We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service with desperate need of a renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Hotel & Convention Center Ankara
Ranked #10 of 175 Hotels in Ankara
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great service with desperate need of a renovation”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

If we need to choose one of the classic 5 star hotels we always prefer the Sheraton over Hilton. Again we did the same this time around as in Ankara the two are very near each other. We were very happy with our overall stay. Wonderful dining, breakfast, pool, sauna and staff. However the rooms and bathrooms are in a desperate need of a full renovation. The bed was uncomfortable but they were very quick in changing the mattress. Still, I think Sheraton should not have a concave in its mattress. The TV was left over from the 90's. Again not major but one expects more style. Otherwise location, staff and other amenities make up for the fine details.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoergUweLimper, General Manager at Sheraton Hotel & Convention Center Ankara, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear ebaty,

It is wonderful to hear that guests like yourself who use all our services leave Ankara with good memories.

Thank you for sharing this with us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    139
    43
    13
    7
See reviews for
20
27
14
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is quite nice and in a nice town location, with plenty of restaurant at a walking distance.
The hotel staff is quite friendly and helpfull, so they take care of everything for you.

The room is fine buy I was, naturally, expecting something better. It is clean, spacious, with view, good desk for working, however it looks outdated. The TV look for the 80s and the bathroom is also requesting some upgrades...indeed, for a Sheraton Hotel, it was bellow my expectations.

Services in the Hotel are good, with good conference facilities and helfull support personnel.
Breakfast was also very good with plenty of offer (missing some more fresh food but still reasonable).

In resume a good option for Ankara but not an outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoergUweLimper, General Manager at Sheraton Hotel & Convention Center Ankara, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Niebes,

Your positive comments on our service and staff are appreciated sincerely. With this opportunity I would like to share the good news that our televisions will be replaced very soon. I hope the nex time you visit us you will be enjoying the new TV in your room.

Thank you for taking the time and writing your comments about Sheraton Ankara.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a very nice property, the rooms are large and well equipped, food was good and the public areas are friendly and welcoming. The location seemed quite good amongst Embassies with restaurants and bars close at hand. I would try to stay here again if I am in Ankara.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roderrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here on business and the location was very convenient. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Had an upgrade to the club floor with an amazing view of the city looking back towards the large mosque. Arrived late at night so the view of the mosque lit up made quite an impression. Comfortable room, however almost impossible to control the heat and the outlet for the kettle did not work. The club lounge was not busy when I dropped in and the service was excellent.

A great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandmomma58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel after a week of vacationing in Turkey. Our flight was out of Ankara and we stayed only one night in Ankara. We needed a little bit of luxury after staying in some budget accommodations in Turkey so choose to stay here

Thankfully I received an upgrade to a suite on the club floor when I was checking in and imagine this was a result of my Starwood Platinum status. This was greatly appreciated and the suite was perfect after a long week of budget travel. However, I wish the suite would have had a sleeper sofa as we had to use a roll away bed for my two young children sleep on. The room was great and had whirlpool tub and separate shower in the bathroom. The living room had its own bathroom which meant the kids were not walking through the bedroom at night to use the restroom.

The hotel and service was what I expected of a Starwood property such as this one. Property had an indoor lap pool, kiddy pool and full spa. Adjacent to the hotel is a small park and playground. There are plenty of shopping and small restaurants to enjoy within walking distance.
My impression of Ankara was a modern hip city. I think this is because it is a relatively new city and the capital of Turkey. I wish we would have spent some more time in Ankara to find out if it worth a stop for Turkey vacation Itineraries.

My families experience and stay at the hotel was a perfect cap to a great vacation in Turkey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincoMcBrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed in this hotel twice in recent months to attend meetings. The location is very good, rooms are clean and there is attention to details. The staff are friendly and efficient. In my first stay I chatted with the woman doing housekeeping and sounded like the hotel management was keeping them happy. In my second stay, I needed help with the air-conditioning, and the housekeeping lady was there to offer her help.

Breakfast was very good. There is good coffee and various local selections - which are offered in local form and taste. If you end up eating dinner in one of the restaurants, you can get local selections and they taste like real local food.

Most hotels in Turkey offer free wi-fi connections. At Sheraton, they expect you to pay either for
wi-fi or for a wi-fi plus films package.

There was a problem with the air-conditioning in both of my rooms. It appeared to be working but it was not clear as to how to set the thermostat. Just like in many other hotels, there were no instructions as to how to set the thermostat. I had to get help to set the thermostat, after an uncomfortable night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Degirmencioglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent one night only on a very short business trip it has been a very good experience staff are very friendly and helpful, but Internet needs some modernisation rooms are on the small side but very comfortable and satisfy the needs, views from the room are very pleasing, club room is small for the number of users. For sure will revisit and stay at this hotel on my next visit to Ankara.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankara hotels
0.1 mi away
Ankara Hilton SA
Ankara Hilton SA
#4 of 175 in Ankara
651 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swissotel Ankara
Swissotel Ankara
#6 of 175 in Ankara
413 reviews
3.2 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Ankara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Ankara
Movenpick Hotel Ankara
#1 of 175 in Ankara
852 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ankara-Kavaklidere
0.9 mi away
Grand Ankara Hotel Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Hotel & Convention Center Ankara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Hotel & Convention Center Ankara

Property: Sheraton Hotel & Convention Center Ankara
Address: Noktali Sokak Kavaklidere, Ankara 06700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ankara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ankara
#10 Business Hotel in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Hotel & Convention Center Ankara 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is more than just a 24 story high rise Ankara icon, offering luxury, convenience and hospitality, all in one great location. The guest rooms are tastefully furnished to create a perfect environment for both business and leisure with all the amenities you can expect of a luxury hotel, plus world class technology. The location is central, literally in walking distance to a shopping mall, a shopping street, large number of restaurants and bars. Window top fitness center with 655sqm area, all day open restaurant, a sports bar, free internet in rooms and public area are few of the services and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sheraton Hotel & Convention Center Ankara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Hotel And Convention Center Ankara
Sheraton Hotel Ankara
Sheraton Ankara
Ankara Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing