We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Bera Ankara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bera Ankara
Ranked #40 of 176 Hotels in Ankara
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I enjoyed my visit to Ankara. This hotel was in the heart of the city and very convenient to the metro. The hotel was extremely comfortable and accommodating. The room and bed were extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Bera Ankara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 172 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Monolith in my room

Like one of the late scenes in the movie 2001: A Space Odyssey, I lay haggard and sleepless pointing an accusing finger at the giant monolith looming over my bed. I checked out the following day for a another hotel.

Why sleepless? Because the TV in the next room was so loud and audible I could pick out the channel. For 3 straight nights, my neighbour had the TV on until after midnight. Clearly the sound dampening in this hotel is inadequate. Also, the honking and engine noise from the major intersection in front of the hotel is noticeable at all but the early morning hours.

The monolith was the pillar in my room. The receptionist had only two room to offer me on checkin – a low floor, or a high floor “with a pillar in the room”. Tired after a long flight, I took that room and stumbled into bed. The morning revealed not just a pillar but a huge square supporting column right in the main open space of an otherwise small room. The bed butted up against it so I had to squeeze around the other side just to get to the window. If they had just put one bed in the room, it would have been fine. But there were two double beds! This is just silly on the part of the hotel.

So I asked for a different room. “None available; we’re full” was the answer two days in a row. Yet the hotel had airline crews coming and going every day. Finally I said I’d like to check out. “Oh. Call reception in the morning to see if we have another room.” Yeah right. I checked out and went to another hotel.

This Doubletree appears OK, but it doesn’t work in the end. The breakfast is good, the service decent, and décor very nice. The location near Kizilays shopping and entertainment is very good for the walker. But several issues combined to make me abandon during my week-long stay in Ankara on business:
• Street noise
• The poor internal sound-proofing
• A pathetic little airless exercise room
• The difficulty of crossing that intersection to get to the subway station on the other side.
• The morning trains in the subway are too full to get on. So people just have to walk downtown instead.
• The hotel jams up the pullout in front with its own parked cars so taxis and buses coming to the hotel have to stop on the busy street. Very irritating.
• The aforementioned monolith

The little things (and big square ones) make a difference.

Room Tip: The park side has a view as well as street noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NW_Raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great location in central Ankara. large room, small bathrooms. Most US expected ammenites. Comfortable bed and linens. Nice desk and seating area. Very nice breakfast if included. Securtity for metal objects but not taken seriously. 4 star hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We were at the hotel about 03:00 am in the morning with my colleagues and offered to have some hot cookies which was so delicious. The bed was so comfortable, so I slept well. Night shift personal at reception was so kind. Only one thing i didn't like that they don't have a swimming pool in a five star hotel? The center is about 10 min. by foot.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahmut S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The Good:
- Great service. We drove in and so from the time we handed the keys over to the valet to the moment we checked over the staff service was excellent. With the exception of restaurant staff though.
- Rooms. We were lucky enough to get a room overlooking the main intersection and so view was great of the protestors downstairs. Other than that the rooms was huge, very spacious and comfortable. Shower was excellent and bed comfy.
- Location. Even the demonstrators will tell you it's centrally located. They all meet downstairs!
- Parking. Free. What else can I say. So many other Hilton family hotels charge for this (in the case of UK Hiltons they don't even need to be in the city to charge!) and yet the centrally located doubletree in the capital of the country doesn't charge. Brilliant.

The Bad:
- Gym. Good equipment just not enough of it. Or space. Management will probably say that it's because it's so popular but if you now it's popular and you run out of equipment do something about it.

The Ugly:
- Breakfast. I would have given five stars if it wasn't forthe breakfast experience. Or lack of. There was hardly any food when we went down and it was only about 7:30. Huge tray of watermelon just had seeds on it. Was like locusts had come through and taken everything and left some morsels that they hadn't seen. Staff were not helpful and couldn't even get a cup of coffee without waiting an age.

Still we did enjoy our time at the doubletree Ankara and would thoroughly recommend it to others with the caveat of eating elsewhere perhaps.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights and was well impressed by this hotel. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms clean and well maintained. Breakfast was average to good. The hotel is next to a really lively part of the city with loads of street cafes, restaurants, pubs and clubs on the doorstep. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Near by the very centre of the city. Housekeeping is also good. Some of the rooms are a bit small but if you're searching for a central hotel, this might be the one you're looking for.There is also a restaurant near by the lobby. The staff is polite and ambience is soft.

1  Thank Bedriye Burcu A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ankara hotels
Doga Residence
#86 of 176 in Ankara
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Çankaya
Latanya Hotel Ankara
Latanya Hotel Ankara
#11 of 176 in Ankara
133 reviews
Ankara Hilton SA
#3 of 176 in Ankara
682 reviews
Çankaya
Ankara Plaza Hotel
Ankara Plaza Hotel
#32 of 176 in Ankara
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bera Ankara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bera Ankara

Address: Ziya Gokalp Cad. No:58, Ankara 06590, Turkey (Formerly DoubleTree by Hilton Ankara)
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Ankara > Çankaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Ankara
#33 Luxury Hotel in Ankara
Price Range: $60 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bera Ankara 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bera Ankara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Ankara Hotel Ankara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing