We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Manila!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Intramuros

Intramuros
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Manila City Tour
Ranked #2 of 128 things to do in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Intramuros, "The Walled City," is the oldest district in Manila. This is what remains of the fortified city, which was the seat of power during Spanish Colonial times (1521-1898).
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Historic Manila!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

So much to see in this old walled city -- several museums and churches: Fort Santiago, Casa Manila, Rizal Shrine, San Agustin Church & Museum, Manila Cathedral to name a few. You will need at least a WHOLE day if not TWO. Nice restaurants and hotels too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SalvadorSegovia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    817
    1,118
    465
    86
    34
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Penang
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Did not feel safe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

First off, this is not a building/park etc. It is an area of the city. I walked to the place and asked where is Intramourus and a gard said this area is intramourus.

I have walked in a lot of streets in Manila but I am not sure why I did not feel comfortable walking in these small alleys of Intramourous. I had a DSLR camera in a bag and I was a bit hesitant to bring it out and take photos. I just walked a few alleys and then took a taxi and returned.

There were too many people offering to show me the region on a tricycle. But I really did not feel ok. Now that I think the discomfort was perhaps because there were too many shirt-less locals glaring at me.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank macdermat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Walk into the past!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

It's like traveling through time, the place is old, but not really beat up and dirty. Sure, there are some sketchy areas and I would 100% not walk around here at night...but during the day, it's alright. It's still a humid country, so "Walk into the past" but use a taxi with air conditioning. For more stories about Manila, search for the Danger Avoider blog!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank blorgDOTorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Quiet Seclusion in a Big City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend a week at the Bayleaf Hotel in Intramuros and walk around the historic section on a daily basis. While some of the streets are a bit dirty and quite poor, we enjoyed the shops and churches. The views of the walls and green golf course are also a plus. An enjoyable haven.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveldudeworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A trip to "Old Manila"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

It was exciting seeing the oldest district in Manila on board a horse-driven Filipino calesa. Some roads are still cobbled to this date and it was really nice seeing old stone buildings, old famous churches and old Spanish Filipino houses. Felt the richness of Filipino history. Restaurants around were aplenty. Price of souvenirs though in Intramuros shops was such a rip-off!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarieThereseLaumond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intramuros also viewed

 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Intramuros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing