We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good if you want to have a low budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Manila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pearl Manila
Ranked #70 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good if you want to have a low budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Hotel is a good hotel for sleeping and the breakfast is good. The rooms are clean and the people are kind. If you want a low budget hotel then is this a good hotel

Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Verkerkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    105
    91
    54
    29
See reviews for
36
52
38
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

This hotel is in total run down. During my two nights stay at PEARL MANILA last September 22 - 24, 2010 was that after checking in the first room they give us has a lot of small cockroach right on your bed and working desk. I killed more than a dozen of them, not in the bathroom but right in your bed where you sleep and desk where you write something, as well as couches, cockroaches every where!!! I complained to the front office and they transfer us to another room. The second room they transfer us was so so but still dusty and shower did not work well. So, oh well, I have to bear with it with no intention of going back to this hotel. Swimming pool is just a big bath tub, that means very small!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manila hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

The pearl is a older hotel and i thought food wise they would be more american friendly with there food choices, so for me that was a big disappointment. the free internet is somewhat slow and the gym equipment on the 8th floor is old and out dated. I will say of the staff they try to accommodate most of your request. Another turn-off was when sitting around the bar at night little mice would run in/out of the area. I could go on and on about negatives but the next time i go to manilla i will just pick another hotel. If your under a budject and you can withstand certain things for a few days the price is good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AIRFORCEGUY072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

We only stayed 1 night but the room was clean and comfortable and the AC was good. The view of Manila Bay from the room was nice.The staff were friendly, the pool was clean and they gave us extra towels for the pool.The breakfast buffet was very good. All in all a very pleasant short stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

I ws not impressed. Upgraded to deluxe suite, waste of money. The shower heads grommet malfunctioned, sending a spray of water over the shower curtain, soaking the floor. To their credit it was fixed immediatly. Overall, it's dirty, smelly old and just was not pleasant. Breakfast food was bad.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdahoUSA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle OZ
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

I stayed here with my wife we were not expecting too much but were surprised how better we thought it was, yes the decor is outdated, the halls are not air conditioned, and they want a deposit of $100 AU for the mini bar which we received back when we left, if you dont mind that then you will like it we stayed 4 nights the pool is not pretty and only 4 foot deep but is warm and a great way get refreshed. The rooms were quiet and we could not smell any cigarette smoke anywhere in the hotel. The shower was hot the cable tv was good. Location not the best if you want to shop I saw no girlie bars close bye.
The breakfast was the best we had out of the 4 places we stayed, the omelettes were out of this world and great coffee, they had wifi but we used the internet cafes which are close bye.
There was nothing we could complain about I would not rate this as 4 stars but maybe 2.5 stars its is a great place to make as a base

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

Dont EVER stay at this place. Its a 1 or mayby 2 stars hotel. The pictures at the hotel´s own webpages is totaly fake. All the pictures are taken MANY years ago. Today the place is dirty, old and nasty.
The food is so bad, the location is bad (girls selling sex just in front of the hotel, kids sleeping on the street, and the rooms are really bad.

We paid 3 days in advance but changes the hotel after one night - even that we didn got the money back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_guy9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#10 of 111 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Regency Grand Suites
#16 of 111 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#14 of 111 in Manila
3.5 of 5 stars 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manila Grand Opera Hotel
#27 of 111 in Manila
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#18 of 111 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Malate
Tropicana Suites
Tropicana Suites
#19 of 111 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Manila

Property: The Pearl Manila
Address: 1155 General Luna Str. | Corner Taft & United Nations Avenue, Ermita, Across Manila Med hospital, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pearl Manila 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila's Pearl of the Bay!The Pearl Manila Hotel is located at the heart of Manila’s business center and historical landmarks, close to leisure and entertainment centers. Its proximate vicinity includes the World Health Organization, Medical Center Manila and two major hospitals, schools, the world-famed Rizal Park, ‘Walled City’ of Intramuros, National Museum, Club Intramuros an 18-hole golf course, government offices and shopping malls.Just 6 kms. from the convention and trade exhibits sites such as Philippine International Convention Center, Cultural Center of the Philippines, World Trade Center and 11.5 kms. from Ninoy Aquino International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Pearl Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pearl Manila Hotel Manila
Pearl Hotel Manila
The Pearl Hotel Manila
Hotel Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing