We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good choice for Manila” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Malate Pensionne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Malate Pensionne
Ranked #59 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good choice for Manila”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Decent budget rooms with a sense of history, reliable reservations system, friendly staff. The construction site next door is a pain.

Given there's a shortage of low budget accomodation in Manila, this is one of the best choices. Book well ahead!

Room Tip: There's no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slovenia-Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    44
    57
    31
    33
See reviews for
18
68
46
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

During my booking I arranged airport pickup. Usually that´s cheaper than flagging down a taxi at the airport. This time it wasn´t: They charged me 500 pesos for one way - a taxi would MAX cost 200 pesos, if not less.
The building itself is under construction at the moment, so you´ll be woken up by drill or saw sounds early morning. The Starbucks everybody was talking about isn´t there any more, as well as the promised balcony and common areas. There was exactly ZERO common areas, so it was kind of impossible to meet other travellers.
The hostel didn´t give any information about what´s going on at the place at the moment. Not on their website, not in the email they sent me. And, even better: It didn´t change the room rates at all. I had to pay the full price to get not even half of what they had promised.
Internet is expensive here, the staff isn´t friendly, the mattresses very old, and the bathrooms a little dirty, as well as the rooms.
When I´ll go back to Manila I´ll definitely stay somewhere else, and I´d avise everybody to do the same!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank phoebe1980tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manila hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I would avoid staying here is you are able to find somewhere different. The rooms are noisy as a result of being open to the interior of the building where people stay up watching tv until the early hours. There is no hot water and the rooms really aren't very comfortable. On a positive, the architecture is pretty impressive and we may have been a little unlucky.

Room Tip: Not anywhere near the centre or front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coburg, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I checked in on the 17th in the night time. We met a fellow traveler at the airport and took the room with three beds and shared shower. Not only, that the receptionist was totally unfriendly (only the nightshift actually) but the rooms and bathrooms were dirty and smelly.

This is usuually alright with me, but the worst was to come later that evening. When we went for a beer, two guys tried to pickpock my friend. This was already seen by the securety guard. Later, on the way back, the same guys blocked my way and started an argument. I was allone and recognicing, that someone took my allet, I immidiatly got them on their shirt and started an argument while screaming. Suprised by that, they threw the wallet on the road. I got it and they ran away. Itw as all empty.

I asked the Guest House staff to call the police. First they refused and talked a lot. After a long discussuin they brought me to a narrow side road to a white privte detective. Infront of his house, some phlippinos wrote down my case. That was it. I wasnt satisfied at all as i had a lot of witnesses and some people claimed they knew where they ive. I asked again for the police. 20 minutes later I asked if they called already, but they did not. So I took it in my own hands.
The staff asked me, how much of my money I would like to have back, if they could arrange it to happen!!! and I wouldnt call the police. What a question. ANd th rceptionist, still totally rude and unfriendly.

This Guest House is a nightmar beside being dirty. Do not go there, in cases such as robbery you wont have any support and the staff is after your money.

When we asked for a taxi, the staff of the Guest House asked the driver to give tip to them. The driver was mad about that, also. When I wrote them a day later an email, that I forgot m mobile phone, I received one fast reply that they will check and write me. I never got another answer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Drobstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We checked in...the smell of mouldy wood was terrible...the bathroom mouldy smell was even worse. Kids running & yelling in the hallways. Our room was under a staircase..people tramping up & down the sound was terrible. Within one hour of finding another room on trip advisor we checked out & were gone.
How could you stay a night in that room with the smell & noise.
And they wanted 90 php per hour for wifi access :(
On checkout they offered a different room...why didn't they offer us a good room to start with.

Room Tip: not for familes
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamarTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malate P, General Manager at Malate Pensionne, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
It took us this long to reply because we have been busy renovating our property. When you are back in Manila, drop by and ask for me. I would like to show you the improvements we have made and the Wifi is now free. I too wasn't happy with our WiFi back then. I am confident that you will find Malate Pensionne refreshing this time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

What a cool little place! Beautiful wood panelling and friendly staff make for an excellent budget choice. Water was hot and bathrooms were clean. This is not a frills and bells and whistles kind of place, but for a decent budget stay in Manila it's a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ng7181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed there for one night. Things to know about this place :
1) The staff is extremely unhelpful and moody.
We arrived early morning, and could not check in before noon even though the room was there. They wanted us to pay half price for that early chek-in which we refused of course.
2) This place is extremely noisy. Not only the traffic (you're in the center of Manila), but also the AC system (sounds like a chopper is leaving your room when you put it on).
Getting the "right" room can be a challenge. You have to avoid the all-night karaoke bar that is located towards the right front of the hotel. Make sure you get a room on the left side at the back of the hotel, if you want to get some sleep.
Other than that, our room was ok.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Hotel 2016 Manila
Hotel 2016 Manila
#41 of 111 in Manila
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Malate
Red Planet Ermita, Manila
Red Planet Ermita, Manila
#11 of 111 in Manila
3.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Go Hotels Otis-Manila
#23 of 111 in Manila
3.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel
#10 of 111 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
Ermita
Casa Bocobo Hotel
Casa Bocobo Hotel
#19 of 111 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
Malate
Gran Prix Hotel and Suites Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malate Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malate Pensionne

Property: Malate Pensionne
Address: 1771 M. Adriatico St., Manila, Luzon 1004, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malate Pensionne 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malate Pensionne is located in the heart of Malate, a district of Manila on Adriatico St. (formerly Dakota St under the US Commonwealth & Calle Nuevo under Spain). Our building was built by Americans who leased the land from our grandfather to house American workers. When the lease ended, our mother turned it into Dakota Apts. Returning from her European trips & learning of how Italians welcomed weary travelers to their home like family members, she turned Dakota Apts into Malate Valero Pensionne, now well know as the Malate Pensionne with the slogan, "Your home away from Home". As far as we know, we are the only hotel in the world with a strict policy of only registered guests can walk our hallways. We are about a mile from the US Embassy & Rizal Park. About 2 miles from Intramuros, the old walled city of Manila, a 5 min. walk to Robinson Mall. 15 min. by car to Mall Of Asia & 11.5km to the upscale Makati City & Bonifacio Global City. Mabuhay, Bienvenido, Welcome to your "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Priceline so you can book your Malate Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malate Pensionne Manila
Malate Pensionne Hotel Manila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing