We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Biggest Little Pleasant Surprise in North Carolina”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Calaboose Cellars

Calaboose Cellars
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Andrews
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In the shadows of the Great Smoky Mountains, there's an old stone building with bars on the windows that overlooks our small vineyard. Legend has it that the local lawman locked up the hooligans here to cool down until they went before the magistrate.Now we use the Calaboose to incarcerate our wine and beer before it makes its escape to you! Come and relax on our Rockyard Patio and enjoy the beauty of the prettiest valley in the state!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The Biggest Little Pleasant Surprise in North Carolina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great selection of wines and beers enjoyed in a serene and picturesque setting. It was the last day of our honeymoon when we visited and turned out to be the perfect close to a perfect week. Visit Calaboose Cellars if you are anywhere in the area. You won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank steverinsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Smallest Winery in NC Gives a Big Impact”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I've been wanting to get out to this winery for quite a while. When an article in the local newspaper announced that Calaboose is now brewing beer, we decided it was time to go. We had been to another local winery a few years back, but I really didn't care for their wine -- too sweet and heavy for my preference. I was concerned that the Calaboose wines would be the same. I was so wrong! After the tasting, we brought home the Catawba, as well as the strawberry rhubarb wine (purchased several bottles to take to relatives we visited a couple weeks later). The strawberry rhubarb is seasonal, very light and perfect to drink while sitting on a deck! We then sampled the 3 beers and decided to purchase one brewed with cardemom and citrus. Nice, light, summery taste. We have a growler from another brewery (an hour's drive from Calaboose), and the owner filled it. The owners are in the forefront of getting this region recognized as a vivicultural area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank justamom56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Adorable; and the wine is great, too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stopped in for a tasting after a float down the Nantahala. The grounds and building are beautifully kept, and the wines were excellent. The 2012 Chambourcin was the perfect refreshment for a warm summer afternoon, and the owners were very gracious in sharing about their history, their wines, and the new craft brewery. Will probably visit again tomorrow, before we leave the area. Lovely patio and a nice retreat from all the outdoor activities.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank l4grem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrews, North Carolina
1 review
“Great wines & beautiful winery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I am very fortunate to live right down the street from the Calaboose! Every Saturday afternoon I visit the winery to say hello to Eric and Judy AND enjoy their fabulous wines....Chambourcin being my favorite. There's a lovely deck and now a beautiful rock patio with tables, chairs and umbrellas for a comfortable visit with friends. Eric now brews ales which are enjoyed immensely by guests, also. They're open on Friday nights now until 8pm and I highly recommend you bring friends and enjoy the beautiful scenery, lovely hospitality and great wines and ales! Believe me, you will enjoy yourselves and you will come back!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank patricia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartwell, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must visit! Very Unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Everytime we are in town we look forward to visiting. The owners are so helpful and they have done a wonderful job creating this unique winery/brewery. It is worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank surveytech13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calaboose Cellars also viewed

Andrews, North Carolina Mountains
Andrews, North Carolina Mountains
 
Andrews, North Carolina Mountains
Andrews, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Calaboose Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing