We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and Authentic Thai Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thaipan

Thaipan
Ranked #4 of 42 Dessert in Quezon City
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We serve authentic Thai Cusisine in a setting of perfect ambiance. We have Al Fresco , an outdoor dining area and for those who wants to have a very private dining and meetings, we have function rooms.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious and Authentic Thai Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The restaurant is perfect for a date or for family gatherings. It has nice and cozy interiors. Also, the food tastes authentic and is very good. Try their cinnamon-coated beef and their curries, which you can opt to lessen the spiciness. The staff was very accommodating and were very helpful. Although, their food is a bit more expensive than other Thai restaurants, I can assure you that it is worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geocbattad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very good place to dine...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Have been curious of this place since it opened, but haven't had a chance to try it, not until last night. Found in the Scout area, where many restos and food joints are found...it is a nice place. Even from the outside looking in, the place seems to be inviting, and has an interesting feel to it. Both the exterior and interiors have a clean cut feel to it... chic and warm at the same time :)
The menu was extensive, what was very pleasantly surprising was that their serving was pretty generous. I'd say a good price for that kind of serving. Made us feel we weren't shortchanged unlike other places.
We had a variety of food we wanted to try... and so we did order...
We had to try the pineapple fried rice and bagoong rice... equally good... we tried their appetizer platter-- nice to be able to taste a little bit of the satays and rolls; we had thai shrimp cake--this one was so-so; catfish salad -- very generous serving unlike that of others where the papaya ratio is much more than that off the catfish, this one takes the cake of having a generous serving of the catfish, unlike some dressing for this salad, theirs come less sweet, and it's a better thing! Tom yum kung was good too. It was my first time to try fish tamarind--- it was very good ... (i think it's a thai's version of sweet sour) I especially liked the fried basil on top. We also tried their beef panang and yes, this one was good for us too.
The service was great, very attentive servers. I'd say it's a great dining experience, we were happy to have tried it and contented with the results. We'd come back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Yummy Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My friend loves Thai food and really enjoyed celebrating her birthday here. We had tom yum which had shrimp and mushrooms in a just-right spicy broth, perfect with the rainy weather. The fried crablets were crisp, not oily, and not small compared to other restaurants. They were served with two dipping sauces-we generally liked the red one more than the green one. We also had pad thai which was presented beautifully in a weaved basket like egg(?) casing. The waiter graciously mixed it up for us. We opted for a green curry for our chicken curry. It was not as spicy as I thought it would be but very good.

The restaurant is located in a side street adjacent to the main street, so it's not as noisy plus there's ample parking space. The staff are very friendly and accommodating in Thaipan. They even gave my friend a red chestnut milk dessert with "Happy Bday" and a candle. Unfamiliar with it, we were reluctant to taste it at first but it turned out to be delicious.

The interiors are mostly white furniture with a few wood pieces, large mirrors and warm hanging lights. It is very homey and modern. You can eat in the airconditioned room or in the veranda (part of it is well shaded even if there is heavy rain) where there is simple but nice landscaping. Only downisde was the toilets could use more frequent cleaning as the trash bin was full and toilet paper was strewn all over and beside it. Overall it's a great place to go for near-authentic Thai food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“4th time and still very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We are back in the Philippines and decided to bring my eldest daughter and my first grandchild to Thaipan. She wanted to try People's Palace but I told her I wanted her to try out Thaipan first. She loved it! She got the hot and sour soup for starters and we also got the spring rolls. She was really impressed. Even our 14 month old baby loved the rice with the Tom kHa gai soup. We were all impressed with the service of our waiter. My eldest worked in a jean George restaurant in New York and she said that the waiter was really very good with his craft. The owner was there and she went from table to table and that was good customer service. As always the pomelo salad and the takoh cake was the best.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarandpups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Old houses in Timog Avenue-Tomas Morato area are now being converted to restaurants and Thaipan is one of them. The restaurant is clean and the layout is ok. Kinda give you a homy feeling. The waiters are knowledgeable about their product and readily gives suggestions to fit your taste. The saying that don't order what you cannot read/pronounce right is not applicable in this restaurant, just take a chance since most of it taste great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Miner_DMS91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thaipan also viewed

Quezon City, Metro Manila
Quezon City, Metro Manila
 
Quezon City, Metro Manila
Quezon City, Metro Manila
 

Been to Thaipan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing