We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great University!”

University of Santo Tomas
Ranked #16 of 130 things to do in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This is the oldest university in Asia, founded in 1611, and is one of the world’s largest Roman Catholic universities based on enrollment.
Cavite, Cavite City, Philippines
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great University!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My parents went here during their college days, and as a university that hosts famous nurses and doctors I would have loved to have studied here too. But you don't have to be a student to get into the grounds and enjoy its beauty. It has a very rich history considering that it was already standing in 1645 and is still well maintained. People, myself included, visit here mostly during Christmas seasons. The only downside to it is that it's a little difficult to find for some and usually gets flooded during rainy seasons. I won't take it against the property though because it still is very deserving of a 5 star.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jacque N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    65
    27
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Imus, Cavite, Philippines
Level Contributor
207 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“lovely grounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

to begin with, it always been an imposing sight, year round. but during christmas season, lights and decorations dramatically changes the feel of the compound. makes for an excellent backdrop for christmas photos, very warm and festive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Manel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imus, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“More open spaces”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I admit, I'm biased to UST, this is where I graduated but it also gives me the right to rate this place as I have seen how it looks now and 2 decades ago. Before, the gardens were off-limits to people but now they have broken down the fences and people can sit anywhere in the gardens (particularly the one fronting the main building). You can have a picnic there (just throw your trash in the bin afterwards), you can also run & exercise around the grounds. It is also a good thing that they were able to preserve the old buildings while constructing/ have built modern ones. Also there are more food stores around, giving students and visitors more options.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank traversata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“a quiet place in the middle of a busy street”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I lived in Sampaloc area for 10 years before I moved in Pasay City and I can say that I can't find a place here in my current city that is as peaceful as UST (University Of Santo Thomas). Whenever I have a free time and want to have a quiet time alone I always go here. I can just stay at the university grounds and find a quiet space wherein I can read books, do my event task deadline or simply observe students that are passing by. I also go here for a morning jog or a late afternoon walk. This is also a perfect place for such activity because it's safe inside and you'll meet a lot of jogging/marathon enthusiast. You'll also find a chapel, eateries and a hospital within the campus.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mhik30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Viva Santo Tomas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

As other's have mentioned this is the oldest university in Asia! The grounds are well maintained and it's really huge! There were a lot of renovations that have been done. So if you haven't been here for a while, you'll be in for a surprise. There are now more buildings to accommodate the ever growing student population. The main building houses the museum where you can find all sorts of taxidermy. While the back of the main building is now an improved park. What used to be the Colayco park is now a more modern park that has a new statue. The hospital's facade is also now better looking. While the car park facing it now has a lot of restaurants.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of Santo Tomas also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to University of Santo Tomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing