We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience National Museum
from $119.24
More Info
from $141.12
More Info
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveler rating
263
272
115
24
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
263
272
115
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paintings and sculptures legislative building free entrance philippine art fine art natural history no flash cultural heritage rizal park jose rizal arts collection hidalgo filipino luna philippines country
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 683 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2019 via mobile

The museum dates back to 1901. Its just outside Intramuros. Closed on Monday
Lots if interesting art and history.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank easterntreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019

It is a very rewarding experience visiting the National Museum, for Filipinos and non-Filipinos alike. Getting to see the work of Filipino artists up close is a great experience. But the best has to be seeing the iconic "Spoliarium" by Juan Luna in person. Stunning work of art. The rest of the museum has a wide collection of different types of work as well spanning the history of the country.

Maybe the best part is that admission is free. And I suggest planning to be here at least an hour or more to truly experience all the pieces on display here. Maybe even make it an all-day trip to visit this, the National Museum of Natural History and the National Museum of Anthropology which are all just a few minutes walk from each other.

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Lester Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019

It's a nice museum to visit just outside of intramuros. It has a good mix of historical artifacts and new contemporary artists. Gives you a good flavor of the religious importance of the Filipino history. As well as the Spanish influence on the country. Good for 2 hours.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank russ p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2019

I came here with my husband and 5 year old daughter. My child tried to touch the painting, she was a child and curious and the guard was very rude. It's okay to tell people not to touch the paintings but to be a monster to a child, there's something wrong with you. The guard could have just smiled and explained to a child or to us politely not to touch the painting. My child was not running around or being noisy, she was just curious about the texture of the paint. More training please to the guards and staff about being respectful especially to a child. Come on guys, this is common sense.

Date of experience: March 2018
6  Thank Iamhappyeveryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2019 via mobile

The NM for Fine Arts has a considerable collection of artworks arranged into sensible exhibits/galleries. The NM for Anthropology has increased its collection but I think can be improved. The NM for Natural History understandably is new. The museum is free yet well maintained. The few criticisms I have would be: 1. There is a lack of interactive maps at the entrance that could guide visitors where to sensibly proceed, 2. I think the experience can be enhanced by souvenir stores and these can be a source of revenue, 3. They need to place a map in the Rizal Park complex that could inform visitors that there are three museums. I think the NCCA can work with the park administration for this. 4. These museums have a million dollar view of Manila on its upper floors. I understand that we cannot open the windows since it can affect preservation but can we allow visitors access to the balconies?, 5. Personally, I would appreciate having more guided tour than the sparse ones they have and would pay for it. But overall, the museum experience was good.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank anjobf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews