent breakfast on the rooftop terrace and Wifi available. Con: A little difficult to find, but there is a rooftop sign you can look for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SGP613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boullay-les-Troux, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Perfect location for visiting the Anatolian Museum... just 10 minutes uphill from the hotel.
Clean, modern, with no particular frills. Located in the 'old' town with lots of ambiance and much more 'real' than the modern part of Ankara. For intrepid travels with a sense of adventure.
No surprises, helpful staff, but with limited English and French. Breakfast was nothing
to write home about.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boullaylestroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in mid-Feb 2013.
Hotel seemed pretty new and the furnishings were acceptable.
I slept in a standard double room and the bed was nice and comfy.
The location is in the old district and is very near the Civilisations musuem and Ankara citadel - which has its variety of restaurants.
The immediate area surrounding the hotel seems to be a lot of electronic shops, and not much choice for food or restaurants with English. It also gets near pitch dark at night.
None of the taxi drivers knew where the hotel was so it's difficult to find. If all else fails just tell him to drive you to the musuem where you can work you way there.
The staff hardly spoke English but they were helpful nonetheless providing me with LAN cable and helping me get on a taxi.
For the price it's pretty good no-frills.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edwin_lee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Overall a pleasant stay, although the room smelled a bit like cigarette smoke, especially in the bathroom. Also, the shower did not drain well, and the bath towels were pretty rough. Otherwise the room was quite spacious and clean, even relatively new-looking. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, helping when we had to move baby gear, and even walking us to an excellent nearby restaurant. We drove our own car, which the staff parked in its own lot underneath the hotel. Although we did not have a great view, the location was convenient to all of the sites in the old part of the city. Breakfast was a standard Turkish buffet, nothing exceptional. A decent stay, especially for the price and location

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
309 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

It is always a challenge to find a place in Turkey even if you know the exact address. The hotel is small, near to the Castle, but a little bit far from the city centre. Free wifi, small breakfast, big rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank comnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Don’t trust the hotel booking maps.
It was a bit of a chore locating this hotel. But it was well worth locating. The position is a great base for the museum, the citadel and the old town. Check out the market around the corner when you are there to get a view of local life without the taint of tourists.
The hotel room was clean and adequate. What I loved most of all was the manager and staff. They had no English, but I have rarely, (even in Turkey) come across such helpful people. The lengths that they went to to assist us with information and practical help was nothing short of extraordinary and at times hilarious.
Ankara may not be everyones cup of tea, but my memories are full of fondness, mainly because of the people.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quietly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankara hotels
1.3 mi away
Kahya Hotel
Kahya Hotel
#13 of 163 in Ankara
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mithat
Hotel Mithat
#95 of 163 in Ankara
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
1.4 mi away
First Apart Hotel
First Apart Hotel
#50 of 163 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rest Hotel
Rest Hotel
#74 of 163 in Ankara
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yildiz Hotel
Yildiz Hotel
#61 of 163 in Ankara
5.0 of 5 stars 1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Verda Hotel
Grand Verda Hotel
#67 of 163 in Ankara
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahinbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahinbey Hotel

Property: Sahinbey Hotel
Address: Hisarpark Cad. Alatas Sok. No:5 Ulus/Ismetpasa, Altindag, Ankara 6050, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 163 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sahinbey Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sahinbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing