We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Mansion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Manila
new jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok place.”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed in the premier room for a few days. Front desk was very responsive to my rescheduling needs via email. Housekeeping does a good job keeping it squeaky clean. The furniture was in very good condition however its decor may be from the 90's. I think the small old style tube TV needs to be replaced with a flat panel TV (at least for the higher priced rooms). The bathroom looks to be recently renovated and modern. One issue that I would like management to look into for future guests is the access into the bathroom. There is a three inch high threshold that you have to step over to get to the bathroom. I must have banged my foot into it at least three times leaving me with a painful bruise under my toenail. It can certainly be a tripping hazard especially in the middle of the night if you don't look. Location is more suitable for the adult traveler as the hotel is located in an entertainment district. A big mall is two blocks away with plenty of nice restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    95
    70
    18
    13
See reviews for
38
59
70
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaybalay City, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at riviera mansion for 2 nights last feb 23 & 24, 2013, we are a big group & we occupied 5 rooms (3 deluxe & 2 premier) service is excellent and the rooms are clean and decent, the only downside is the dead spots of the cellular phone connection, we have a.hard time contacting our group because of the choppy signal inside the hotel and we had a hard time receiving calls from home. Hope the management could fix that. We stayed at the sixth floor but still the signal is bad. I have internet in my phone but i cannot use it when we had a slight problem with our flight booking. I tried to have a web check- in but i cannot do it since there's no printer in computer in the the business center beside the restaurant. But still we had a great stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the higher floors cellular signal,might be better....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmerich L, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I am glad you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the new Premier rooms. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for the third time. For future printing needs, please advise our front desk personnel and we can print anything for you at reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed 4 nights. Rooms are fine. Breakfast room is small for the number of rooms and not buffet style, so portion control in swing. Breakfast nothing great. The staff as ever very helpful and the duty manager went out of his way to help me with internet search (I had no laptop). They do not get upset if you keep changing your guests in the rooms.. We had 2 rooms and some 8 people in all staying overnight. (But never more than 2 in room on any night).. They looked sort of amused as different members of family/friends came and went each morning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmerich L, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hi there, it was a pleasure to have helped you with your internet search. Thanks for the feedback regarding our breakfast. I will be working on improving the breakfast that we currently serve. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

i had a great stay at my favourite malate hotel , i stayed here so many times i lost count , great location near the mall , i really love the fact i have so many options for food only a 5 min walk . i would like to say the girls at front desk do a great job , if your looking for a nice hotel in the heart of malate this is a great choice for under 60$

Room Tip: try and get room at back of hotel , street noise is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishmanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmerich L, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
On behalf of the front desk reception staff, thanks for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on 31st January 2013 for just one night. No problem with the reservation. Fast check-in without any hassle. My request to change my room due to my daughter having a cold and don't want her to stuck in air-con room for the entire stay was handle with promptness by the staff. They even allowed me to check-in early at no extra charge. I was recommended a premier room that comes with a living room, a separate bedroom and 2 bathrooms. I glad i took it because it was the most beautiful room for the amount of money i paid for it. You can't get the same room for that kind of amount in other cities like in Jakarta, Kuala Lumpur or even Bangkok.

The only downside is that the main door had to be slammed hard for it to close. And apart from that i had to get my cardkey fixed twice since i can't open the door. That was a minor setback but never dampened my stay at the hotel.

Very near to the Robinson Mall about 2-3 minutes walk. There's a 7-11 just a stone throw away from the hotel entrance. Lots of money changers around and i feel safe travelling as a family in the area as long as we are vigilance to our surroundings.

My wife loves the hotel and so does my daughter who loves the space in the room. Had room service and the food was tasty apart from it to be kinda cold. But not too worry there's plenty to eat at nearby Robinson Mall.Not a posh hotel but i assure you that you'll have a wonderful and stress free stay in this hotel. Definitely gonna stay in this hotel in my next visit!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flash G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmerich L, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Glad to hear that everyone enjoyed their stay. Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed twice in this hotel, once for one night in July 2009; and on that experience, again for two nights in January 2013. What has changed in between? The bathroom was much better; in 2009 the bath/shower was unworkable and only blurted boiling hot water at us, no matter what the tap setting. This time round, the shower was great!!! Loved it. The area it was in was still nothing to crow about. I am a (married) white male. In 2009 I couldn't poke my nose out of the hotel door after 6:00pm without being hassled by pimps and prostitutes, even when hand-in-hand with my wife. This time round, surprisingly, I had no hassles with these at all. Instead, it was beggars, at all hours of the day. Of course, there's nothing the hotel itself can do about these, but anyone staying here should be aware that these are the hassles you could face just outside the front door. And even though both in 2009 and now, I had no hassles from either pimps or prostitutes inside the hotel itself, there were plenty of practitioners of the "oldest profession" there. You'd have to be blind not to notice.

Location. Well, it's in the heart of Manila in Mabini St. Expect that outside the door it won't be that savoury. In 2009 I had already stayed in Las Palmas three buildings down the street two weeks previously, and so knew what to expect in that department. It's close to Robinson's (though I personally count this as a minus, as I detest Robinson's), close to Rizal Park, close to Manila Ocean Park, close to Manila Zoo; close to Intramuros; and not too far from the Airport. (Whether THAT is good or bad depends on perspective. i personally wouldn't mourn if I never have to endure NAIA 1 again in my life.)

When we checked out this time round, warned by what had happened to a previous reviewer, on being told, "We check the Room," I told them,"You can check it as much as you like," and beat a hasty retreat out the front door.

In summary, our family found it worth while staying in this establishment a second time. Most of the hassles were found out the front door (though I am grateful to a previous reviewer for alerting me to one that could have been a hassle within the walls). We found it a good place to stay. I don't think you'll find much better in Manila for the money. Just be aware of what you'll face after walking out the door, and you can't go wrong here. I found it a good place to stay. Not perfect (what is for this price?) but it was good enough to get us to come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bargada_fino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I had booked a Deluxe Room in this hotel on their website from 1st Jan to 3rd Jan 2013. Due to some unavoidable circumstances, I had to cancel my trip to Manila and hence I had to cancel this booking too. I sent them a mail in the morning regarding cancellation of the room and to my surprise, within few hours I got reply from them about refund of my booking amount. I really appreciate the promptness. Next time I will surely stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeKay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmerich L, Manager at Riviera Mansion Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Looking forward to seeing you in the near future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Rothman Hotel
#10 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Malate
The Executive Plaza Hotel Manila
Regency Grand Suites
#16 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Palm Plaza Hotel
Palm Plaza Hotel
#37 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#11 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Manila Crown Palace Hotel
#46 of 109 in Manila
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Mansion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Mansion Hotel

Property: Riviera Mansion Hotel
Address: 1638 A Mabini Street, Malate, Manila, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Mansion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Mansion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing