We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but nice”
Review of The Pearl Manila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pearl Manila
Ranked #77 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Located on the 9th floor and above, this old style hotel has charm and style.
Well appointed gym, fair dining room and food, with a nice rooftop pool, not a lot of money would need to be spent to make this a really good hotel, close to robinisons mall and plenty of shopping to be had

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

128 - 134 of 317 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2010

Big rooms, nice view. Hotel itself starts at floor 9, rooms are between 10 and 17 or 18. Very basic and a little old, but everything works: bathroom, safe, AC. Very good service. Good breakfast, clean pool. Excellent location. Internet, wifi is only in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rumi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Hotel is a good hotel for sleeping and the breakfast is good. The rooms are clean and the people are kind. If you want a low budget hotel then is this a good hotel

Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Verkerkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

This hotel is in total run down. During my two nights stay at PEARL MANILA last September 22 - 24, 2010 was that after checking in the first room they give us has a lot of small cockroach right on your bed and working desk. I killed more than a dozen of them, not in the bathroom but right in your bed where you sleep and desk where you write something, as well as couches, cockroaches every where!!! I complained to the front office and they transfer us to another room. The second room they transfer us was so so but still dusty and shower did not work well. So, oh well, I have to bear with it with no intention of going back to this hotel. Swimming pool is just a big bath tub, that means very small!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllenAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

The pearl is a older hotel and i thought food wise they would be more american friendly with there food choices, so for me that was a big disappointment. the free internet is somewhat slow and the gym equipment on the 8th floor is old and out dated. I will say of the staff they try to accommodate most of your request. Another turn-off was when sitting around the bar at night little mice would run in/out of the area. I could go on and on about negatives but the next time i go to manilla i will just pick another hotel. If your under a budject and you can withstand certain things for a few days the price is good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AIRFORCEGUY072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We only stayed 1 night but the room was clean and comfortable and the AC was good. The view of Manila Bay from the room was nice.The staff were friendly, the pool was clean and they gave us extra towels for the pool.The breakfast buffet was very good. All in all a very pleasant short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

I ws not impressed. Upgraded to deluxe suite, waste of money. The shower heads grommet malfunctioned, sending a spray of water over the shower curtain, soaking the floor. To their credit it was fixed immediatly. Overall, it's dirty, smelly old and just was not pleasant. Breakfast food was bad.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IdahoUSA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
1.7 mi away
Manila Grand Opera Hotel
Manila Grand Opera Hotel
#29 of 111 in Manila
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterfront Manila Pavilion Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#15 of 111 in Manila
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
V Hotel
V Hotel
#69 of 111 in Manila
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Regency Grand Suites
Regency Grand Suites
#14 of 111 in Manila
269 reviews
1.5 mi away
Orchid Garden Suites - Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Manila

Address: 1155 Gen.Luna St | Corner Taft & United Nations Avenue, Ermita, Across Manila Med hospital, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: $36 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pearl Manila 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila's Pearl of the Bay!The Pearl Manila Hotel is located at the heart of Manila’s business center and historical landmarks, close to leisure and entertainment centers. Its proximate vicinity includes the World Health Organization, Medical Center Manila and two major hospitals, schools, the world-famed Rizal Park, ‘Walled City’ of Intramuros, National Museum, Club Intramuros an 18-hole golf course, government offices and shopping malls.Just 6 kms. from the convention and trade exhibits sites such as Philippine International Convention Center, Cultural Center of the Philippines, World Trade Center and 11.5 kms. from Ninoy Aquino International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl Manila Hotel Manila
Pearl Hotel Manila
The Pearl Hotel Manila
Hotel Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing