We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Great Eastern Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sequoia Hotel(Quezon City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B Hotel Quezon City(Quezon City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Camelot Hotel(Quezon City)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rembrandt(Quezon City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Luxent Hotel(Quezon City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Apartelle(Quezon City)
View Hotel
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
5
19
31
35
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
19
31
35
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouthern californiatropical hutriaremodelingeradicatemall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 140 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Have stayed there 4 times over the last 5 years and the price has not changed over this time.
I stay in the cheapest rooms that have no windows as I am only sleeping there. You wouldn't stay here for a relax and a spa.
The rooms are a good size with fridge, aircon, bathroom and television but not much else. Don't look for anything fancy here.
Restaurant downstairs is OK and a more expensive but good restaurant is upstairs. There are restaurants walking distance close by.
Staff are courteous and helpful and things requested were delivered promptly.
The pool was not working last visit in April '13 but when it does it is good for few lapse. The gym is basic and small and hardly ever used.
Close to North Edsa Mall by taxi, which is good for movies and a bite to eat plus the train.

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the main street, Quezon Ave, as it is too noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiroMission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Some warnings: you pay cheap, you get cheap. IF YOU ARE A NEAT FREAK or JUST WANTS THINGS CLEAN & TIDY, THIS IS NOT THE HOTEL FOR YOU.
They have 2 buildings: the main & West Wing. We stayed at the main. I did not see the rooms in the West Wing so I can't offer any review on that.
The room we stayed in had all these gray and dirty: tables and side tables, cabinets, drawers, old t.v., carpet (which also had patched areas in them). The curtains were one of the worse - you can really see the huge amount of dust that it accumulated! Obviously it hasn't been changed and seen laundry in ages! My husband removed his shoes to relax his feet, walked in the carpet - lo and behold, a few minutes after, the soles of his feet were dark gray! The bathtub has rusty small patches in it. The shower curtain had molds in it including the laundry line!!! We had to call housekeeping and have it changed right away! Unfortunately, they could not with the laundry line. The room had a small fridge which was NOT a non-frost. When my husband opened it, the ice in the freezer was so thick he could not even put his small water bottle in it! The room had an old type of airconditioning; it had rusts in it and of course, dust. The bed was made but the bedsheets and top sheets are obviously old and over-used. The color was dirty white, crumpled. The pillows are small and saggy; clearly over used also. Towels were clearly old, most of them had the hemline already loose. Poor lighting.
We asked reception if we could have another room but they said they have to charge us a higher rate since they don't have a room same as we booked anymore. We asked them why the condition of the room was like that and all they could say was, it was checked & cleaned before we got in.
I literally had to run to the nearby grocery, buy LYSOL and clean whatever I could myself! Obviously, their housekeeping has to be re-oriented several times on proper ways to clean. Or maybe the housekeeping manager or supervisor have to be fired and replaced cause their team is doing an extremely poor job.
The only positive thing I could say about the place is: 1) Location is very convenient - walking distance to groceries, drugstore, restaurants, fastfoods, bars, entrtainment lounges, banks. if you need to commute (warning: traffic and drivers are terrible!!), you just go out the hotel and there are already cabs, jeepneys, buses. The hotel is a few minutes away from the huge malls like SM & Trinoma.
2) Staff is nice, courteous
3) The hotel has restaurants which offer good food but servings are kinda small.
The whole thing made our trip rather uncomfortable.

Room Tip: IF you want to stay in this hotel, do not get rooms in the Main building. MAYBE, the West Wing offers "better" rooms. Like I wrote, if you are a person who wants a neat, clean, tidy place, this hotel is not for you.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mads64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Situated on one of the main roads, the Great Eastern Hotel in Quezon City is in a useful spot. The restaurant (Max's) next door is good, 2 small shopping centres & a large chemist across the road, along with the bus/jeepney/FX stop. There is a Jolibee across the road, but thier food makes McDonald's seem good. For some reason the locals like it.
The down side is no tea/coffee unless as room service, which I cannot recommend. The coffee is a long way from being nice. The building is old, the rooms are an OK size - LAN internet in the room.

Local banks won't change currency if you don't have an account there. An exchange shop is in the Tropical Hut centre behind the chemist. He has good rates.

If I need that section of the city, I would probably stay there again if the rates haven't increased too much.

Room Tip: 3rd floor was fine. Don't bother with the pool or gym.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Everything is old, from the chairs in the lobby, bedsheets, towel to the carpet & furniture in the room. Nothing has been changed from the time they opened, which is probably in the 1900's!

My room on the 8th floor, didn't even have a window. So room was dark & depressing. Lighting wasn't sufficient too. However, later found out tht this could have been a blessing in disguise! My brother stayed in the room opposite to me, he had window but the curtains barely covered the windows so it was bright & sunny at 630am! Another room, upon check-in, got a warm welcome from a dead cockroach! So in short, it was depressing!

We had no choice but to stay there as we were part of a wedding party that stayed there. I also found out tht the rooms in the new wing as MUCH better, costs a few hundred pesos (500) more but MUCH better!

Also please check your bills carefully upon check-out, some of us were overcharged. I could go on & on but will stop here.

On the positive side, it is close to Trinoma & SM North, MRT & Timog Ave, where there are good restaurants & pubs with live bands.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the new wing!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saras A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

PROs:
Many restaurants/fast food/ shops/ convenience stores that are accessible on foot.
At least 2 huge malls (SM North, Trinoma) are 10-15 mins by car/taxi.
From the 9th floor up, the "Wing" rooms have a good view of the city
Free parking (a lot of free parking spaces during our weekend stay).
Hotel is a decent 2.5-star hotel which is not so bad considering the location.
They have a 24-hr cafe and atleast 2 restaurants (not 24-hr, though)
For the new wing, room sizes are fairly tolerable.
Breakfast starts at 6 (good for us who had an early appointment).

CONs
Our room toilet and tub is broken and leaking water when you flush (atleast, not sewage water, but still...)
Rooms from 8th floor down are small, dingy and not much different than shady motels (for a little bit more money, book the Superior rooms in the Wing side).
We booked the cheapest room and we asked to be upgraded after seeing it - we felt we were in prison! There was no window on apparently ALL their cheapest rooms. We paid P800 extra for a room with a view, and that is just about the main difference between the De Luxe and Superior Wing room - the size & windows. Everything else is old and worn out.
Sheets are old, room curtains are dilapidated, if not broken (considering the Wing building is ONLY 6 y/o)
TV is old and cable is typically Filipino with not much European channels.
We were on the 9th floor and we can still hear the traffic down below. I suggest booking a room on the topmost floor.
Breakfast is VERY UNHEALTHY (mostly fried Filipino food with rice, with no fresh salads, no eggs, no jam, no fresh milk, no fruits, no cereals and they serve instant coffee only)
They charge you on stains on towels and sheets
No hair dryer in bathroom, only one set of towels.

TIP: There are newer hotels in Mother Ignacia/Timog Avenue and if you can spare another P300-500, you'll get a better experience. But if you need a room just for one night, this hotel is tolerable.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DK_traveller_FIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews