We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of tranquility and works well as a business hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Divan Cukurhan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Divan Cukurhan
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Ankara
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Oasis of tranquility and works well as a business hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Divan has a bit of magic about it. It's calm, tranquil and a really nice to spend time. As a female business traveller, it was a very good experience alltogether. There was an excellent free and calm transfer after a really rubbish and stressful flight connection (the fault of Istanbul's overwhelmed airport). I had a warm welcome and a very clean and attractive room. There was great food in the slightly bonkers-looking museum restaurant (really expected the exhibits to come alive as I dined alone under the biplane!). Breakfast in the covered atrium/courtyard was a beautifully presented and really lovely affair. Wander outside and you are in the castle, with its windy streets and ancient loveliness. A taxi ride into town (okay, it's not central, but links to the business area by taxi aren't too bad (I guess TL25-35), and it is a nice part of town. My colleagues in Istanbul say (quoting somebody famous) that the best thing about Ankara is the airport leaving Ankara to come back to Istanbul, I'd say that the best thing about Ankara could well be this hotel!

Room Tip: They had no problems turning off the hallway music when I went to bed early. My room had a castle vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylwia D, General Manager at Divan Cukurhan, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Eaden,

It is so nice to see that You take Your time and let us know how was your experience with us.
I am very happy that we meet all your expectations:-)
Next time when you will visit our beautifull hotel I will make sure that You get another unique room which You will enjoy:-)

Hope To see You soon in a very near future

Kind regards
Sylwia Dal
General Manager
Divan Çukurhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    35
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
39
88
12
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful hotel in late October. It is small (in terms of number of rooms) but the lobby is large and the rooms are very large and luxurious. We found it very quiet. It is within a few meters of the Museum of Anatolian Civilizations - an excellent museum, worth a visit to Ankara on its own. The restaurant in the hotel serves excellent food and the breakfast is wonderful. As others have observed, this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: I think any room would be fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylwia D, General Manager at Divan Cukurhan, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Robert H

On behalf of Myself and my Staff I would like to thank you for taking the time and writing a nice review about Divan Çukurhan.
It is always good to see that our guests enjoy their stay with us.

Kind Regards

Sylwia Dal
General Manager
Divan Çukurhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This place was so nice I hardly left for three days. We have visited all over Turkey for two weeks and we had the best breakfast and dinner at this location. We were also provided with superior service. Very clean and nicely furnished rooms.

Room Tip: Not sure you can go wrong with any of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylwia D, General Manager at Divan Cukurhan, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Lanette P

It was our pleasure to welcome You in our amazing hotel.
Myself and my wonderfull Staff are here to make Your dreams come true!

Hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Sylwia Dal
General Manager
Divan Çukurhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Splendid location, elegant hotel in Ankara's fascinating old town. Although we arrived late, the car that the hotel had sent to the airport for us was still waiting. Our spacious room was tastefully furnished with distinctive and very usable antiques. Indeed, no two rooms in this classic converted caravanserai are alike. The next morning we sat in the former courtyard, now a stylish covered atrium, and had a delicious breakfast with fresh juice, honey, assorted cheeses, great breads, and more. Wonderful staff at the hotel helped us make the most of our days, including an extended excursion to Hittite sites. From our room we looked in the front gate of the ancient citadel, and a short walk down the street were fascinating shops as well as the great Museum of Anatolian Civilizations. The Divan Cukuran is the ideal base for a memorable visit to Ankara and central Turkey and for enjoying the ultimate in Turkish comfort and hospitality.

Room Tip: Because we came back after a Cappadocia sidetrip, we stayed in two different rooms, and our friend i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1morewahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylwia D, General Manager at Divan Cukurhan, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear 1morewahine

I would like to thank you for taking Your valuable time and writing nice comment about our unique property.
It was our pleasure to make sure that You will enjoy every moment of Your stay in Ankara.
We do hope that we will welcome you again in our HOME:-)

Kind Regards
Sylwia Dal
General Manager
Divan Çukurhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

One of the best Boutique Hotels in Turkey, the staff was so helpful to find us transfers when flights were cancelled, they took us to city tours, the place impecable, specially thanks to Emir and Erhan at the Reception. Still the staff deserve to improve their knowledge in English, please Managmente give them the free opportunity to be the best in Hospitality.

Room Tip: Try to book the corner facing the city views, there were constructions in the Citadel in Oct.2012, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilia2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylwia D, General Manager at Divan Cukurhan, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Lilia,

It was a pleasure to welcome You in our beautifull hotel.It is nice to see that You had a memorable stay and I will make sure that Emir and Erhan will get your feedback:-)
I do hope that if You ever come back to Ankara we can welcome You again.

Kind Regards
Sylwia Dal
General Manager
Divan Çukurhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

At the frond gate of the old city citadel there was a surprise waiting for us in Ankara
A beautiful renovated traditional Chan that it takes you back in time, with luxury and comfort
This hotel should be a place to visit even if you are not plan to stay
in a very quite and peaceful atmosphere, you are in the middle of the old city, walking distance to the small antique shops all around you(steep downhill) and small local cafes BUT after 8 it looks empty, everything is closed and no more people around, so take a taxi to come back at night
The rooms were spacious enough but the Bathroom was even bigger having even a view from my Jacuzzi
Another surprise NO refrigerator in the room, and not enough bottles of drinking water
you should ask for ice or cold drinks But the staff is very pleased to help you anytime and the service in all grounds is exelent
The breakfast was a great surprise also, since it was served for each guest(not a Buffet)
in fantastic old Turkish trays, with a choice of a main course, starting rather late at 7 for business travelers ,and having no tourkish simit bread !!!
The hole atmosphere it is extremely romantic
A little too much for an evening dinner at the restaurant ,the light is too low you cannot even see your food ,it is like a dark castle and you are sitting in the middle
Funny abut the light ~I can go every morning for breakfast but i would never have dinner in the same restaurant
fortunately there is a very nice restaurant just across the street with an Ankara view from the castle I think it is call Washington!!!!
I would strongly suggest this Hotel for a weekend, without moving more than 500 meters around
I think the renovation of such a site was due to a Rich Turkish named Cotc (I dont Know if it is correct ) but next door is also a museum for a private collection like cars, type writers, baby prams Old computers !!! and those small thinks that also take us back to our young age
I would go back even if it just to stay in this One Of a Kind Hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikolakopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylwia D, General Manager at Divan Cukurhan, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Athanasios,

Thank You so much for sparing Your time and writing this nice feedback for us.
Next time when You will be visiting our unique property I will make sure that You will have the turkish simit for your breakfast. Also I would like to let You know that we have an amazing restaurant in the Museum called Çengelhan.For the lunch and evening pleasure it is a perfect place to have a meal:-)
Now You have a reason to come back!:-)

Kind Regards and hope to see you soon

Sylwia Dal
General Manager
Divan Çukurhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was my second stay at Divan Cukurhan in Ankara. I really liked my days and nights at the hotel. The room, atmosphere of the hotel, tasty breakfast and very friendly staff make you feel at home. Thank you very much for this unforgettable experience. Hope to see you all again :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylwia D, General Manager at Divan Cukurhan, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Ms.Asli

Thank You so much for taking Your time and writing a review for Divan Çukurhan.
It was our pleasure to welcome You againg at our unique property.It is nice to see that You enjoy Your stay with us.I like the way You have expressed Yourself: Feeling like at home:-)
Myself and my wonderfull Staff are here to make you feel like that.
Hope to see You soon again

Kind Regards

Sylwia Dal
General Manager
Divan Çukurhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankara hotels
2.5 mi away
Ankara Hilton SA
Ankara Hilton SA
#4 of 174 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
3.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Ankara
Movenpick Hotel Ankara
#1 of 174 in Ankara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Ankara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Ankara
2.4 mi away
Divan Ankara
Divan Ankara
#18 of 174 in Ankara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Ankara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Cukurhan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Cukurhan

Property: Divan Cukurhan
Address: Tarihi Ankara Kalesi Necati Bey, Ankara, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 174 Hotels in Ankara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Divan Cukurhan 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Divan Çukurhan is an exclusive historic setting that features 19 individually designed rooms whose wide-ranging aesthetic perfectly complements the lovingly restored caravanserai that houses the hotel. The Çukurhan is located opposite to the main entrance of the Ankara Citadel, close to the site which was formerly known as the Horse Market, and on the west side of the present Çengelhan Rahmi M. Koç Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Divan Cukurhan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing