We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet and relaxing”
other travelers have booked this property
Master Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master Bedroom
Recently remodeled - the new paneling fills the cabin with the fresh scent of pine. A Dogwood Cove Cabin
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Master Bedroom
Recently remodeled - the new paneling fills the cabin with the fresh scent of pine.
A Dogwood Cove Cabin
A high ceiling lets in the light.
A comfortable space.
Another view of the living space.
The kitchen offers dining at the breakfast bar.
Bunk beds sleep three.
Comfortable seating on the screened-in porch includes a futon.
The porch with a view to the cove.
The porch picnic table is a favorite spot.
The cove - a view from the front steps.
A dog pen in a shady spot if you need to leave your pet at the cabin.
There are a variety of rafting options in the area.
Mountain bike at Tsali Recreation Area.
The view from the Almond Boat Dock - just minutes from the front door.
Horseback riding.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Almond, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robb V
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stayed at dogwood cabin 3rd week in May. Dogwoods we're in bloom and Janet the host picked some for me and Reuti. Had a wonderful stay, hosts (Janet and John) are very accommodating. Hope to be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
You hit the dogwoods around their peak! May and the October leaf season are amazing and colorful times of the year. After a long winter, the sprinkling of the white dogwood blossoms in the middle of the lime-green of the spring's new leaves is a startling contrast! It's my (Janet's) favorite season although the oranges, yellows and reds in the fall are spectacular too... We'll hope to see you this fall!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassie C
2 reviews
“Relaxing, fun filled adventure in the mountains”
Reviewed April 7, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My teenage daughter and I spent 5 days in this well-equiped, comfortable cabin. The location is perfect, close to Bryson City with shops and restaurants, but also secluded and private. Our favorite part of the cabin was the beautiful setting and the wonderful, screen porch. We are looking forward to a trip back very soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2017
We are so glad it worked out for our cabin be the destination after your college tour en route! You hit the perfect weather window (especially for being early April) to take full advantage of the porch and catch the beauty of some of the early blooms. It would be a pleasure to have you return again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin K
Sanford
1 review
“Relaxing stay in the mountains”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My family and I had a wonderful time relaxing at A Dogwood Cove Cabin in the NC mountains. The cabin was close enough to restaurants and shops of Bryson City, while still offering the seclusion we were looking for. It was a great base camp for enjoying the surrounding mountains and national park. Even the dogs had a good time!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2016
We appreciate you staying with us. You - and your dogs - are most welcome anytime. We hope to see you all again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quite and salitude.
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2016
Thank you so much!! We'll look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lyn F
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute and Cozy”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend in this lovely cabin. We loved the privacy, yet it was minutes from Bryson City, Tsali and the NOC. It is fully equipped and very clean (the bed was comfortable too). The lot is beautiful and the cabin has an amazing screened-in porch. I highly recommend this cabin and can't wait to return in the cooler months so we can use the fire pit. Thank you John & Janet for opening up your cabin to us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, privacy, location, landscape
Liked least: small shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2016
We are so glad our cabin was what you and your husband were looking for, Lyn. The cooler nights are here, bringing on the fall colors. We'd be delighted to see you back again!
John and Janet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennifer...
Naples, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Relaxation in the Smoky Mountains”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Going through a 10 Best Kept Secret Vacation list, I came across Bryson City in the Smoky Mountains. Living in Florida, we were looking for an escape into the mountains with our dogs. We luckily stumbled upon A Dogwood Cove Cabin. The drive into the Smoky Mountains set the tone of what our expectations were. Beautiful mid-80 degree weather, lots of huge green trees, rivers, lakes, mountains and winding roads, all at your fingertips. On a hidden road just across the street from Fontana Lake was a long drive up to the cabin. It's even cuter than in the pictures! Janet and John live on the property and their driveway is behind the cabins parking area, so on occasion you will see a car drive past. But being in the woods, I felt safer that we had some other civilization close by. They were very kind, respectful of our privacy, and had lots of great information to share about the area. We spent most of our time when we were at the cabin in the front yard which is a canopied hill that our golden retriever and terrier would play for hours. At the bottom of the hill was a creek that the golden had a party in every morning. The front screened porch is about as big as the house and we would eat on the picnic table and played board games in the evenings. I think we turned the TV on once or twice to see if the world still existed! The one bathroom has a small shower that I had to become a bit of a contortionist to shave my legs, but it was clean and functional. I love to cook and found everything I needed in the kitchen to make delicious meals. Washer and dryer on property was a huge plus. The lighting in the back yard was perfect for the pitch black evenings and we took advantage of the fire pit. Fontana lake was great! It was refreshingly cool, but not as cold as the river and the day use access is about 10 minutes away. We hiked in the Tsali and went to the boat ramp there to allow the dogs to swim. It's an easier access with the lake waters being so low, it was a bit of a climb at the access. We were 20 minutes from Deep Creek and it was the most beautiful hike and trails beside the river. Did some trout fishing on the river and some Bass on the lake. Took a day trip to Cades Cove and Gaitlinburg all about 2 hours away. The time was so relaxing and truly wonderful. We hated to leave and look forward to booking again next summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dog friendly and beautiful outdoor areas
Liked least: The small shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2016
You really made the most of your stay, Jennifer! To find and explore excellent destinations such as Cades Cove or Gaitlinburg and still make time to enjoy a fire or board games back at the cabin, and fit in time to hike Deep Creek and fish locally shows an amazing aptitude for adventure!! We will be delighted to see you back up in these beautiful Appalachians again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin C
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cabin in the woods, but one to it all!”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a spectacular time staying in this cabin as home base for kayaking, MTN biking, rafting and just hanging out. The setting is perfect - secluded but close to it all. Wonderful big screened in porch. Very comfortable beds, too! We would definitely come back. Thanks

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2016
We are so pleased the cabin was what you'd hoped for, Erin! We're delighted you could revisit places you biked and kayaked during college days knowing our cabin waiting for you. The cabin will be there, waiting for your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing