We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing return”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Adriatico

Cafe Adriatico
Ranked #9 of 950 Restaurants in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Disappointing return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

On my last visit to manila, reviewed Cafe Adraitico at Mall of Asia. On this occasion, I visited its flagship branch in Malate.

I ordered my favurite French onion soup. When it arrived, to my horror, I discovered that it was served tepid: I could not believe a chef could send that out of his kitchen.

I pointed this out to the wait staff who returned it. I then received a hot soup. This error ought not have occurred.

It makes one wonder where the restaurant's quality control and pride in their work is.

The rest of the meal was average but to say the least it was a disappointing evening.

Never again, thank you!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank terry13347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    101
    43
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camiguin, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I meant Cafe Havanna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Terrific Music, Tasty Margaritas, Good Ambiance. However, not for families. I noticed that this time, it is full of hospitality girls and they are a bit vulgar. Being married with a European myself, I felt CHEAP.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maritesthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Romantic lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a very nice restaurant for romantic or family dinner, it's not very cheap, but the food, service and atmosphere worth it. I tried local cuisine dishes which were freshly cooked and delicious. My average bill was about 800-1000 php/one person.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veraleto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“old gem consistently amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Cafe Adriatico has been in Malate, for decades. It has always been a favorite among the artistic, the intelegensia, the movers and shakers. I haven't been here for decades. I am pleased that I finally got around to coming back. The place doesn't disappoint. Every single dish we ordered was great. We stopped for merienda after hours of shopping in the old downtown Manila. We ordered pancit malabon, dinugunan with puto, tokwa at baboy and arroz caldo. Each and every dish was outstanding. And just when you'd think we wouldn't be able to eat more, we topped off with canonigo and mangoes contres leches. The desserts were just as amazing. I'd come back here in a heartbeat. Nice to see some places stay consistently good.
The service was just as astounding. Wait staff were attentive but kept at a discreet distance, never smothering but there in a heartbeat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JavaMama58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

To me this is over-priced average tasting food...I have dined her several years ago and forgot about how my experience was (that was how forgetful the experience was actually). I visited again recently with friends and found the food so-so...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank borzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Adriatico also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Cafe Adriatico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing