We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Old Mansion”
Review of Angora House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angora House
Ranked #2 of 101 Ankara B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The location of the hotel is super; one can visit busy modern Ankara and get the feel of an old Anatolian village at the same time. Also you live in one of the oldest part of Ankara - it's very romantic there because the hotel and all other houses there are built in traditional Turkish style - so you really get a very good impression of Turkish lifestyle. Hotel is situated, in the old citadel of Ankara, near the museum (Museum of Anatolian Civilizations). This is an old house nicely renovated. The rooms are quite large and have a Turkish decoration, wooden ceilings, furniture.

Staffs are excellent, excellent, excellent, friendly, polite and helpful. Breakfast is typical Turkish, (butter, jam, sesame oil & molasses, honey, olive, yellow cheese salami, tomatoes, cucumbers, eggs.) We like their copper pans they serve your eggs on small copper pan.

If come to Ankara by bus like us, take taxi from ASTI (bus station) 22.-TL with yellow cabs. If you go to Ankara, we would definitely recommend Angora House Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brotheus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 127 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

Simple and cosy hotel in the old Ankara (which is being renovated). The staff is very helpful and makes sure that your stay is fine. The owner sent us forgotten sunglasses by post. The location should get better when renovation of this area is finished. Recommended for family.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pubsio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Angora House is perfectly situated in the old town, within walking distance to all the little shops selling everything from carpets to fridge magnets and spices. Very close to the Museum of Anatolian Civilizations (which only has 2 of the 5 rooms open at the moment!!)There is a lot of reconstruction going on in and around the old town with the buildings and narrow streets being upgraded. Would love to come back when it has been completed. The guesthouse was very comfortable and elegantly decorated. Staff were friendly and helpful. Just a pity that breakfast was only served from 8am and we had a problem with the hot water which could not be fixed resulting in us having lukewarm showers 3 nights in a row!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This bed and breakfast is located in the old city of Ankara. In a narrow street with many small shops, you really feel Turkey's life. Friendly staff, very personal. The rooms are gorgeous, with airco, furnished with carpets. Clean, something noisy through the wooden floors.

At the end of the street taxis that can bring you into the city. Great location to view the old citadel and from here you can walk to the city.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesiMulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We don't know Ankara well at all, but from just driving to and from the Angora House, I would say that Angora House has the best location. The citadel, the shops, the wonderful small restaurant next door, the Museum of Anatolian Civilizations so near make this a perfect spot to stay.
It is charming and small and well run. There was a lot of street noise at night, but what I heard was conversations and singing. For a perfect night's sleep, perhaps ear plugs would be helpful.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norsesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Angora House Hotel is very beautiful, charming and great location. It is true that is noisy, but that is part of the experience. A new city, new sensations and sounds. After a very interesting taxi ride from Ankara airport (the driver pretended he got lost, but we only paid him the initially agreed sum), we were please to check in with Mesut. He recommended a restaurant for later that evening that was 2mn up from the hotel : Kinagizade Konagi. Then we headed for a late afternoon stroll in the Old City. On time to climb atop the wall and watch the sunset. The next day we went to Anitkabir (Ataturk Mosoleum) and Kocatepe Camii. We left our luggages at the Hotel, and Mesut called a taxi to get us to the bus station

Room Tip: If you can avoid the room directly on the courtyard? If not you will sleep well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeleneS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I arrived in Ankara by bus from Cappadocia, and really had no idea how to get to Angora House, the hotel we had booked. The bus station was on the far west side of the city, and we couldn’t find anyone who spoke English to help us out. Finally, after some broken English with a passerby, we learned that there was a free bus across the street from the bus station that took passengers into the city center. When most everyone finally got out of the bus, we got out, too. We asked a nearby taxi driver if he could take us to Angora House hotel, but he indicated that it was just 200 meters up the street. We finally found the hotel he was directing us to, but it was Angora Hotel, not Angora House! Fortunately, the staff at Angora Hotel were helpful in getting us a taxi that took us (quite a long, convoluted way) up the hill to the old city where we passed through a very narrow old gate, up crowded alleys, and stopped in front of Angora House. This was a small (six rooms), very old hotel, that has been nicely restored in the old section of Ankara just 100 meters from the Citadel. The owner, Mesut Tikas, was extremely helpful in suggesting our sightseeing itinerary and a neighboring restaurant. This was a really interesting part of Ankara to visit. One just has to be aware that you will probably need a knowledgeable taxi driver to help you find it. We highly recommend Angora House.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brady V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankara hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Ankara
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Ankara
2.5 mi away
Ankara Hilton SA
Ankara Hilton SA
#4 of 177 in Ankara
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Ankara
Movenpick Hotel Ankara
#1 of 177 in Ankara
913 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maltepe 2000
Maltepe 2000
#15 of 177 in Ankara
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cukurhan
Divan Cukurhan
#8 of 177 in Ankara
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angora House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angora House

Address: Kale Kapisi Sok. No:16 Hisar, Ankara 06240, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara > Altındağ
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in Ankara
Price Range: $40 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Angora House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and charming Angora is situated on the edge of Ankara Evi Park, near Ankara Castle. The restored house is beautifully decorated with Ottoman-style furnishings. The luxurious rooms are spacious and fitted with modern amenities, including an LCD TV and air conditioning. They offer separate seating areas and modern en suite bathrooms. The hotel features a tranquil courtyard where guests can relax in the sun or enjoy a sumptuous breakfast. There is also an inviting lounge where guests can read a book from the library or make use of the free Wi-Fi. Angora House is a 5-minute drive from Ataturk's Mausoleum and the Ankara city centre, where guests can find restaurants, shops, archeological museums and mosques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Angora House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angora House Hotel Ankara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing