We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRAUDULENT MANAGEMENT”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of City Garden Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Garden Suites
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Rancho Mirage
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FRAUDULENT MANAGEMENT”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Although a booking made through wellknown German company HRS Cologne clearly stated that
payment would be made directly in the Hotel, the Filipino Management - unreliable and unprofessional - had the cheek to immediately charge my Credit Card! After complaining the undisclosed "Reservations Team" (of course they did not identify themselves by a name to avoid further consequences) they even let me know that I had to pay (again!) after arrival.
BEWARE OF THIS HOTEL!
An official complaint was filed at HRS Reservation Team.

Room Tip: Not available since I immediately cancelled the reservation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank VIPFILM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    197
    95
    28
    25
See reviews for
55
95
124
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Union Province, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was a pleasant enough stay in a clean hotel. Given the conditions outside the staff did very well. The food wasn't the best, but was OK, and the breakfast was good.

I found the rooms provided all I needed. Clean, tidy with on-suit bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CJJ_IoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I went to City Garden several times already in past years, when stopping by Manila on my way to other parts of the Philippines. But I won't anymore. Last time, August 2012, there was some flood in Manila. When I arrived from Paris thru Hong-Kong that afternoon, it would rain a lot. 2 hours after my arrival, Mabini street in the front of the hotel was completely blocked by the flood, no traffic could go through. Same situation when I woke up in the morning. When I asked receptioin and the concierge at the front door, "how am I going to go to the airport, how can I get a taxi, a 4WD could certainly come by?", they said it was not possible, supposedly no taxi could reach to the airport due to traffic and flood... I thought I would be stuck there for one more night, until relatives of mine in Manila came for help, showed me the way inside the hotel to the back-street that was perfectly accessible and they got me a taxi on time, and by the way the hotel had even settled there (at the back-door) a back-up concierge service... Was it "hiya", was it poor English speaking (still I perfectly understood they told me no taxi could get me to the airport), was it poor marketing / tentative to get me for one more night? I will never know because I will never return there!

Room Tip: Some rooms ("standard") don't necessarily have windows, better check in superior rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jean_Fradel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The world
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Having stayed here a few times the last 18 months has seen a lot of street crime around the area of the hotel. For my recent trip last week I was happy to see Police posted at the hotel from 1400 to 2100.

This is a credit to Bonnie the Security manager there as I had complained to him several times about the crime and pickpockets who are actually thieves. The area feels much safer and I never saw the usual gang of pickpockets in the area.

The hotel is still undergoing some renovation but I stayed on the 4th floor and it never bothered me.

Overall my stay although short was good and the staff there are great. Will definitely be back again.

Thanks to Bonnie, Dindo, AJ and Alvin for a warm welcome back there and I will be back again soon.

Room Tip: Staff are quick to act on any noise complaints if you have an issue just let them know they will sor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Private222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

City Garden Suites aims to provide moderately-priced clean rooms for the budget traveler and in this respect, it succeeds. As opposed to other Southeast Asian cities, Manila can be quite expensive and walking the streets at night may be dangerous. At this hotel, you will not worry about dangers: the area, although busy at day, is quite pleasant at night, and very close to Robinson's Mall where you can dine almost anything you wish. Prices are reasonable, rooms were comfortable, appliances were in working order, and service was prompt and courteous. Breakfast buffet was so-so, but in my case it was included in the price.

The hotel is also close to some major historical areas, such as Rizal Park and the old city of Intramuros. The elevated train is not exactly close, but you will get to walk through some very interesting areas of the Ermita neighborhood in order to reach it. You are also at a walking distance from Manila Bay and the area fronting the bay where you will find more restaurants, if you wish. Not everybody is enamored of that section of the city, though, so make sure this is where you want to go. I went to do some historical research and, with the proximity of the national library, the area was excellent.

Overall I recommend the hotel. If you are willing to spend at least a hundred USD a night, by all means skip it; but if you want to save money and stay in a safe hotel, City Garden will do.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vicbruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I staed here 3 nithgs. every day from 8 am to 4pm they was made some recorstraction by hummer anr ctr beside my room. all days i had problem with hot water in shouer. when i had call and ask about water thay just said we are come now but nobody come..... so serves isnt atation to guests. Bracfast is ok for food but still isnt ok with stuf persons. If one gest finish his brackfast they are not clean fast after him desk it is mean when u comin u have no chouse have a set in clean desk and ejoy ur time with food . u should ask some one cleaning for u table and after ask about every thing like spun or cup for u . they are dosent know u should serves again table if u cleaned it befor. Stuped sistem with tikets to bracfast to . everyday u shuld stay line to conserge to take ur tikets for eating .WHY!!! if i alredy paid for that.
In room tirrible smell from forniture . ILL BE NEVER stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funnykarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ofallon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

i have a bad experience of this hotel i stay here four times then the last time i was charge for a cold coffee from the refrigarator in my room i told the manager that was a mistake and there got gonna give my deposit until im not pay the coffee......thats ridiculos all the staff is idiot im standing there for how many hours to wait my money back,,,,,,there thief and liar need a money in the customer.........

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank natalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Regency Grand Suites
#16 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#14 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Ermita
Lotus Garden Hotel
Lotus Garden Hotel
#21 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Kimberly Hotel
Kimberly Hotel
#11 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#19 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Suites

Property: City Garden Suites
Address: 1158 A. Mabini Street | Ermita, Manila, Luzon 1000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Ermita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Garden Suites Manila is a Standard Class Hotel and an ISO 9001:2008 Certified in all aspects of its operations. One of the 3 properties under the City Garden brand, has emerged to be first-in-mind for hotels in the Philippines' capital city. The hotel offers top class accommodation with business character and elegant furnishings that provide guests value for their money. A great choice for business and leisure travelers who are seeking comfort, affordable rates and cozy ambiance that is so relaxing and refreshing. Every guestroom offers modern and up to date facilities and five star quality amenities bringing new dimensions in luxury and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Garden Hotel Manila
City Garden Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing