We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunately, just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Quezon City
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I would say that versus expectations (and the price paid) I had hoped for a higher standard. Perhaps I was unlucky with my room as the priority club rooms might offer a better level. However, I thought my room was showing its age - things like an old deep back tube television that didn't really have a good picture quality to signs of fatigue in the bathroom/main room area. I was also on the street side, and it seemed that the outside street level noise was not well reduced in the room.

On the positives, as a business traveler, it does seems to occupy a convenient location. However, with the spread of business areas (Ortigas, Makati etc.) in Manila, it's tough to be in a central location if you have to be in multiple spots. The restaurant did have a good breakfast spread, which I paid for including it in my room rate.

Outside of that though, it just wasn't really a great experience. I find the daily Wifi charge pretty high (25 USD) - with more places offering wifi as part of the guest experience I think this is steep. I also ate the first night in the hotel restaurant, and keeping things simple had a pizza. I was disappointed that the staff, despite many of them, seemed to pay little attention to the diners. The delivered margarita pizza had four leaves of basil, and it took a good five minutes to catch the attention of anyone who I could ask for a bit more. It's minor, but it just doesn't leave a good impression on the dining side of the experience. I didn't eat any other meals (apart from the breakfast) at the hotel.

With the room being ok at best (see above), there isn't much that makes me want to return to this property. There are options in Manila, and since you are likely to have to move around anyways to different business areas, I would rather try other properties that are likely to give a better experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matyboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Romelle S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Matyboom

Crowne Plaza Manila will have a renovation this year and rooms would be upgraded. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    340
    148
    38
    19
See reviews for
166
130
73
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Got upgraded. As a Priority Club member, we try to stay at the Hotel Group. This hotel is much better than the Intercon in Makati. Hotel is clean and seems updated. Staff was friendly. The hotel is located next to a big mall which has plenty of restaurants. Wifi was included. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Romelle S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Irma

Thank you for the great review. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

If you plan to stay in Ortigas Center, which is another business district in Metro Manila, you may consider this hotel for its location, easy access to public transport, and convenience in terms of shopping and dining.

While there a few other younger and newer hotels in the area, Crowne can compete against them.

Good points:
- Nice rooms
- Good dining outlets especially its Chinese restaurant Xin Tian Di
- connected to the shopping mall Robinsons Galleria so you just have to go to the 4th floor and walk to the mall for shopping and dining
- close to Ortigas MRT station
- accessible to taxi cabs and buses via the mall
- within the Ortigas business district though it is technically part of Quezon City
- hospitable staff attending to your needs

Not so good points:
- small swimming pool
- TV could be bigger; old style, not the flat screeen
- limited room sevice menu
- lobby is not the best

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank percydcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Romelle S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Percydcat

Thank you for the great review, Crowne Plaza Manila is also the first and only "Crowne Plaza" brand hotel in the Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is the second time I have stated at this hotel. Both occasions it has been what you expect from a Crowne Plaza: Reliable service, good quality essentials, dependable service. There is a Holiday Inn next door - also an IHG hotel - which does a significantly cheaper room rate and looks similar in terms of the lobby and restaurant. What made the Crowne worthwhile for me was the business lounge on the top floor. I missed a flight and had a day to kill. It was made very pleasant by having this space to spread out in, with very attentive service and unlimited food and drink.

The lobby staff are also friendly and efficient. Always greeting you by your name, even in corridors around the hotel. Although it can be difficult to get taxis at busy times, someone went out and stood for 20 mins until he could eventually flag one down for me.

Without the lounge upgrade, you do not get internet access so for this alone it was worth it. The internet access in my room didn't work, so I was moved just after checking in which was a minor inconvenience.

Breakfast is a standard buffet or a la carte. Quality of food is good. The local area also has some upmarket restaurants nearby, and there's a shopping mall attached to the hotel which is useful if you have forgotten something.

I will be staying here on all future business trips to Manila.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YourLocalGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Romelle S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi YourLocalGP

Thank you for the review we hope you choose our hotel again for your next business trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I've stayed at the property on many occasions and its a great hotel. One of the best points is the location of the hotel as its connected to the Galleria Mall and is within walking distance to many places. The breakfast buffett is a bit pricey but itis worth it. In my traveling, the buffett would be in my top 3 (slightly under The Peninsula in Manila/Makati) but that is saying something.

The only drawback of the hotel is for any business traveler that works the night shift in Manila (BPO, etc)...the hotel isright on a main highway and the constant honking done by the drivers make it tought to sleep at 10am. The rooms need to be soundproofed better. All in all, it is a fineproperty with great rooms and great service. Those at the front desk speak great English!

Room Tip: High floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRBritt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Romelle S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi CRBritt

Thank you for the review, we hope you had enough time to tour the entire city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
401 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights on vacation in the Philippines. Despite some issues with our reservation (a mistake made by our travel agent, not the hotel) We had an excellent experience and the best hotel buffet brakfast I have ever had(full selection of hot/cold western and asian food, plus some indian food) espresso/cuppucino included and an obliging waiter that assisted me to choose some traditional Filipino food. The room was clean and luxurious, and the hotel has direct pedestrian access to the Robinson's shopping mall, so easy to buy supplies.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyrock81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Romelle S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Hi Andyrock

Thank you for giving us a great review! We are glad you enjoyed our world class buffet. Come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel and the room was beautifully appointed. The staff goes above and beyond to ensure your satisfaction. The hotel is within walking distance of just about anything you might wish to see or do. This is definitely a hotel that goes above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John Romelle S, Manager at Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Hi Stefan

Thank you for the review and we are glad you enjoyed the location of the Hotel. We hope yo see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quezon City
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Manila Galleria
2.1 mi away
Novotel Manila Araneta Center
Novotel Manila Araneta Center
#3 of 63 in Quezon City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Cocoon Boutique Hotel
The Cocoon Boutique Hotel
#1 of 63 in Quezon City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
3.6 mi away
Luxent Hotel
Luxent Hotel
#6 of 63 in Quezon City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
3.7 mi away
B Hotel Quezon City
B Hotel Quezon City
#2 of 63 in Quezon City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria

Property: Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria
Address: Ortigas Avenue, Corner Asian Dev., Bank Avenue, Quezon City, Luzon 1100, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Quezon City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Quezon City
#4 Luxury Hotel in Quezon City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria 4.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria soars into the sky above the bustling Ortigas. Step into the opulent, light-wood Lobby and staff will take care of your luggage. You can head straight to your stylish room, with high-speed Internet, or check emails with wireless Internet in the Lobby's Agenda cafe. You can ask the Crowne Meetings Director to tailor our 15 meeting rooms, all with wireless Internet, to your needs. Host receptions for 1,500 people in our sumptuous Grand Ballroom or invite colleagues to a boardroom. A staffed Business Centre is at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria Hotel Quezon City
Crowne Plaza Quezon City
Galleria Manila Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing