We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kimberly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimberly Hotel
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Venice, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Friendly and clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel was recommended by the University administration across the street. Since I had business with them, it was very convenient for me, and close to all the places I wanted to see and go to. Malls, and museums as well as eating places were walking distance, or just a taxi ride away. The rooms were clean, and the staff were friendly and accommodating. I highly recommend staying here as a quiet, private business hotel. Depending on the hour of the day, the street outside is teeming with people, and vendors. At times, the street is occupied by street vendors, like the night markets of Bangkok. Be careful of pickpockets, although I have never been a victim here.

Room Tip: 404 has a good view of Pedro Gil street, and its denizens. The street always is busy with human dram...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bong Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    112
    48
    10
    9
See reviews for
47
54
57
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Puchong, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

What strike me most while researching for a decent hotel in Manila was the fact that the M.D. for Kimberly Hotel (Natalie Ng) actually took the trouble to read and respond to feedback and complaints on TripAdvisor. To me, this is a bold reflection of the standards and desire to improve and not only merely paying lip service. The hotel is conveniently located within 150m from the nearest MRT station (Pedro Gil) and that makes commuting around easier and less costly. We paid 310 pesos from NAIA Terminal 3 to the hotel via taxi but only 140 pesos on the way back simply by taking the train to EDSA station (15p per person) and then catching a cab from there (80p). However, if you have heavy luggage or if you are travelling with kids, its not advisable. It becomes a hassle when you have to open your bags at the entrance to the MRT station for security checks, the trains are almost always filled and the roads are perpetually jam packed. Here are a few points for consideration:
(1) I booked through AGODA and was charged about 9900 pesos for 3 nights. Upon checking in, I discovered that the same room cost 9600 pesos for the same duration. And that is after a 15% early bird discount from AGODA!
(2) We stayed on the 5th floor, facing the main road and in the wee hours, only the rattling of the box air conditioner can be heard.
(3) No electric flask is provided, although you can request for one. Same goes for hair dryer.
(4) Wifi is okay as there is a router outside the room and not too many guests were on-line.
(5) There is this picture of a girl with mouth open eating dim sum hanged on the wall of the room. I cannot understand its significance or connection with the decor or the room.
(6) There are many road side stalls at night, 24 hours fast food outlets (even a bakery) close to the hotel.
(7) Free PC with internet connection usage for the first 30 mins but printing a A4 page will cost you 20 pesos.
(8) Water pressure was okay, the hot water shower was also okay and they have a nice plant and clothes line in the bathroom.
Overall, Kimberly Hotel has all the aces, not to mention the excellent service i received from Mark Cueveras and his staff. And lastly, the buffet breakfast was better than average. Fresh juices, beverages, and a not so wide but acceptable selection of food, from noodles to rice to congee. Again, the service was excellent. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is out to differentiate themselves from the competition. What is wrong will be made right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BIGDUA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyGM, General Manager at Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Bigdua,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the rooms, food and service. We do try our best to ensure we excel in all aspects of guest stay and as such your feedback is invaluable. I will make sure to pass your compliments to Mark.

We enjoyed serving you and hope to see you again when you visit the Philippines in the future.

Sincerely,

Natalie Ng
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Kimberly hotel for three nights. I picked it out after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor.

We found the service friendly and accommodating. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Our room had a great view of the city and we liked the complimentary breakfast.

Unfortunately we do have a few criticisms. First, the hotel appears to allow smoking. There was a slight odor in the hallway and in the room. Second, the Wifi connection in our room was unreliable.

Third, we would have appreciated a backup roll of toilet paper. Fourth, the air conditioner is next to the bed and is a little loud. Lastly and the most disappointing was the lack of warm water. The chilly morning shower was a bit of a challenge.

Kimberly Hotel is a good value for the money. Overall it was a decent and we might be willing to stay there again. However, our stay wasn't flawless and we would consider other hotels as well.

Room Tip: We were in room 704 which has a great view of the city. However, it is also the last room down the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SolemnPhilosopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyGM, General Manager at Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear SolemnPhilosopher,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Hotel Kimberly. I am truly glad to know you enjoyed the rooms, breakfast and overall service. I read your criticisms and rest assured I am acting on it.

I was concerned to hear that you experienced problems with the hot water and wi-fi in your room. We have water heaters installed in every room and if this did not work then I sincerely apologize. The hotel has recently invested in additional equipment to improve our complimentary wi-fi's in all our rooms and I believe we have good wi-fi connection as a result. As additional back-up, we also installed a computer in the lobby which guests may use for up to 30 minutes at no charge. Smoking is allowed on certain floors and we do have smoke free floors.

I hope you enjoyed the Philippines and should you come back, we look forward to serving you in the hotel again.

Sincerely,

Natalie Ng
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
248 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The main selling point of this hotel are their attentive staff as they are all trained to please their guests. The hotel is located along the busy Pedro Gil road and it is just a 2-min. walk to Robinson's Place mall and it is less than 1-min. walk to the Pedro Gil LRT station. The room is just ok for the price I paid. It seems that the room where I stayed is newly renovated so everything seems to be new. What I love about this hotel is their mango crepe... really yummy!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kegler747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimberlyGM, General Manager at Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear kegler747,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will certainly pass your compliments to the staff (and chef for the crepes!). We look forward to welcoming you again in Hotel Kimberly.

Sincerely,

Natalie Ng
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

A hotel well known to tourists in Kuala Lumpur as its name has been well advertised in MATTA FAIR. Not only famous for its fair and reasonal price, it is affordable to tourists who wish to travel by "free and easy" tour in Manila. The Hotel Room is clean and spacious. Moreover, the front desk/counter staff are polite and willing to listen and offer client's assistance upon request. Its location is positioned with MRT station nearby, and shopping mall, such as Robinsons supermarket with varieties of both western and chinese food stalls located in the Mall. It is indeed convenient and, in terms of transport, it is easily accessible both by taxi and "jeepney" - the cheapest means of transport found in Manila.
The Hotel's locality is unique, in the sense that should you want to go for "shopping spree", then you can either go to Shopping Mall (Robinsons) or take a "Jeepney" to China Town where the textile goods are sold very cheaply ranging from 50-200 pesos. For those travellers who are interested to take "stroll around" in Rizal Park
and Ocean Park, they are all located within walking distance from the Hotel.

Room Tip: To always choose higher floor, from 4th floor upwards. Should a lower floor be given to you, you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank philipleeyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat0123, General Manager at Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear philipleeyk,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay. It sounds like you enjoyed the Philippines and got around quite a bit! We hope to see you return again.

SIncerely,

Natalie Ng
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I returned to this hotel reuniting with my wife after not seen her for more than 5 months so I requested a romantic setting in the Executive Suite a month prior when booking our room. Staff were very professional/welcoming upon our arrival. We loved the rose pedals including the bottle of champagne and candles. I was amazed at the professionalism and politeness of every staff member.The manager was fantastic as well as very courteous. As soon as I mentioned my name at front desk he got up straight away to assist me and take me to the room for a viewing session. Front desk were very discreet when paying the bill so my wife had no idea what she was in for. I recommend this hotel to anyone. I payed $5,500PHP per night for the Executive Suite and stayed there for two nights and an extra $2000PHP for the romantic setting. Thank you so much Kimberly Hotel Ermita. You guys are awesome. See you again soon.

Room Tip: Executive Suite room 905
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markrob0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nat0123, General Manager at Kimberly Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Markrob0,

Nice to have you back at Hotel Kimberly again. It's always a pleasure for us to assist our guests for any special occasions and we are glad you and your wife were happy. Yes when the staff learned of your intended surprise, they really got excited on your behalf and spent quite a bit of time setting it up! As far as we at Kimberly are concerned, moments like this are special and we do our best to make sure they do their part. Your feedback was well and truly appreciated. We sincerely wish you both the best and hope to see you at Hotel Kimberly again.

Regards,
Natalie Ng
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Located right in the heart of Ermita, the closest hotel to Robinson's mall and surrounds. Short walk to MRT station and UP campus opposite. Standard rooms for the area. Good value given location.

Airconditioning extremely powerful in the rooms, perhaps a little too strong given close proximity to foot of bed.

Buffet breakfast leaves a little to be desired, although lots of good places to eat nearby.

Excellent service from bellboy, flagged down a cab, brought out our luggage and held and umbrella for us during heavy rains and floods.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Regency Grand Suites
#16 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Ermita
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
Bayview Park Hotel Manila
#14 of 109 in Manila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel H2O
#10 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Malate
Tropicana Suites
Tropicana Suites
#15 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimberly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimberly Hotel

Property: Kimberly Hotel
Address: 770 Pedro Gil Street | Malate, Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Malate
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kimberly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Kimberly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimberly Hotel Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing