We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dimsum”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tim Ho Wan

Tim Ho Wan
Ranked #12 of 950 Restaurants in Manila
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
manila, phil
Level Contributor
216 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent dimsum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We've been wanting to try eating at Tim Ho Wan since the branch in Megamall opened last May but the lines have always been long. Two months later, the wait is manageable - maybe 10 minutes. The restaurant looks like the usual dimsum place in Hong Kong - nothing fancy, noisy, just tables and chairs, with pieces of paper at the tables where you place your order, waiters going all around. Lack of ambience notwithstanding, the food is really excellent. The baked pork buns are delicious! The buns are sweet and light and the filling, savory. I also liked the prawn dumplings. The beancurd skin roll with shrimp was okay but was too oily for me. The vermicelli roll, I didn't like so much. Next time, I'll just concentrate on the pork buns and prawn dumplings.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gafrancomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    80
    51
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“not worth the wait”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

we waited in line for 30minutes to try their dimsum.. we ordered the pork buns, beancurd chuchu, fried dumpling with wasabi, shrimp dumpling and mango pomelo sago.. the dimsum are so-so and the pork bun is not that good.. i'm not a fan of siopao so maybe that's the reason why i dont like their buns.. it tasted like siopao asado.. hehehehe..

chinatown's dimsum are still the best or the one's that i ate in malaysia.. their dimsum is ok but expensive.. should have gone to luk yuen na lang.. hehehe..

maybe i will try to eat in tim ho wan again if i'll be in HK but will not visit again their branch here in manila.. overrated..

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sakura_shady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Best pork bun indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

finally tried the most talked about michelin star dim sum. unlike others who have waited for 2 hours just to be seated, we were lucky to be at #20 coz we arrived 30 minutes before opening time on a weekday.

the baked pork bun was indeed delicious. It's crisp and soft and the filling wasnt overpowering with anise flavor. we also tried their siomai, prawn dumpling, spinach dumpling , spring roll with egg white, and glutinous rice with lotus leaf. for dessert, we got the tonic medlar & osmanthus cake which i did not have an idea what it was. It turned out to be a gelatin with some seeds and it was delicious. Food items were reasonably priced . go check it out at SM Megamall. another branch will soon open in Glorietta. will definitely go back

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Velardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I've tried so many dim sum in my life but this is one of the best so far. The baked buns are to-die-for! You can eat all 3pcs (1 order is 3 pcs.) but be ready to allot sometime for queuing as it will take time to get in due to its popularity. The good news is that soon they will be opening in Glorietta, Makati. But even if you line up for a few minutes, it will be worth the wait. The prices are very reasonable. My only wish is for them to have a much bigger space so they can accommodate more customers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HF0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Ummm...OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We dreaded the long line but amazingly, maybe because there were only 2 of us, we only waited 5 minutes.

Service was efficient although very impersonal. It was quite robotic but I guess that was how they needed to be to cater to all the people in line. Space was cramped, the servers bumped into my husband a lot.

Food was good though but not as good as the one in Hong Kong. Pricey.

Not coming back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janadoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tim Ho Wan also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Tim Ho Wan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing