We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could give 10 stars!”
Review of Hawkesdene

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hawkesdene
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We recently were married at the Hawkesdene House and we could not have dreamt of a more perfect wedding! The setting was unbelievably beautiful, the entire property is a 5 star resort, the staff was exceptional, the food was delicious, and the owner and event coordinator made sure that everything was flawless, and even the weather cooperated by stopping the endless rain just for a few hours for our ceremony and reception :)
Almost all of our friends commented that being able to stay at the H. House for the weekend was a gift to them and that they had never been to a better wedding. We scheduled a rafting trip for the first day, hiking the second, and then met in a park close by after checkout Sunday. I agree with every other bride that has written a reivew here, if you have an opportunity to be married here... DO IT!!!! We cannot thank them enough for giving us a dream wedding! We are so lucky!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amira-melnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 74 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I were married at the Hawkesdene House on June 17th, 2014, and we had all of our dreams and expectations for our wedding far surpassed. Everything about our stay at the house was wonderful; Rob and Phil run an amazing business. They were always available if we wanted or needed anything, but never in the way. We felt at home our entire stay, just much, much more spoiled! The property is gorgeous and the landscaping is immaculate. Each bedroom in the main house, as well as each of the cabins is decorated impeccably. There is no corner of any room or cabin that is not beautiful and comfortable. The outdoor pavilion was the impromptu gathering spot for our family because of it's serene setting between the gardens and stream running through the property. The fire pit and chairs were also popular, with hundreds of small butterflies floating around and over the creek, making the place seem almost magical. The property is large enough that all of your guests can spread out and hang out in numerous outdoor seating areas and fire pits located all around the property. Trails on the property lead you to a waterfall, or the Hawkes Nest. GO. You won't regret it. Several people in our party hiked to both spots, but the staff was nice enough to drive us up to the Hawks Nest in their golf cart. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. The meals are AMAZING. There was not a single thing we ate at the house that we don't still talk about. Trust the chefs. We gave them full control to pick items on the menu, and we didn't regret it! We had breakfasts, lunches, and dinners with the Hawkesdene, and every single bite was amazing. The Hawkesdene also offers its guests 24 hour access to coffee, tea, lemonade, sodas, and snacks in the main house in case you get hungry between meals.
Rob and Phil did such an amazing job helping us plan our wedding. There was no detail left untouched. We got married by the covered bridge and the experience was almost surreal. Go with the Hawkesdene preferred vendors. They know what they're doing. We used Torrence Photography and their harpist and both were incredible. The only complaints we have about the Hawkesdene is that we could only spend four days with them. We recommend them 110%.

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing. The cabins are probably better for small children, as there is less brea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hawkesdene House has so many good reviews here that it is difficult to say something that has not already been said. Every good thing posted is true. We were married here June 7, 2014 and Hawkesdene House gave us a weekend we will never forget.

We had a three day event there with family and friends, many of whom had never met or had not seen each other in years. It was quite the task but somehow Rob and Phil and the staff at Hawkesdene managed to make it seamless and effortless. I am sure they are hard at work behind the scenes and I cannot imagine dealing with stressed out brides, mothers, and guests all weekend every weekend, but somehow they always seem calm, prepared and happy to help. They take care of everything and are always around if you need them yet often you wouldn't even know they are on the property, They find a way to provide for your every need while still giving your group the feeling of having the entire place to themselves.

Our guests took every advantage of the property and its location. They hiked the trails, played in the waterfall, sat by the fire pit, went fishing, whitewater rafting, and horseback riding! The kids played in the creek and fed the llamas. Others simply read a book on one of the many comfy chairs in private spots around the house and grounds.

During and since the wedding, we have heard nothing but truly RAVE reviews from family and friends. We ate every meal there during our stay and each one was better than the last. People could not stop talking about how great the food was. Rob and Phil were even able to make my fiance's dream (a "Bacon Bar") a reality with little to no direction from us. Awesome! That one was a huge hit! The other main thing we have heard from our guests is how the staff truly thought of everything. The landscaping is perfect and cleaned up every day by Joe and his staff (what a gem!) The set up and clean up for each wedding event was gorgeous and exactly how we had dreamed. The bartenders were friendly and knowledgeable. Rob and his staff were flexible when we needed them to be and understanding when we had a million questions.

To open up their home every weekend and treat each wedding with such attention and patience, I think Rob and Phil must be saints. They certainly helped make an incredibly important day to us, our families, and our friends, ideal. The beauty of the place makes it easy to fall in love with but it is the staff and the attention to detail and to guests' needs that make this place incredibly unique and special. What can you say about a place that will hold a special place in your heart and in the hearts of those closest to you forever? Our wedding was all about enjoying family and friends and Hawkesdene gave us a gorgeous place to do just that. Thank you to Rob and Phil and Joe and all the staff that make this place so special.
Whitney & John

Room Tip: Every cabin and room in the house is great! Rob has good suggestions of which are best for guests of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolegirl290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

My family stayed here for 5 days during June 2014. Not a single complaint! The grounds are beautiful, complete with a waterfall just a short hike on the property, hill top gazebo, multiple fire pits, llama barn and more! The main house is gorgeous and full of interesting decor and enough entertainment to keep anyone busy. I stayed in the wildflower room which the main attraction was definitely the Jacuzzi tub.The kids and adults alike loved the game room with the pool table, ping pong, comfy movie watching area and board games. We also had our stay catered which was the BEST idea. The food was all gourmet and delicious and they even have a fresh herbs garden. The staff was all very welcoming and helpful including the owners. We went both white water rafting (at Endless River Adventures in Bryson City) and zip lining ( at RidgeRunner Ziplines) which were both close by and great experiences. So, long story short, Andrews, NC is a charming get away and Hawkesdene House is the best place to call home while there.

Room Tip: Wildflower is a smaller room but the Jacuzzi tub is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cooltab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Hawkesdene House was the perfect place for our wedding. I can not say there was one dull moment. Exploring the property, hiking the trials, enjoying gourmet dinning under the stars and live music by the fire while roasting marsh mellows, there was something for everyone. We had maybe a little over 70 people on the property and I probably heard "this property is amazing/beautiful" triple that amount of times. Actually, I am still hearing it from our guest. It was so nice to be together to enjoy, not just the wedding day, but the days leading up to it. Having a few days to spend with everyone was really nice. We got to meet new family and friends and got to know them better then we would have if it was a one day event. It made the wedding night all the more fun. By that time all the meeting and greeting was done and the party could start. Everyone knew each other and just let loose and had a good time. It was a vacation for everyone.

Thank you Hawkesdene Staff, for all the hard work you do. You gave us the freedom to rome the property like we owned the place but when help was needed you made your self readily available. If there was something we did not have you had it or would get it. It was very comforting to know that you were well experienced in the process and prepared for anything. I do not think that it could be possible to not have a beautiful wedding at the Hawkesdene House.

I believe myself to be very particular, paying close attention to details. We are so impressed with Rob, Phil & all their staff. They definitely know how to pay attention to details. Just look at the designs and art work in their houses. Everything was top of the line. The wedding coordinator we so nice and easy to talk to. She had everything covered. I just handed my details over and she took care of the rest. I was very pleased at how they set up all the different decorations I had brought. The staff who helped set up the tables and chairs were so precise. I do not think there was a plate or chair out of line with the other. The servers always made sure plates were cleared when guests were done and glasses were filled. They all were very detailed oriented and did a wonderful job.
The Hawkesdene is elegant yet has a homey & comfortable feel. A calm falls over you once you get to the property. You can hear the creek from most areas on the property, or the mountain breeze blowing through the lush gardens and foliage on the property. I can not express enough, how happy I am that we had our wedding weekend at the Hawkesdene House. I would not change a single thing. The property was perfect, the company was enjoyable, and the food was delicious. Thank You again to all the Hawkesdene House. Your dedication and hard work made memories for people that will last a lifetime. That is truly the best wedding present.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starwalker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

I just cannot tell you how perfect it was for us -- the setting, Rob & Phil, just all of it. The pictures online, as gorgeous as they are, do not do the grounds justice. Rob also worked with us on pricing and honored housing/accommodation issues we needed. Phil and the staff put on a culinary show!!! As if this weren't enough, our wedding was 'exciting' in that we ended up having a family health emergency one of the evenings. If the mark of a place and its staff are best seen in emergencies, Hawkesdene is the best -- they handled everything calmly and poised. I cannot recommend the place and the people enough. Hawkesdene left me with a wedding I will never forget, and plenty of amazing pictures to go right along with it.
-Rob C

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjc0212014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My family and my new grandson's family and all their friends just had the pleasure of celebrating their wedding at one of the most hospitable, beautifully landscaped mountain resorts ever! The Accomodations, personal service, and gourmet food was beyond words! The available settings for the ceremony were numerous. All of the food presentations were noteworthy, each meal from breakfast to luch and then to the dinners just got better and better!!! The most outstanding of all was wedding reception following the ceremony. The appetizer presentation was beyond anything I've ever seen. So artistic, you almost didn't want to disturb it. However knowing the quality of the chef's The dinner was set for all the guests as one long table decorated table in a charming outdoor setting only to rival a celebration in Tuscany!!!

Room Tip: Impossible not to choose a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacque H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andrews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Andrews
94 reviews
13.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Murphy
9.6 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Murphy
Hampton Inn Murphy
#2 of 6 in Murphy
398 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western Of Murphy
12.3 mi away
Days Inn Murphy
Days Inn Murphy
#4 of 6 in Murphy
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkesdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkesdene

Address: 381 Phillips Creek Rd, Andrews, NC 28901-7347
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Andrews
Price Range: $179 - $2,295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
54 acre Private Mountain Estate for your perfect destination wedding for up to 150 guests Luxurious onsite accommodations with 25 – 30 bedrooms for up to 90 onsite guests complete with the highest quality furniture, bedding & amenities Transportation to offsite accommodations located within a 4-mile radius for your overflow guests Talented in-house culinary team featuring local fresh & creative farm-to-fork cuisine Professional & courteous staff to assist and handle all of the details Complete wedding planning & coordination services included Open Air Pavilion situated above the rushing waters of Phillips Creek complete with custom furniture, a massive stone fireplace, bar, sound system and smokehouse Llama & Alpaca Stable with our own heard of resident llamas & alpacas Direct access into the Nantahala National Forrest with trails for hiking, walking and biking Onsite activities include coordinated group hikes, daily llama & alpaca feeding, corn hole tournaments, horse shoe courts, basketball, campfires and quality time with family & friends Hawkesnest Pavilion located 1/2 mile to the top of our mountain offering stunning sunsets & mountain views Close proximity to numerous activities including White Water Rafting, Horseback Riding, Zip lining, Casino, Golf and day trips to the Biltmore House and surrounding areas ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing