We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit high-priced yet recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ankara Gordion Hotel
Ranked #56 of 177 Hotels in Ankara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Gordion Hotel is located on Tunali Street which is a live neighborhood with lots of restaurants and shops, and also a nice street to walk along as it ends to a lush park up north. The hotel is designed in vintage style with antique-like furniture and warm colors all over the place. Rooms are spacious enough and well decorated to give you a very special feeling of a somehow luxurious hotel. However, bathrooms are NOT on a par with what you expect from a 4 start hotel with such chic decoration. Faucets and other fittings are old and about to be out of order for any given NEXT guest. Walls of the rooms are a bit thin as you can hear the noise from other rooms especially on the 3rd floor where I stayed for almost a week. Also windows were not really double layered cause outside noise (especially during the riot time) wouldn't let me sleep well. Now let's get to some tasty stuff. Breakfast was not much exciting however they would make some changes in what you could eat to make it a little diverse. Having said that, you could find fresh fruits, cereals, cold milk, boiled eggs and some special bread called simit at the breakfast time. Staff were friendly and very helpful, always ready to give you what you asked for. Gym and pool were almost okay for a 4 start and one could at least burn the extra tire they would gain eating doner and other fatty Turkish food.
Ankara is a beautiful city and Gordion Hotel adds up to the pleasant experience you expect.

Room Tip: Don't forget your slippers (theirs are awfully thin and sticky) Minibar items are 4 times the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMJAVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 96 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Gordion offers a olde worldy feel - lovely lobby, great staff - but the room and fittings give an almost tired rather than antique impression - and if you are interested in basics such as good tea and coffee in the room, a brilliant shower, sound-proofing against other guests - and a stunning breakfast - this is not the place - better head for the Limak Ambassadore around 1 km away. On the other hand, the location is right beside a main shopping centre, coffee bars, restaurants and clubettes on all sides. There is a great gym and pool and the usual Turkish specials. Maybe the breakfast chef was on holiday while I was there? Not my first choice for Ankara - but other contributors seem to rate it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeveedubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in Gordion many years ago for the first time. Somehow my review disappeared. So time for a new review after staying here again.
Mainly İ noticed that the hotel maintains the same quality. The rooms are classy and nicely decorated (with Vakko). The location is perfect, you can go shopping, enjoy a drink in a lovely cafe, have a dinner in one of the many restaurants in the area. Or just go for a walk and enjoy the modern city life.
There is a tv, cd player, wifi connection, minibar, a welcoming fruit bowl...
The price is good too, what else... the hotel is very clean, the staff is friendly, there is a car park, breakfast is excellent. We just could not try the dinners here as the restaurant was not open in the evenings.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VillaRhapsody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I would highly recommend satying at this hotel for several reasons. The main reasons would be that the price is right, the rooms are very comforable and the gym is very good as well. They also have a pool, sauna, massages etc.. I usually stay at the Ramada next door and have kicked myself several times after staying at the Gordion. I can't say that the restaurant at the hotel is fantastic but I can say that the corner is surrounded by a variety of restaurants and shopping. It is a really good location.

Room Tip: I have no tips to finding a good room, but I had one overlooking the street and did not have a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCaballo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There's really a great joy to experience great services (reception, food, waiters, wi-fi, sauna, pool and gym) and location in Ankara (Tunali Hilmi, lots of shops, etc). The management has paid extreme attention to lots of details (bars, breakfast arrangements, pillow cocktail, walls finishing, taxi arrangements. I stayed there during winter and summer and there were no problems with the heating or conditioning.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corneliu Dumitr... V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Spent about a week at the Gordion for a conference in Ankara. Lobby is beautiful, staff friendly and helpful, the rooms reasonable and the free wifi a big plus. The area is full of excellent restaurants and shops, so you can just walk around in the evening. Gives a good impression of modern Turkey, bustling and full of optimism. After walking around for hours in the sizzling heat, it was fantastic to relax in the indoor pool. The one drawback was that the air conditioning never managed to make my room cool (even on the maximum setting), just less unbearably hot than the rest of the city.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
Thank DavidE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We traveled with a group of 26 people. We have got good service, good food,even when we arrived very late in the evening, very nice breakfast, professional approach. Good Hotel, Value for money. Ankara is an amizing city, thre are a lot of cultural aspects to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RenM188632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankara hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ikibin-2000
0.2 mi away
Houston Hotel
Houston Hotel
#44 of 177 in Ankara
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ramada Ankara
Ramada Ankara
#33 of 177 in Ankara
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Best
Hotel Best
#64 of 177 in Ankara
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seven Deep Hotel
Seven Deep Hotel
#38 of 177 in Ankara
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Demonti Otel Ankara
Demonti Otel Ankara
#123 of 177 in Ankara
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ankara Gordion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankara Gordion Hotel

Address: Buklum Sok. No:59 Kavaklidere, Cankaya, Ankara 06660, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 177 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range: $52 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ankara Gordion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Ankara Gordion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing