We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“should have treated this place well”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Intramuros

Intramuros
Book In Advance
More Info
$135.00*
and up
Private Half-Day Manila City Tour
Ranked #2 of 130 things to do in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Intramuros, "The Walled City," is the oldest district in Manila. This is what remains of the fortified city, which was the seat of power during Spanish Colonial times (1521-1898).
laguna
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“should have treated this place well”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

my school is located inside intramuros, i pity this historic place. too many squatters, too crowded and worse is it floods whenever it rained hard. this is part of philippines' history it should be taken care of..it's polluted.. sayang :(

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank khamine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    838
    1,150
    475
    88
    36
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
287 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“A very interesting place if you know how to see it.”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Intramuros is waking up to its potential after decades of slumber. But to really get to know it try the guided tour by Carlos. His theatre-based walking tour takes you to Manila's bright days as the Pearl of the Orient and to teh dark days when its heart was torn out. best way to know Manila and the Filipino culture.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank RafikiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
297 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Intramuros, the Spanish town”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

In the morning I depart for the pristine ASBMC Manila American cemetery and memorial with its beautiful mosaics depicting the WW ll battles in the Pacific.A quiet place to retreat to. The circular memorial contains the names of those missing in action engraved in marble columns, huge wall mosaics depicting battles from World War II, this is also a small chapel.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank HasseZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A dream turned into reality...”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

when i was a kid i only see intramuros in philippine history books and i always tell myself that one day?i'll get to visit it myself..and i did!...i had fun exploring and i enjoyed my kalesa ride!...

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank yengandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“one of a kind.”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

the streets are uniquely structured. has the elements from the spanish days!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank fizzeyelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Intramuros also viewed

 
Manila, Metro Manila
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to Intramuros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing