We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ankara Gordion Hotel
Ranked #61 of 177 Hotels in Ankara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2008

My wife and i stayed one night. It felt like a standard business style hotel, slightly boring with nothing to particularly dislike but nothing to rave over either. Room was a good size, about tthat of an American mid-range business hotel. Storage space was adequate with a usable work desk. A strong WiFi signal provided free (it appears to be the norm in Turkey to provide free broadband access). However, there was a total lack of accessible power outlets; why do hotels expect guests to crawl around under desks on their hands and knees for an outlet for one's laptop and mobile phone. The bathroom was on the small size but adequate; the area around the tub was showing distinct signs of wear. The breakfast buffet was relatively meager and uninteresting. The biggest disadvantage is its location, particularly for a tourist. Check out the cost through the hotel of an airport pickup, a taxi cost $65. It is in an area reputed to be interesting, it looks populated with hotels, apartments and restaurants although we didn't find a decent one the night we were there. The problem is that its quite far away from any of the locations a tourist is likely to visit (with the exception of the Kocatepe Mosque) and the Metro system. It is approximately a 40 minute walk to the Ataturk Mausoleum for example. The hotel does apparently have a Bistro and roof top bar but both were closed during our visit.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TiburonTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Ankara Gordion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 95 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2008

I stayed at the Gordion on a business trip in June 2007. My memory of it is a bit hazy now but I remember it being a really nice hotel. It's a modern, smallish hotel and was fairly empty when I stayed there. It felt quite "clubby" - deep carpets, lots of dark wooden furniture. It has a comfortable library bar on the second floor and another pleasant bar on the top floor with a decent view of the city. It's well located for business travellers on a side street off the main drag in Kavikledere. I didn't eat in the hotel apart from breakfast, which was fine; however opposite the hotel is a delicious cheap fish and kebab restaurant - the shepherd's salad is great. Some of the hotel staff don;t speak great English but the service was fine. I have no great desire to return to Ankara but if I did, I would stay here again in a flash.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rakiraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Mehmet Ç
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
Thank Mkantur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank denizttk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne Marie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankara hotels
Houston Hotel
#36 of 177 in Ankara
38 reviews
Ramada Ankara
#27 of 177 in Ankara
237 reviews
Anemon Ankara
#22 of 177 in Ankara
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Çankaya
Warwick Ankara
Warwick Ankara
#28 of 177 in Ankara
46 reviews
Çankaya
Ankara Plaza Hotel
Ankara Plaza Hotel
#32 of 177 in Ankara
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ankara Gordion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ankara Gordion Hotel

Address: Buklum Sok. No:59 Kavaklidere, Cankaya, Ankara 06660, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 177 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range: $54 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ankara Gordion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ankara Gordion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing