We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience National Museum
from $119.24
More Info
from $141.12
More Info
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveler rating
263
272
115
24
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
263
272
115
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paintings and sculptures legislative building free entrance philippine art fine art natural history no flash cultural heritage rizal park jose rizal arts collection hidalgo filipino luna philippines country
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 683 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2018 via mobile

ENTRANCE is free! The National Museum has several buildings located at the Luneta Park. There is the National Museum of Anthropology, Museum of Fine arts, Museum of Natural History and the Planetarium. The buildings were formerly utilized by other government agencies like the Legislative, Department of Finance etc. The exteriors look magestic.

Plus, it is airconditioned and the bathrooms have toilet papers and are clean. The staff are very polite and accommodating. I was truly happy to visit the museum, and especially see the Spoliarium up close. I just hope that they sell brochures or maps to visitors so that we will have an idea where certain exhibits are located, but of course the staff are always willing to help.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank PinkMoscato
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2018

I was curious about what I would find, I was surprised by the imposing building and the quality of the works exposed
A great care in the maintenance of installations and works, a story well told in images. Losing a few hours in appreciation.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Artur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed visiting this museum and learning more about the National Artists that contributed much to the Filipino cultural heritage. The works were housed in the former Legislative Building which looked like some of the government buildings back in the US.

Upon entering, the first major painting was the Spolarium by Jose Luna. It was entered and won the top prize in Spain in the 1800s and eventually was returned as a gift from the Spanish government to the Philippines. The painted scene showed what happened after a gladiator fight but we were told the figures represented the Filipino suffering under Spanish rule. It was a powerful painting on a grand scale.

As we wandered throughout the building we visited the exhibit on Jose Luna (including the controversial purchase of Parisian Life painting by GSSI), fabric art collection by Federico Aguilar Alcuaz, Seven paintings about Filipino life on loan from Philam insurance and the massive Filipino Struggles though History (removed from Manila City Hall) by Carlos Francisco. We had the good fortune to be hosted by a member of the museum and we learned so much from her. She was a wealth of great knowledge.

Since the museums charge no admission fee, I highly recommend coming back multiple times and enjoying the art work.

Date of experience: November 2018
4  Thank wireless_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2018

The national museum is free to enter and well worth a few hours of your time in Manila - it offers an insight into the history and culture of the Philippine islands (as well as an escape from the heat of Manila). There are displays on the pre history from the stone age through to present day with galleries dedicated to colonial artefacts, art and crafts and the Philippine language as well as an Igorot house in the courtyard.
All displays are labelled in English and there are a number of interactive elements although it remains a more classic styled museum.
Well worth a couple of hours of your time in Manila.

Date of experience: April 2018
3  Thank Amyce24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2018

This was a real eye opener - I never knew there were so many talented Filipinos and Filipinas - Manansala's work made a strong impression on my artistic view. The history of the various artists and the culture of the Philippines is well presented in this national building. It is free (I came on a Thursday), it is a great escape from the heat and it is great for kids. Wide corridors covered in great art. Walking distance to United Nation LRT. A must see.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Z3724ZFnicolasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews