We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bijou Hotel”
Review of Divan Ankara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Divan Ankara
Ranked #20 of 178 Hotels in Ankara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Hotel was picked for its location as we were attending a family wedding. It is in a lively area with everything one would need, shops restrurants and cafes. However the hotel itself is tucked away from the main street but a 3 minute walk from everything which was very convenient.

The Divan Ankara is one of a change of hotels that are well established and have a good reputation, they are also known for there pattiserrie shops and cafes.

On entrance to the lobby, it is quiet small but the outstanding feature was the politeness of all the staff at reception, very smartly dressed and very helpful.

We was one of the first to arrive from our party of 7 rooms and had to change rooms as unfortunately they are on the very small side.

I was travelling with two suitcases and there was no room to put them anywhere.

i was then offered a corner room which was slightly bigger but still felt squashed.

Windows could not be opened so in 33 degrees heat one relied on the air con which was a real pain, because it is centrally controlled and is turned off after what is fixed to be a certain temperature, well in actual fact it was off more then on. Having called maintenance 3 times in the end he said I will do it so that it stays constantly on for you, so he opened it all up in the ceiling and sorted it.

It became better but still not great.

The Divan does not have a lobby area that has seating in, to sit for a period of time so the only place to eat in the hotel or drink is the Divan bar/pub as they called it, a pleasant room with modern furniture.

But again if you wanted to sit to chat about anything there was only a corner consisting of a 2 seat sofa and that was it there is no where to go, because we became a large party of people we had no where to sit and discuss things.

The breakfast area was not suitable as when breakfast was finished you were obliged to leave for them to set up for early lunches at 11.30, evening they wanted to set it up for breakfast.

This is where we had breakfast.

The breakfast selection was disappointing my pet hate is when things are not labelled or restocked so you are going around looking at empty bowls.

There was not enough selection of breads, the diet area was very small and did not look appetising at all. Only a two cereal choice and poor set out.

The popular things like fruits were on a top shelf that could not even be seen and I never did get to eat a melon as once it was gone it was never refilled, they though request were made for it to be.

You could asked for cooked breakfast which was nice and this we did a couple of times. Once the rest of the party arrived and other people in the hotel came to breakfast the Breakfast staff lost there efficiency and we noticed a couple of long faces as if it was getting too much for them, so we were making the request straight to the kitchen chef through the hatch and then picking things up ourselves once they were ready.

The breakfast staff were not as good as the reception staff who both on night duty and day time were excellent.

On the whole the hotel was clean but just like the heading BIJOU both in rooms and public areas.

I was there for 4 days this was too long for this sort of hotel I think a two night stay is what it is better for. There are spa facilities but I never used them.

Would I go again Yes but not for more then 2 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room ss the rest of standard are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DuquesaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 190 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is tucked into a quite alley on centre of the city. The rooms clean and comfortable with good amount of natural lights. The Buffets having variety of menu both continental and regional cuisines. The staff was always helpful and promptly responded to any request.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anindya_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is very nice and the personnel is very careful and attentive. The rooms are quite cosy and the bed is fantastic.

It is sad I could stay there for a brief period of time.

Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oviajador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Ankara was our first stop in a two week trip of Turkey. This hotel was such a pleasant way to begin. Modern, welcoming, comfortable. Well located in this bustling city. They even handled a delicate situation for me in a superb fashion... I do not usually keep my passport in a safe. But, I did here. Unfortunately, I left it in the safe when we checked out. It was several hours later that our tour guide asked me if I had my passport. The hotel had notified him of my situation and suggested that the passport be sent to our final destination in Istanbul for me to pick up there. The plan worked perfectly.

Room Tip: The hotel, while well-located, is on a very quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Everything about the hotel is great. The location is convenient, the service is just excellent - very welcoming, friendly and efficient. We had a peasant one night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fnugroho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I was unfortunately more than undewhelmed by this hotel, to the point that I had to move out. Most importantly, my room was uncomfortably warm for two days straight. When I asked for the A/C to be fixed on day one, the response was that I could open a window, but that they would look into it. Of course, while the weather was wonderful outside, it is far to noisy in this part of Ankara to do such a thing. My room was the smallest hotel room I have ever slept in. The furnishings look sharp, but are uncomfortable (you actually have to request a matress pad -- not a pillow top, mind you -- if want even a slightly less firm bed). The bathroom was comparatively large and well appointed with a huge shower (though the rain shower was not quite rain-like). The service could be better and more friendly. The breakfast is vast and actually quite good. Despite the noise, the location is stellar. Too bad these few positives ended up at the bottom of my list.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for one of the larger rooms on an upper floor with a better a/c system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Good location, perfect staff, tunali street is superb and lovely

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurkeyMarazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankara hotels
Ankara Hilton SA
#3 of 178 in Ankara
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Çankaya
Limak Ambassadore Hotel Ankara
Ramada Ankara
#49 of 178 in Ankara
244 reviews
Swissotel Ankara
#7 of 178 in Ankara
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Ankara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Ankara

Address: Tunali Hilmi Caddesi Guniz Sok No :42 | Kavaklidere, Ankara 06700, Turkey (Formerly Divan Hotel Moment Ankara)
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 178 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range: $69 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Divan Ankara 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Ankara is a strikingly designed boutique business hotel in Ankara with its finger on the pulse of the Turkish capital, designed to combine sophistication with a contemporary feel and superior functionality. Offering 83 elegantly appointed guest rooms, including 61 standard guestrooms, 17 corner rooms and 5 suites, the boutique hotel in Ankara is located in an exclusive business address within walking distance of key ministries, embassies and corporate headquarters. It offers not only outstanding accommodations but also gourmet dining at the Divan Pub and the Antrikot, as well as superb meeting facilities and a fully-equipped Business Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Divan Ankara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing