We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Manila”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AG New World Manila Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night when I was on route to another city in the Philippines.

This hotel is serious luxury... in a very poor part of town on Pedro Gil. There are so many scanners and metal detectors in the hotel it made me feel a little uneasy, yet hey, that's just Manila.

The rooms were gorgeous, and if you are hungry there are a few great restaurants in the hotel as well. The staff were friendly and inviting.

I had a beautiful room with a great view... it was sensational the room...

I would definitely recommend for business travellers, yet don't go out at night.... it's just not safe.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miapeders83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,718 - 1,724 of 2,052 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2011

Room: Standard Hyatt room. The shower was great, very spacious with a rainfall showerhead. Unfortunately, they don’t have wifi in the room.

Rating: (4/5)





Staff: Work needs to be done with the Concierge desk. We asked for good restaurants with local food, we were given an American chain restaurant.
We then asked where were can go for Filipino food, and were told to head to the mall.
It seemed like they wanted to be cautious with recommendations. Definitely not their strong suit.

Rating: (3/5)






Facilities: They have a pool, fitness room, and spa. They have two computers, located in the fitness area, which you can use to surf the net for free.

We used the spa to get massages, which was great.

Rating: (4/5)






Location: The hotel is about 25 minutes from the airport. It’s two blocks from a Robinson’s Mall. The Pan Pacific is nearby, so there are a lot of restaurants, bars, and men’s clubs. It’s a lively area. A tad seedy, but really most of Manila is.

Rating: (3/5)


Side note: Manila is not a great city, not many sights and it's in pretty rough shape. Use it as a transit, or spend no more than 2 days there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lizarazu20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2010

I'm a regular visitor to Manila for both business and leisure. I have stayed all over Manila, including Makati City (Peninsula), Ortigas (Shangri-La), near the Airport (Resorts World/Marriott) and the Hyatt Casino & Hotel. Of these, I would probably say that the Hyatt is the most convenient in terms of location and has the most attentive and professional staff of any property in Manila, particularly if you stay on one of the Regency Club floors (Club level is on 10th floor). As other reviewers have said, their Market Cafe on the 3rd floor is superb, with a huge selection of items for breakfast/brunch, lunch or dinner. If breakfast is included in your package, then you should definitely try to make the time as the selection is truly bountiful, with an attentive and knowledgeable staff and chefs who are the equal of any chefs in hotels in Hong Kong, Singapore, or Bangkok. I have heard that Hyatt will be opening up a Grand Hyatt in Fort Bonifacio, but that will probably be at least 3 years away so in the meantime, if you like comfortable, quiet elegance, first class service, and rooms with flatscreen TVs, broadband (floors above the 16th floor do not have Wifi for some reason but they do have wired LAN broadband), then the Hyatt is highly recommended. As other reviewers have noted, it is very close walking distance to Robinson Place Mall, Manila Bay, Luneta (Rizal Park), CCP (Cultural Center of the Philippines) and MOA (Mall of Asia). It's relatively close to the airport and not far from Makati City/Fort Bonifacio also. The area around the Hyatt is well known for many Korean and Japanese restaurants, all fairly good quality, with Miyabi in the Pan Pacific (3min walk from the Hyatt) having excellent Japanese food. The area of Malate where the Hyatt is located has become something of a "Little Korea" area and you will see many Korean restaurants and grocery stores around the various streets in Malate. If you play poker, you will find that Korean players dominate most poker rooms around Malate such as at the Pan Pac and the Hyatt poker room. They are good, tough, aggressive players so tourists beware!

As far as the rooms and in-room amenities, a cut above most of the usual hotels. Previously, I was a frequent stayer at the Peninsula Hotel in Makati City and it's a great hotel, with an historic,beautiful lobby and nice rooms. However, after many stays at the Hyatt, I find the Hyatt to be much more comfortable and spacious although the Pen as it's known is also an excellent hotel.

People and staff make any hotel though, and the Hyatt's staff is professional, friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. From the F&B outlets to the reception, from the gym to the pool to the spa, all are excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pokerkaki_manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2010

The Hyatt is one of the more recent hotels in its category, which shows in the modern rooms and building. It is also ran in line with the chain's standard, which altogether make it one of the better hotels in Manila. Its prices usually reflect this, however.
The location is good for tourists, but not for business travelers working in Makati. The hotel's immediate vicinity is also not optimal for conservative guests or families, as a wrong turn will land them in less respectable nearby streets.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mos505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Great hotel, in a good location. A bunch of food within easy walking distance and the bay is very close.

I enjoyed my stay here and would highly recommend it if you have business in Manila.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RevTimGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

The hotel is located in the heart of Manila so I was not at all surprised with the tolerable traffic I encountered. It was along one way streets on botyh sides and i initially thought that would be a big problem if you are driving your own car but that wasn't the case. The hotel seem to have solved that problem by providing it's own little private road leading to the front entrance so one way streets were not a problem at all.

The parking was a problem. There were enough parking spaces but the low ceiling was a constant irritation and there was just enough space for a van to go thru some portions of the ceiling. I noticed they had separate parking for hotel and casino guests. There was a separate entrance for the casino too.

It took me a long time to check in - about 30 mins or an hour waiting for my turn since there were 2 persons in front of me. At check in I was given a card to use on elevators and room door. The bellboy didn't come for my things but that was okay. Just had a few stuff anyway. I had trouble with the key and couldn't get the elevator running. Fortunately a fellow guest was there to show me how to use it. I noticed they did not have staff near the elevators to assist the guests. They just presumed that everyone knew how to use their card. They presumed wrong though because all the new guests had a hard time with the card and it was up to the old guests to show them how.

I stayed in a room with 2 double beds. It was very spacious and full of amenities including an ironing board. No wifi though and broadband was not free. Toilet and bath was great and there were steps leading up to a bathtub. Not slippery at all I noticed. There were ample towels which was replaced every day.

I very rarely see the staff during my 3 days stay at the hotel but I did notice that they are good at their jobs. Probably looks into the camera to see if the guest goes out or something. I noticed that I would go out at around ten or eleven in the morning and come back to a fully made room at around two in the afternoon. Talking about good service! After dinner I'd find ice in the bucket for a drink.

Their complimentary breakfast was good. They had a mix of asian, continental and middle east cuisine. The variety was good for a brunch and saves you money.

The hotel was two blocks away from a big shopping center ( about 5 min walk).

Check out was a breeze. I expected longer time at check-out but I was out there after about 5 minutes.

I would definitely stay here again when I am in Manila but I won't be using a car next time.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelwise2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

spent 4 days here while on business. was upgraded to the Executive Club which came with lots of perqs, including free cocktails and appetizers each night. room was clean, comfortable, easy online access, comfortable bed and view of the harbor. Pool was quite nice and open late enough to still swim after long day of work. Staff was amazingly helpful and nice--arrived back from the office one night loaded down with reports, computer, etc and someone whisked them out of my hand and carried them to my room. Location was close enough to the airport and my offices, so short taxi rides. The clincher was the breakfast in the Market Restaurant--excellent array of Asian and Western food choices from Chinese to Indian to Pancakes and eggs. Just an amazing amount of choices--I recommend the noodle soup with pork and corn dumplings and baby bok choy.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel-crab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#2 of 110 in Manila
1,344 reviews
Hotel H2O
#12 of 110 in Manila
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 110 in Manila
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AG New World Manila Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AG New World Manila Bay Hotel

Address: 1588 Pedro Gil St | Corner MH del Pilar, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Hyatt Regency Hotel and Casino Manila)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Manila
#1 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#1 Spa Hotel in Manila
#6 Family Hotel in Manila
#8 Business Hotel in Manila
Price Range: $97 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AG New World Manila Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AG New World Manila Bay Hotel is a deluxe 5 star business hotel situated at the heart of Manila and in close proximity to the convention centers, shopping malls and historical attractions. Welcoming and spacious, the 376 guestrooms and suites are all designed with high ceilings and large windows to fully showcase the breath taking views of the Manila Bay sunset. Featuring four presidential suites where luxury and decadence meet, our full-time dedicated butlers attend to every smallest detail round the clock. Stay connected with WiFi in our guest rooms and restaurants or while enjoying a leisurely afternoon by our poolside featuring a 25-m outdoor lap pool, children's pool and Jacuzzi , all providing a tranquil escape from the bustle of Manila. Home to the award-winning restaurants in the city, enjoy perfectly prepared steaks at The Fireplace, authentic Cantonese delicacies at Li Li or visit Market Cafe for a truly international dining experience showcased through its live and interactive kitchens. Unwind at The Lounge over a refreshing cocktail or indulge at the Pastry Boutique offering a sinful selection of chocolates, pastries and cakes. Offering several leisure and entertainment facilities, pamper yourself with our signature treatments by visiting The Spa at Club Oasis or try your luck at the Casino-Filipino complete with two levels of executive floors studded with gaming and entertainment offerings. Choose from numerous event venues, tastefully appointed and fitted with technologically advanced equipment, making them an ideal setting for corporate meetings, weddings or any social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your AG New World Manila Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Manila
Hyatt Hotel Philippines
Hyatt Manila
Manila Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing