We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value Overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Great Eastern Hotel
Ranked #52 of 63 Hotels in Quezon City
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Value Overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

POSITIVES: Nice facade and lobby, security outside 24hrs, enormous room, huge bathroom, bathtub, comfortable bed, lots of TV channels, small pool half indoors/outdoors, friendly staff, very clean towels and sheets, aircon is old but cooled room fine and is quiet. Rooms nicely decorated. Free cable internet in room (cable provided!) and free wifi in lobby. McDonalds, RedRibbon are next door and Jollibee is across the road.
NEGATIVES: Toilet flush hard to use, shower did not drain properly, yes rooms are quite dirty, bedspread dirty and old, I got a few bug bites. Location is outside the main dining/entertainment area. Intenet connection was patchy.
OVERALL: This is good value considering what you pay. It's a 10-15 minute walk to the centre of Timog Ave - but the area around the hotel seems a bit shady after dark, not many people walking around. I wouldn't spend more than 2 nights here - you can pay a few dollars more and stay in Makati.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms not for light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiwiMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    28
    32
    47
See reviews for
25
25
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

My stays were actually in June 2010 last year for 3 days.

POSITIVE:
1. Location is OK
2. quite cheap
3. Max, jolibee & McDonald is just nearby
4. bathroom is clean

NEGATIVE:
1. dunno why others get a nice room but mine was not that good.
2. blankets are not that clean including pillows
3. not enough lights in the room
4. there's this one window in my room that has no curtain at all
5. my room is very dark!
6. tv reception is very BAD & i ask the reception why (they said its normal LOL!)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r2kpogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quezon City hotels

Lian, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

The location was perfect for my needs, and I was impressed with the beauty of the lobby and restaurant. The rooms were large and comfortable. We stayed in one over-looking the back of the hotel (which we found was MUCH quieter than the ones facing the street!) and had no problems at all. The staff was very friendly, and they remembered me from my previous visit - the doorman salutes me as I come inside (probably because I wear a Greek captain's cap) - but everyone was very polite and helpful. For the level of service you get, the price is great too!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddP_1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

A one advice only to those who hve plans to stay here at Great Eastern Hotel: NEVER EVER TRUST ALL THE PERSONNEL; ESPECIALLY ON VALET PARKING. So please beware on them: STEALERS!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubble_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

My stays were actually in Feb 2010 for 5 days and again in March 2010 for 5 days. Both times were enjoyable and no complications.
Only negative remarks would be the first trip, no shuttle was sent to pick me up at the airport after making prior arrangements. Second trip no shuttle was available.
Both rooms for both stays were clean and housekeeping came in daily and cleaned the room.
Me personally can not rate any of the hotel luxries or extras as I basically only there to spend the nights. I was out and about all day.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IWannaBeFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austria europe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

I and my sister together with her daughter stayed in Great Eastern Hotel Quezon City FOR 3 DAYS and we made our car in valet parking, not knowing for 2 days the PSP inside the car was lost we just checked it on our way to the church coz my niece will play it. We are sure that the PSP was placed inside the car coz niece used it when we are travelling. We had many hotels from our tripS we checked in manila pavillion hotel taft, BaYview Hotel, Traders hotel Roxas Boulevard But NOTHINGS LOST. Its just when we were in GREAT EASTERN HOTEL AND IN THE VALET AREA OUR PSP WAS LOST..THIS WAS SO FRUSTRATING! THE STAFFS IN THAT HOTEL CANNOT BE TRUSTED TRULY

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jajaeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

we stayed in this hotel for 1 night and I've never killed so many cockroaches/bugs in my life before! i had to put our clothes on the bed coz the bedspread has stains and smells funny! the a/c stuffed up as well! the walls has yellow stains and the towels didn't smell very nice! This place has a very good location but everything else is terrible! My partner is very sensitive so, first night he threw up when he saw the sink in the bathroom! we wanted to move to another hotel but it was in the middle of the night so the following day we moved to Edsa Shangri-la..and it felt like heaven!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wei_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quezon City hotels
1.2 mi away
Haeinsa Condotel
Haeinsa Condotel
#41 of 63 in Quezon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stone House Quezon City
Stone House Quezon City
#32 of 63 in Quezon City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel 99
Hotel 99
#39 of 63 in Quezon City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Robbinsdale Residences
Robbinsdale Residences
#33 of 63 in Quezon City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mchotel
Mchotel
#46 of 63 in Quezon City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
1.0 mi away
Icon Hotel North Edsa
Icon Hotel North Edsa
#37 of 63 in Quezon City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Eastern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Eastern Hotel

Property: Great Eastern Hotel
Address: 1403 Quezon Avenue, Quezon City, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Quezon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 63 Hotels in Quezon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Eastern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest modern landmark of Quezon City, Metro Manila-centrally located and classically styled, elegantly scaled and vibrantly urban, the Great Eastern Hotel provides a home away from home with world-class amenities in the business, shopping, and government centers of the capital of the Philippines. Old timers would remember the genteel time when the Great Eastern Hotel opened in 1934. In 1995, the same operators brought the hotel back to life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Great Eastern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing