We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AG New World Manila Bay Hotel
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was my second stay in the past year and again, it was a fine option if you've got business nearby. Area surrounding the hotel was a bit run down which made the amenities of the hotel even more important. the breakfast is wonderful and the buffet at night had a good selection. Pool was pleasant. Time your departure well as there is no furniture in the lobby for waiting for a pick up.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Decoamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,876)
There are newer reviews for AG New World Manila Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,432 - 1,438 of 1,876 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Good hotel. The staff was gracious, efficient and helpful. My room was clean and well-furnished although the style seemed a bit dated. The thermostat worked very well - very important because Manila gets hot and humid. The sound-proofing could stand some improvement. I could hear the comings-and-goings outside my door. (I had some pretty loud-mouthed neighbors.) The bathroom was spacious, well-appointed and very clean.

Location was pretty good. There's a convenience store and restaurants within a 5-minute walk.

Sidebar: I happened to peek inside the casino at 1 in the morning - there was a good-sized crowd but the ambience was eerily subdued. There was none of the jingling or tinkling or ding-ding-dinging that one would get from an average Vegas casino. I'm not saying that's bad. Just different.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earthdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I guess one can judge the efficiency of a hotel if one has checked in and out of the same hotel thrice each in a span of ten days. Well, I had to do that on a recent trip to Philippines, and was based in the Hyatt in Manila on Pedro Gill and close to the waterfront. The location is convenient if you want to be in the downtown, or are a tourist. For those coming for the SMX Convention Centre, it is not far, but the traffic can be dampener. It is just two blocks from a Robinson’s Place, so great of you want to shop or dine out. If you are in the mood for a stroll, beware of being propositioned in the streets around!

It is a tower hotel, with rooms beginning from level four. The lobby is business like, with no seating spaces. That said, there are excellent restaurants around the corner from the lobby, and a corridor leading to the casino just a few seconds from the main lobby. I guess the hotel does not want its guests to linger! The staff is ok, not overfriendly, but helps whenever required. Check in was not fast!

There are a few dining options at the hotel to choose from. The Lounge has live music, the Pastry Boutique is cute and has a fair range, while seafood aficionados can enjoy Fireplace. For me the best was Market Café, which had live show kitchens for a number of Asian cuisines – Japanese, Chinese, Thai, and of course Filipino. Yes, the omelette, pizza, waffles, toast sections were all present and extensive and the breakfast spread made for a great start to the day. Try the the halo halo, street food in a safe environment! The lunch buffet was nice too, though not as spectacular as breakfast one.

I stayed in three different rooms, all on different floors, and even of different layout! The rooms however were uniformly nice, though unexciting in any way. Standard, but no individuality, and there are better Hyatts around. Of course a higher floor eg 32 offered a better view a lower one, and there are some bay view rooms, though view isn’t that great. The rooms are adequate provisioned, from bathing facilities to net requirements. Not to forget the 32 inch LCDs, with a fair number of international channels. The baths are quite deep, so beware. Also, the lighting in one of the rooms was fairly dim, and lent a depressing look.

Room Tip: Higher floors, and if you are going to spend time in the room,, get one with a bay view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sumansays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

hotel facility are great. location is perfect as well. service are good. check in was fast. everything was in order. however food are overpriced. breakfast is at 1500 per person but food is not even worth 1500++. room service is even worst.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarmelaTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed just one night in a clubroom and the room itself was ok, a little old but still well maintained. The service was very good, and the lounge had a good celection of evening snack/drinks.
We ate at the Grill restaurant, excellent food and service, but very pricy for Manila.
There are also many restaurants nearby and close to Mall of Asia and the airport, overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrammenDrammen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

After reading the reviews on this hotel and Manila in general was a bit cautious - however booked in due to the NYE rooftop party as we didn't want to be travelling around on the night and wanted to see the fireworks somewhere good. The location seemed pretty good and all we saw in the foyer were attentive staff. Was easy walk to Mall of Asia - unfortunately was TOO close to Robinsons Mall only a couple of blocks - and we needed to buy a new bag to accommodate all the cheap clothes we bought. The Buffett dinner was exceptional. The fireplace restaurant set menu for NYE was overpriced and my 'medium' steak was just shy of still being alive. The party on the roof was awesome. Staff were obliging and looked after us when arrived at 4.30am from Banaue. Further to previous reviewer Our do not disturb sign must have worked as we didn't get room attended to at all in 2.5 days (which suited us). I would certainly try to get as high as possible if you want to cut down on street noise. Finally I liked the (presence - not sure whether would be effective) of the security and how they record the details of the cab you get in - both our cabbies we got from the hotel were good and honest.

Room Tip: Try to get as high as possible
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this review while i am still staying here at the hyatt hotel. I stayed here for 4 nights now, i still have to endure another night. The first night was pleasant. It was my birthday, they sent over a complimentary cake. Patrick from the hyatt club was very helpful and prompt with my needs considering it was new year i didnt have any cash to tip him and they were busy but Soon the experience went sour. I noticed that the housekeeping staff kept knocking on the door asking if i needed anything, which i found nice at first but it gets pretty rude when they do that even if it is 5 in the morning, still asleep, and when i decided not to answer the door, the girl entered!! Without permission, Which startled me and my mom! I have stayed in a lot of 5 star hotels and this does not happen at the makati shang or sofitel. After that incident, i noticed that They do that to all the other rooms too. They knock on the door about 5 times a day asking to check the mini bar and if you need anything. I had to put on the "do not disturb" sign and triple lock the door. I dont understand why they had to check the mini bar, yes i take stuff from there but i replace them with ones i bought from the grocery, just the basic, like coke or evian. I guess we'll see if tgey charge me when i check out. As of cleanliness, the room and lobby was pretty clean and modern but the hallway? There were big as* cockroaches at the hallway outside and trashbags just sitting there. The airconditioning is centralized so it automatically shuts on and off which is just annoying because it gets hot and the windows would not open. Room service is fast and reliable as well as the valet staff. The breakfast buffet spread was satisfactory but waiters are a bit scarce. The pastry shop however was excellent. The location, bad! I mean, i'm a local so i am used to how dirty manila actually is but i wish the hotel did something about the prostitutes just outside the lobby. I guess we'll see if they can still salvage what's left of my birthday vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jextar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
1,256 reviews
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel H2O
#11 of 109 in Manila
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AG New World Manila Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AG New World Manila Bay Hotel

Address: 1588 Pedro Gil | Corner MH del Pilar, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines (Formerly Hyatt Regency Hotel and Casino Manila)
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manila
#1 Casino Hotel in Manila
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#7 Family Hotel in Manila
#8 Business Hotel in Manila
Price Range: $106 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AG New World Manila Bay Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AG New World Manila Bay Hotel is a deluxe 5 star business hotel situated at the heart of Manila and in close proximity to the convention centers, shopping malls and historical attractions. Welcoming and spacious, the 376 guestrooms and suites are all designed with high ceilings and large windows to fully showcase the breath taking views of the Manila Bay sunset. Featuring four presidential suites where luxury and decadence meet, our full-time dedicated butlers attend to every smallest detail round the clock. Stay connected with WiFi in our guest rooms and restaurants or while enjoying a leisurely afternoon by our poolside featuring a 25-m outdoor lap pool, children's pool and Jacuzzi , all providing a tranquil escape from the bustle of Manila. Home to the award-winning restaurants in the city, enjoy perfectly prepared steaks at The Fireplace, authentic Cantonese delicacies at Li Li or visit Market Cafe for a truly international dining experience showcased through its live and interactive kitchens. Unwind at The Lounge over a refreshing cocktail or indulge at the Pastry Boutique offering a sinful selection of chocolates, pastries and cakes. Offering several leisure and entertainment facilities, pamper yourself with our signature treatments by visiting The Spa at Club Oasis or try your luck at the Casino-Filipino complete with two levels of executive floors studded with gaming and entertainment offerings. Choose from numerous event venues, tastefully appointed and fitted with technologically advanced equipment, making them an ideal setting for corporate meetings, weddings or any social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your AG New World Manila Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hotel Manila
Hyatt Hotel Philippines
Hyatt Manila
Manila Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing