We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Hotel for holidayers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Octagon Mansion Hotel
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Manila
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Budget Hotel for holidayers”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

well frankly speaking i am one of those back pack travellers and obviously will settle for a hotel which is safe . This is my fourth visit to Manila,a city I just love for its vibrant moods , great food, entertainment, shopping and above all the friendly attitude of the people. The Hostel is located in downtown Manila and is near to some of the fine dine restaurants be it Japanese , Korean , Chinese , Indonesian and of course many of the KARAOKE BARS . The rooms are neat and decent, the staff and management very friendly that explains why I come and stay here more often than ever.I have built a good rapport with the staff and management who by now know me by my first name and even address me as( Hi. William how are you ?) The room service is just perfect cant get anything better for a budget price Hotel . Will be coming back again in early Nov for a longer time now . Ramil ,Dionie , Jenny ,Michael hope you are reading this .

Room Tip: all the rooms are more or less identical and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageurMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    54
    54
    15
    18
See reviews for
19
28
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Good walking distance from a lot of activities of Manila. Rooms are small (the bathroom, as well).

So why stay here? If you're working on a budget, or staying for a short period of time or always out, this may be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripin_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertslund, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here for 3 days. First we went to Friendlys Hostel, which was terrible in every sense (Dirty, smelly and spooky guests). So we quickly moved to Hostel 1632. Here, everything was clearly much better. Cleaner, more professional, more stylish, everything was nice. The price was good as well. 1500 pesos for a twin room I think. It actually resembles more a hotel than a hostel, so I can only recommend it. The location is both good and bad. It is located in the red light district, so expect the prostitutes standing in front of the bars to try and lure you inside. Very pretty but hookers nonetheless. Also expect alot of poor people to approach you on the street to beg for money, but that is normal in Manila. The Hostel is located 2 minutes from Robinsons Mall, one of the biggest in Manila, where you can find tons of good quality stores and cheap items/clothes. I bought a cheap Ipod Touch there. One downside of 1632 is that Wi-fi is not free, but still cheap anyway. All in all a very good place to stay. Recommended, and my first choice, should I return to Manila.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MartinfromDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

The location of this hotel is quite good; in the middle of Malate district; about 10 min walk to Pedro Gil LRT station. Some malls, restaurants, karaokes, bars in the vicinity. The bars district is very easy to miss but it is very near. The room was clean enough but a bit depressing (maybe coz they gave us the room at the end of the corridor with a window with no view.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kellios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

A very small, very thin room. Clean as can be, but tiny. Bathroom with shower in room. Color TV. Friendly staff. Small cafe in lobby. In an area of Manila with upscale hotels, but harrassing vendors all around on the streets. 2 blocks from Robinson's mall, but take a taxi for safety. Very reasonably priced, about $25U.S...free newspaper in the morning on your doorknob. We dropped into town with no reservations; most places were full, but the Hostel had a room for us. Hammering all night long at adjacent building.

Room Tip: Try to get the largest room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank banyannook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

I stayed there last year (2010) in May and June, three weeks in total with my wife and two young children. It was good and so were the staff. We asked for a discount because we stayed by the week. I think it cost about $1,500 peso a night. Yes the rooms are long and skinny, but it was quiet and cool.

Compared to other hotels I stayed in it was excellent. You can't compare Australian hotels to Philippines. They don't quite get it right over there yet.

I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay on the non smoking floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieTravelllBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

What can I say except for..it's decent for the money. The rooms are a bit small and there's no pool nor a free breakfast. The restaurant was a bit overpriced to a Philippines standard (200-300 pesos) and the minibar was expensive.

Our room was dead quiet, which is what we wanted just for a few hours before catching a connecting flight to Tagbiliran. The room we got was long and narrow, not wide and short. The air condtioner worked well. It was sparkling clean and seemed quite new. For what it is, it's decent.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bucheonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Silver Oaks Suites & Hotel
#67 of 109 in Manila
33 reviews
Rothman Hotel
#8 of 109 in Manila
302 reviews
Manila Crown Palace Hotel
#53 of 109 in Manila
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Palm Grove Hotel (formerly Palm Plaza Hotel)
Riviera Mansion Hotel
#20 of 109 in Manila
254 reviews
Malate
Pearl Lane Hotel
Pearl Lane Hotel
#33 of 109 in Manila
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Octagon Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Octagon Mansion Hotel

Property: Octagon Mansion Hotel
Address: 1632 M. Adriatico Street, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Hostel 1632)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Octagon Mansion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Octagon Mansion Hotel (formerly Hostel 1632) is manage by Transway Hotels Group Corp; located at 1632 Adriatico St., Malate Manila. A few minutes away from Robinsons Place Midtown Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Octagon Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel 1632 Manila
Hostel 1632 Hotel Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing