We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Philippine History and Treasures” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Museum

National Museum
Book In Advance
$55*
and up
Introduction to Philippine History Art and Cuisine Walking Tour
Ranked #8 of 119 things to do in Manila
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This grand exhibit house features the country's most historic works of culture and national heritage, including the paintings of heralded Philippine artist Felix Resurreccion Hidalgo.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
169 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Philippine History and Treasures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

So impressed by the 1884 Juan Luna's SPOLIARIUM that was submitted at Exposición Nacional de Bellas Artes in Madrid plus lots of interesting art works by local artists. Also, thousands of artifacts to explores. The Museum is quite old and needs some improvements but worth to visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ミカエル フ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    132
    58
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Pasay, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Visit for free on Sunday, for a great time with Philippine masterpieces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Juan Luna's massive "Spolarium" by the entrance never fails to inspire. The next floor up has many of Luna's other works. Nearby is a gallery with Jose Rizal's sculptures, and a sketch of Berlin; And of course Hidalgo too. Then, gallery after gallery of even more masters closer to our time: Amorsolo, Manansala, Joya, Saguil, Sanso, Ben Cab...the list goes on. There's a gallery on traditional textiles, and another on the Basi Revolt, and paintings of World War II. The old building is lovely, especially the old Senate Hall. It's good the grand work "The Progress of Medicine in the Philippines" is housed here now, instead of the Philippine General Hospital...it looks well cared for and better preserved here. Take the stairs across the reception desk, the winding one with ornate grilles, they make for a more romantic ascent than the taking the unremarkable elevators. I loved the spacious galleries with high ceilings, and hardwood floors, even the door handles are works of art (Abueva's). Prepare to walk through long corridors, the galleries are not at all cramped in compact quarters....but spread out quite nicely throughout. It looks better now that when I last visited. Even the rest rooms look well maintained. I left the museum uplifted and inspired. Entrance is free on Sundays, but affordably priced nonetheless on weekdays. Photography allowed (had I known, I'd have brought my camera!)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Although a few halls were closed during our visit, this place contains some beautiful paintings and is well worth a visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tessa2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Better than being in a mall on a weekend.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The museum is worth a visit by everyone. We went to the museum during their month-long free entrance fee promotion, sure enough it brought people to the museum. What made it more interesting is that the National Museum is within the area of Rizal Park or Luneta where a lot of people flock during weekends and holidays.

The galleries are way better than the last time I visited. The first room/gallery that visitors will see is Juan Luna's Spoliarium is exhibited together with another famous painting by Felix Resurreccion Hidalgo. The rest of the ground floor galleries are dedicated to paintings by known Filipino artists. The succeeding floors are dedicated to plants and animals.

In another building across the street from the main building housed artifacts recovered from shipwrecks during the Galleon Trade. This building houses more exhibit and one we did spend more time here.

The toilets are clean but they could use some toilet papers there. More signs could help visitors work their way around the place, and lastly, some of the exhibits could use some more security or volunteers that could look at the exhibit and remind people that some of the exhibits are not to be touched.

The museum is free during Sundays. After going to the museum I suggest a stroll at the park as well.

Cameras are allowed but bags are to be kept at the storage area.

Even foreigners would enjoy the museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mowma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“FREE Journey to the Past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Visiting the National Museum will make anyone appreciate the country's rich culture and tradition. I visit the place whenever I can especially on a Sunday since it's free to all Filipinos on that day.

The first time I went there, I was amazed and overwhelmed at the vast treasure laid out before me. From world renowned paintings like Juan Luna's Spoliarium to primitive weapons created by our ancestors, you can retrace the history of the Philippines. It's not enough that you just stare at one artefact and move on to the other. It would be great if every visitor would truly take the time understand each item on display there.

The last time I went there, most of the galleries are under renovation so there's not much to see, but I will definitely recommend this place!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank MayoKetchup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum also viewed

Manila, Metro Manila
 
Manila, Metro Manila
 

Been to National Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing