We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Divan Cukurhan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Divan Cukurhan
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in Ankara
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in many hotels in Ankara. It is the best one ever stayed. Nicely decorated and historical.
Service was kind and professional.
I gave't tasted tge breakfast yet but i am pretty sure that it will be perfect.
Internet connection is free.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tolga Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    33
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
82
11
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Britain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We attended a wedding reception at the hotel in mid-September, and spent a few nights there. Confirm the positive comments made in many recent reviews. This is a truly first-class hotel - in all respects, the consideration and efficiency of the staff, the quality of the rooms and furnishings and the food. It would be difficult to find a better hotel in Ankara. We also though the location very good. The area around the hotel is currently being 'improved', with fairly sympathetic refurbishment on some neighbouring streets, though much remains to be done. Nevertheless, we found the area immediately around the hotel not unattractive, pretty clean and safe, notwithstanding continuing work on the Anthropological museum, which is world class. Unlike some reviewers, we did not find the hotel to be isolated or distant from the centre. It is situated towards the top of a fairly steep hill, but we walked to the centre (statute of Ataturk) in around 15 minutes, either partly through the park below the hotel, or through narrow side streets with gift/art shops and non-touristy shops and businesses. The walk back was more strenuous, but easily manageable. We are in our mid and late 60s. The only down side was the scarcity of places to eat in the evening (other than the hotel) - choice, depending on day of the week, limited to one or two. Oh, and the piped musak.

Highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Outer rooms, namely those overlooking the street, rather than the attractive inner courtyard, are li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C2E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylwia D, Genel Müdür at Divan Cukurhan, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear C2E ,

On behalf of Myself and the entire team I would like to Thank You for taking Your time to share Your experience in our beautifull property.
It is very nice and motivating to see that You have enjoyed Your stay.
Anytime You will pass by from Ankara remember that Your,,home'' is waiting for You.

Kindest Regards,
Sylwia Dal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The building is beautiful and has been fully restored to well beyond its former glory, but the level of service in the hotel falls way below that expected after reading reviews. Firstly we had booked a transfer from the airport to the hotel and it had been confirmed by email, sadly the taxi did not arrive, after waiting for 30 minutes we telephoned the hotel and were told that they would send one and it would be about 40 minutes, we told them to forget it and we took a taxi from the taxi rank at the airport. On arrival at the hotel they did apologise and offered to pay the fare we said no but you can do the return trip when we leave. They said they would send complimentary wine and fruit to our room immediately, and the time is now 16.30, but by 19.30 as we were leaving to go out to eat we asked if the wine was really going to arrive and were told yes; it was in the room when we came back at 21.30. It is mainly housekeeping that is letting the hotel down for instance we used the wine glasses in our room the first night and left the next morning early to go sight seeing, on our return to our room at 15.00 the room had not been cleaned, so we asked front of house if this could be done. When we left for our evening meal the room had still not been cleaned, but when we returned at 21.00 it had been cleaned, but the dirty glasses were still there, and the coffee machine had not been emptied. 48 hours later and after another cleaning team had been in the dirty glasses still remained in the room, we went into the resturant asked staff to come to the room and take them away. There was a large stain on the carpet in our room (The Colonial Suite), we asked for a topsheet for the bed instead of the duvet - this never happened despite several requests. The toilet seat was broken when we arrived we asked for it to be mended or replaced and we were told it would be done when we left the hotel in 5 days time, we asked to change room and were told they could only offer us a lower grade room. After asking every day about the toilet seat, it was replaced on the third day . There is no fridge in the room so it is impossible to keep water or drinks cold, it would not be acceptable in the heat of summer. The tablecloths on the breakfast tables are well past their best and many have holes over which staff try to place baskets of (dead) plants top to hide the holes.. These dead plants are removed everyday and put back the next morning, why would you even bother with the dying plants - throw them out.

There is massive construction work next door which will continue for some time, so you will be woken up early with drilling and do not expect to take a nap in the afternoon as it is impossible
with the noise.

The lack of English we did not find a problem because you can always find a way to make yourself understood, but the lack of professional service is unacceptable in 2013. They have a pillow menu, what a brilliant idea but before this hotel gets to that level it has to get the basics right please, as you have a beautiful building that the staff and systems are letting down.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magalan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylwia D, Genel Müdür at Divan Cukurhan, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Magalan100,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the feedback you provided will help us assess our services whether we were meeting you expectations or not. I am sorry to read that we have let you down on this occasion. I can assure you that a corrective measure have been taken to avoid this error in the future.
I would welcome a chance to regain your trust and provide you with the level of service that you would expect from the Divan Çukurhan, if travel brings you back to Ankara; we will be glad to upgrade your accommodation and ensure a pleasant stay.
We look forward to hearing from you and hopefully welcoming you soon
Sincerely,
Sylwia Dal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
223 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

By far the finest hotel during our entire trip to Turkey. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was huge. The finest bathroom amenities (Molton Brown). We were around the corner from the Museum of Anatolian Civilizations. The manager was helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylwia D, Genel Müdür at Divan Cukurhan, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear wisconsinite2013,

I would like to Thank You for taking the time to write this lovely review for us.
We are glad to hear that we have meet all your expectations.
Anytime You visit Ankara we will be more than happy to welcome You in our ,,Home''

Kindest Regards,
Sylwia Dal
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is an amazing hotel. It takes your breath away as you enter it. Every attention to detail has been paid. Our room was large, airy and overlooked the entrance to the castle. The bathroom has everything you could possibly need down to a complimentary Molton Brown toothbrush and paste set! The service from staff was exemplary. They met our every need, including organising a trip for us to Hattusa. The food in the hotel is wonderful. Fantastic breakfast, and dinner was fresh and beautifully cooked. The location is stunning- in the old quarter of Ankara. Very turkish. If you really do need to go into the European part of town, we did but it was just like being anywhere in the Uk, then taxis are plentiful and pretty cheap. It's easy to get around, but with such an exquisite hotel- why would you?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerissa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here with my 2 children in the colonial suite. The room was very spacious, beautifully decorated, with a good view over the city, a kettle for tea and a Nespresso machine for coffee! Brilliant, first time I see that in a hotel! The bathroom was fantastic, modern and very clean. Free shoe cleaning. We very much enjoyed the breakfast in the main "courtyard" of the hotel, a great selection of food and very friendly and smiling waiters. The food we had in room service was also very good - it came promptly and was beautifully served. The day we checked out we had to leave before breakfast began, so they brought us a plate of croissants and bread rolls to the room - a nice touch.

I have knocked off one star for the following reasons: 1. There is no mini bar in the room (just a sort of display case with a few chocolates and biscuits). Given the heat of the summer, cold drinks on hand would have been jolly welcome. 2. I had arranged an Ankara city tour through the hotel, with a guide and car. He was a pleasant enough chap, but as it turned out I doubt he was a real guide. His English was fairly basic - not that I expect everyone to speak great English when I travel, but when I am paying €150 for a professional tour I do expect something better. He was very laconic when we went to the Anitkabir, I ended up explaining more to my children than he did. He just mooched about after us looking a bit ill at ease and texting on his phone. Then it was time to go to the Haci Bayram mosque - on the way he had to ring his wife to ask for directions, then again in the streets nearby he asked for directions - had he not been there before? When we got there we asked him who Haci Bayram was. He looked a bit flustered, consulted his smartphone, then declared "He was a very learned man". End of explanation. After this I asked him to take us back to the hotel - I could not face the rest of the day with this level of guiding.
I did raise the issue with the hotel reception. One chap there said he was meant to take us, but couldn't. Then another chap in the afternoon said he was meant to take us, but couldn't. Does that mean that the tour guides are the hotel staff, dressed up as tour guides? I do not know. In the end, the hotel manager agreed to charge me just €25 for the car and petrol, end of story. So you have been warned. It's a pity, because it did add a note of bitterness to what would otherwise have been a great stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: We had the colonial suite which had a great view of Ankara. But as they are busy renovating a Han ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We arrived late and negotiated hard to get a good price for the room, what we got was a sublime experience!

I have only the most fantastic things to say about our stay.

The most incredibly beautiful rooms, bar, lobby and library. The building has such an enchanting history, with the unique antiques to match.

The cappuccino for brekkie was the best we've had in Turkey (and the machine in the room a little added joy)! Not to mention best hotel brekkie in turkey too.

We even snuck in a bit of gym time... All the usual equipment.

Maybe I love a bargain, or maybe this is just my favourite hotel in all of Turkey!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankara hotels
Ankara Hilton SA
#4 of 167 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Movenpick Hotel Ankara
#1 of 167 in Ankara
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Divan Ankara
#14 of 167 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Çankaya
Holiday Inn Ankara - Cukurambar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Cukurhan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Cukurhan

Property: Divan Cukurhan
Address: Tarihi Ankara Kalesi Necati Bey, Ankara, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 167 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Divan Cukurhan 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your Divan Cukurhan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing