We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Plenty of MOST's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New World Manila Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New World Manila Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Bacolod, Philippines
Level Contributor
125 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Plenty of MOST's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

As a Hyatt Gold Passport member, I expected much but not really MOST. Check-in at the Regency Club was a MOST pleasant experience. The MOST charming Gel with her ever arresting smile made me feel at home right away. The 10th floor lounge (not to be mistaken for The Lounge in the ground floor) has the MOST panoramic view of Manila bay. Pre-dinner cocktails (6-8 pm nightly) here are top-notch; must mention the teriyaki kebabs, sushi, cheese platter, and especially the desserts (chocolate mousse, mocha eclair, tiramisu, creme brulee, strawberry-topped pie) -- MOST sumptuous. The club also has the MOST dedicated staff. King, the chef, is the most knowledgeable basketball buff this side of town and we would exchange notes about our Gilas national team. The room was MOST comfortable with woolen carpet and corduroy-covered seats. Bed can easily sleep 4 people. Bath was MOST refreshing, with both retractable and overhead showers providing very strong water pressure (imagine car wash). Towels were MOST fluffy; they were so big they could pass for a blanket! Then the food. We had dinner at LiLi on the 5th floor. MOST authentic Cantonese cuisine. Peking duck done 3 ways, crispy suckling pig skin, Szechuan-style fried shrimps, chrysanthemum tea only cost us 120 dollars -- MOST reasonable! Not to be outdone, the neighboring Fireplace serves haute pots done in their wood-fired Beech ovens. Now I have to mention the lifts -- the MOST efficient elevator system ever. We stayed on the 30th floor and whether you press up or down, it doesn't take more than half a minute for your ride to arrive -- MOST impressive. And did I talk about the MOST convenient location? Robinson's mall is just two blocks away. There are 4 (the MOST in any place I've been) 7 Elevens within the vicinity. One block away just around the corner is a Starbuck's, a Pancake House and Don Henrico's pizza and pasta. Also the MOST number of Japanese and Korean restaurants surrounding the hotel. For the MOST adventurous, there is a casino in the 3rd floor and an exclusive night club just in front of the hotel. Entertainment bistros, even the MOST famous Aristocrat restaurant are just a walk away. Overall, a MOST enjoyable stay. Can't wait to be back to this hotel with the MOST.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drjohnled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    382
    134
    42
    25
See reviews for
196
188
172
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sahuarita
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I checked in to the Hotel so that I could take the family to Manila Ocean Park. Upon arrival at the hotel I was immediately upgraded to a suite room at no charge. What else could I say about that. The room was very nice and the family loved it. That evening we went up to the Market Cafe for their buffet dinner. All I can say is arrive hungry. They had something for everyone. Seafood for the wife, steak for me, and plenty of desserts for the kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingSEAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I've been staying at the Hyatt over the past 8 years.
Pros:
Great buffet restaurant, but tired after a while. They need to have a change in the selections every now and then just to give it an uplift.
Convenient to the airport.
Love the executive club as its a great place to have small meetings.
Cons:
Used to go to Lilys chinese restaurant but not anymore. They used to have chinese managers but after they had left, the quality of the food deteriorated. The last two times I went there, the seafood smelt so I stopped going there completely.
They should have more seats juts outside e little patisserie. Many times I wanted to get a simple tea and cake but the chairs were always taken up by visitors just sitting there with no beverage nor food ordered. There should be a sign there indicating that the chairs are for customers and the staff should police that.
Last few visits, I noticed they stopped providing hand and face towels in the room and I had to ask for them. Housekeeping service has definitely deteriorated.
The lobby lounge is extremely pricey charging usd$20 for one glass of cheap white wine. There is no where else to lounge and when one wants to get out of the room for a little while.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The staff are helpfull enough, and friendly, but after maybe 10 to 15 visits over the years I keep hoping the rooms will have been renovated.

The carpets in the rooms are all stained, the walls are marked, curtains (or drapes) are drabby, the soft seating in the rooms are stained.

Since my last visit prices have rissen by nearly 25%, I dont think my experience was enhanced by that much, in fact you end up paying more for less.

I didnt use any of the facilities at the hotel - or in fact any of the food outlets - so I cannot comment on those

Room Tip: A very high room, the 24 hour traffic noise from Jeepneys tooting their horns and reving their engin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The last day of our trip to manila, we decided to stay a day at the hyatt because of its proximity to the airport and the mall of asia to do some shopping.The surroundings near the hotel was shabby, but we expected it already because of its location. It didn't bother us since we didn't plan on walking around the hotel's vicinity anyway.Bell staff will hail a taxi for you and will drive up in front of the entrance.. Front desk upgraded us to the presidential suite and we were very happy with the accomodation.Very clean and a lively atmosphere because of the casino. We had no complaints with the buffet at the market cafe.We will defintely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Traveling on business and unfortunatly it was a let down staying here, not the level of service you would expect from the Hyatt brand. Stayed at regency level club room and the service was like a three star budget motel, club room lounge does limited camp kitchen breakfast (congee or eggs) no omelette, pancakes, eggs Benedict, etc. I changed $100 USD into peso at checkin and I did not count the money I was returned. For the next two days every time I walked past the counter somebody would hassle me saying that they converted too much and gave me double what I asked for, I had to constantly remind them that I will settle that matter upon checkout. No chairs or lounge in lobby, ground floor lounge was roped off, so many business travelers in the morning waiting for lifts from hotel left standing like zombies, I also arrange hotel car the day before for airport, like usual expecting the 5 star to add this to my check out bill, well I admit I didn't check the bill but I get down to the front hotel car waiting to take me to airport. I get in and the Hyatt driver wants over 2000 peso in cash. Back to checkout and transact another visa bill for the transport. Sorry but Marriot in Manila is certainly my future preference. Only good thing really I can say honestly is I was glad to leave.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank STWALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_M_Simmons, General Manager at New World Manila Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for choosing Hyatt Hotel and Casino Manila on your recent visit to our city.

I was very concerned to learn of the less than pleasing experiences you had during your stay and can assure you these have been shared with my team. Immediate improvements are expected as we work together to raise our service standards.

Sir, I would like to also address the issue of the overpayment to a currency exchange transaction that you have shared in your Trip Advisor entry.

May I firstly thank you for the kind gesture of returning the over paid amount to our Front Desk Associate. Clearly, this oversight is not expected and we have shared how we can improve our effencies in this service action. The inconvenience on being asked to return the overpaid anmount is regrettable however as the money being used to facilitate the transaction belongs to the Hotel, our Service Associates need to account for all daily transactions. We did not in anycase believe the money would not be returned moreover we should have been a little more understanding of the inconvenience. I trust this has provided further clarity.

I would be very pleased to discuss your stay further and ask if you wish to contact me directly on richard.simmons@hyatt.com.

Again, we thank you for choosing our Hotel and trust this stay experience will not deter you from visiting us in the future.

Sincerely,

Richard M. Simmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for business purpose.
Overall it's an okay place to stay.
Swimming pool was under repair, so disappointing.
Room carpet was stained.
Worse thing is that there is no seating place in the lobby. One has to stand all the time whenever in lobby. This really bugged me no end.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrEveryTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_M_Simmons, General Manager at New World Manila Bay Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for choosing Hyatt Hotel and Casino Manila on your recent stay in Manila.

I was concerned to read that during your recent stay at your overall experience was below comfortable and may I extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience. It is regrettable that at time of your visit our swimming pool was under maintenance. I am now pleased to report is back in full operation. I fully concur with your comments on the carpets in some of our guest rooms. In 2012 we replaced 230 rooms with new carpets and by August 2013 an additional 100 rooms will have new carpets. Further upgrades are planned in 2013. We are looking at options for seating in our lobby however due to size we have been guiding guests to The Lounge on the lobby level where plenty of seating is available.

We greatly value the support of all our guests and trust we will have another opportunity to welcome you back. If I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly on richard.simmons@hyatt.com

Sincerely,

Richard M. Simmons
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manila
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 111 in Manila
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#3 of 111 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel H2O
#9 of 111 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 988 reviews
The Bayleaf
#4 of 111 in Manila
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New World Manila Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New World Manila Bay Hotel

Property: New World Manila Bay Hotel
Address: 1588 Pedro Gil corner MH del Pilar | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Hyatt Regency Hotel and Casino Manila)
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manila
#1 Casino Hotel in Manila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#7 Family Hotel in Manila
#8 Business Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — New World Manila Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New World Manila Bay Hotel is a deluxe 5 star business hotel situated at the heart of Manila and in close proximity to the convention centers, shopping malls and historical attractions. Welcoming and spacious, the 376 guestrooms and suites are all designed with high ceilings and large windows to fully showcase the breath taking views of the Manila Bay sunset. Featuring four presidential suites where luxury and decadence meet, our full-time dedicated butlers attend to every smallest detail round the clock. Stay connected with WiFi in our guest rooms and restaurants or while enjoying a leisurely afternoon by our poolside featuring a 25-m outdoor lap pool, children's pool and Jacuzzi , all providing a tranquil escape from the bustle of Manila. Home to the award-winning restaurants in the city, enjoy perfectly prepared steaks at The Fireplace, authentic Cantonese delicacies at Li Li or visit Market Cafe for a truly international dining experience showcased through its live and interactive kitchens. Unwind at The Lounge over a refreshing cocktail or indulge at the Pastry Boutique offering a sinful selection of chocolates, pastries and cakes. Offering several leisure and entertainment facilities, pamper yourself with our signature treatments by visiting The Spa at Club Oasis or try your luck at the Casino-Filipino complete with two levels of executive floors studded with gaming and entertainment offerings. Choose from numerous event venues, tastefully appointed and fitted with technologically advanced equipment, making them an ideal setting for corporate meetings, weddings or any social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your New World Manila Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Manila
Hyatt Hotel Philippines
Hyatt Manila
Manila Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing