We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in old town”
Review of Angora House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Angora House
Ranked #1 of 100 Ankara B&B and Inns
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good location in old town”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Angora House is perfectly situated in the old town, within walking distance to all the little shops selling everything from carpets to fridge magnets and spices. Very close to the Museum of Anatolian Civilizations (which only has 2 of the 5 rooms open at the moment!!)There is a lot of reconstruction going on in and around the old town with the buildings and narrow streets being upgraded. Would love to come back when it has been completed. The guesthouse was very comfortable and elegantly decorated. Staff were friendly and helpful. Just a pity that breakfast was only served from 8am and we had a problem with the hot water which could not be fixed resulting in us having lukewarm showers 3 nights in a row!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    34
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
70
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This bed and breakfast is located in the old city of Ankara. In a narrow street with many small shops, you really feel Turkey's life. Friendly staff, very personal. The rooms are gorgeous, with airco, furnished with carpets. Clean, something noisy through the wooden floors.

At the end of the street taxis that can bring you into the city. Great location to view the old citadel and from here you can walk to the city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesiMulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south beach
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We don't know Ankara well at all, but from just driving to and from the Angora House, I would say that Angora House has the best location. The citadel, the shops, the wonderful small restaurant next door, the Museum of Anatolian Civilizations so near make this a perfect spot to stay.
It is charming and small and well run. There was a lot of street noise at night, but what I heard was conversations and singing. For a perfect night's sleep, perhaps ear plugs would be helpful.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norsesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Angora House Hotel is very beautiful, charming and great location. It is true that is noisy, but that is part of the experience. A new city, new sensations and sounds. After a very interesting taxi ride from Ankara airport (the driver pretended he got lost, but we only paid him the initially agreed sum), we were please to check in with Mesut. He recommended a restaurant for later that evening that was 2mn up from the hotel : Kinagizade Konagi. Then we headed for a late afternoon stroll in the Old City. On time to climb atop the wall and watch the sunset. The next day we went to Anitkabir (Ataturk Mosoleum) and Kocatepe Camii. We left our luggages at the Hotel, and Mesut called a taxi to get us to the bus station

Room Tip: If you can avoid the room directly on the courtyard? If not you will sleep well
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeleneS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I arrived in Ankara by bus from Cappadocia, and really had no idea how to get to Angora House, the hotel we had booked. The bus station was on the far west side of the city, and we couldn’t find anyone who spoke English to help us out. Finally, after some broken English with a passerby, we learned that there was a free bus across the street from the bus station that took passengers into the city center. When most everyone finally got out of the bus, we got out, too. We asked a nearby taxi driver if he could take us to Angora House hotel, but he indicated that it was just 200 meters up the street. We finally found the hotel he was directing us to, but it was Angora Hotel, not Angora House! Fortunately, the staff at Angora Hotel were helpful in getting us a taxi that took us (quite a long, convoluted way) up the hill to the old city where we passed through a very narrow old gate, up crowded alleys, and stopped in front of Angora House. This was a small (six rooms), very old hotel, that has been nicely restored in the old section of Ankara just 100 meters from the Citadel. The owner, Mesut Tikas, was extremely helpful in suggesting our sightseeing itinerary and a neighboring restaurant. This was a really interesting part of Ankara to visit. One just has to be aware that you will probably need a knowledgeable taxi driver to help you find it. We highly recommend Angora House.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brady V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
591 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is an Ottoman merchant's home that has been redone, It's clean, comfortable, has many of the traditionalOttoman flourishes and modern conveniences all at once. The inkeep is very nice. It's located in the Citadel district, a historic part of Ankara with many high quality shops and restaurants. Not far from the museum of Anatolian Civilizations.

This place would merit a 5 star rating if not for the street noise. The walls are thin and people were out in the street talking (loudly) till at least midnight both nights we were there. It's not a deal breaker but travelers should be aware that ear plugs might be a good idea.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street; not sure that any of them are though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retinol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Wonderful hotel in the old part of Ankara. The people running this charming hotel know their business. The small gated courtyard in front of the hotel is great for an afternoon drink after a day in Turkey's busy capital city. Breakfast is tasty and memorable (read: large!) and the rooms are surprisingly big with high ceilings. Do visit the restaurant next to it: when in front of the hotel facing the gate, it's the one on the right. Chef Osman is an excellent cook and runs a small cozy restaurant. The food is real, Turkish and delicious. He also sells bottles of good house wine and Angora House does not mind if you drink it in on their premises as they do not sell any drinks. If we were to go Ankara again, we would book a room in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sannieswirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankara hotels
Kahya Hotel
#16 of 175 in Ankara
49 reviews
Asal Hotel Ankara
#70 of 175 in Ankara
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital Hotel Ankara
#86 of 175 in Ankara
25 reviews
Çankaya
Latanya Hotel Ankara
Latanya Hotel Ankara
#13 of 175 in Ankara
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angora House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angora House

Property: Angora House
Address: Kale Kapisi Sok. No:16 Hisar, Ankara 06240, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara > Altındağ
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and charming Angora is situated on the edge of Ankara Evi Park, near Ankara Castle. The restored house is beautifully decorated with Ottoman-style furnishings. The luxurious rooms are spacious and fitted with modern amenities, including an LCD TV and air conditioning. They offer separate seating areas and modern en suite bathrooms. The hotel features a tranquil courtyard where guests can relax in the sun or enjoy a sumptuous breakfast. There is also an inviting lounge where guests can read a book from the library or make use of the free Wi-Fi. Angora House is a 5-minute drive from Ataturk's Mausoleum and the Ankara city centre, where guests can find restaurants, shops, archeological museums and mosques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Angora House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angora House Hotel Ankara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing