We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honored to taste a lil bit of history”
Review of The Manila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Manila Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

At first 8 thought this hotel would be gloomy and scary since it started way back 1912. I was suprisingly mistaken! It still had a classic and very Filipino atmosphere but it was updated and quite posh. I was inspired to look up its history and happy that somehow I'm in the exact same spot! The food, oh my gawd, is superb at cafe ilang-ilang! "I shall return,"for sure!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Carrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

992 - 998 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

By far the lowest standard five star hotel living in the shadow of its past glory.

Furnishings in room are old, lights are dim, service is bad (no follow ups when you informed them that theres no hot water). Newspapers were delivered some days and not others. They gave me a new blanket on the second day and it was stained! The toiletries are low class (more like motel quality). Coffee and tea are miserable. Laundry bags are crumpled. They did not even replenish the neccesities in the toilet.

All in all, i dont know which part of it is 5-stars. There are much better choices out there in better conditions.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rhine29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Corporate price per room at p6,000 was ok (published rate of p9000). Toilet and bath was grand, with small flat tv screen, phone and tub inside. Our room had great view of the Manila bay with ships passing by.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms, with view of the Manila bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Still the best hotel for me and the family. I have 2 young kids and they enjoy this hotel as much as we do. Clean and spacious rooms, old filipino culture charms, warmth and friendliness of employees from cleaners to managers, kid friendly facilities, great food, fast service, no words are enough to describe our every stay here. I love love love the toiletries and soft clean towels. Location in the heart of manila is awesome as its near museums, historical sites and walking distance to ocean park.Have i told you guys about the welcome fruits and chocolates? And the pool area, best for kids and adults love love manila hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeyni13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

An impressive entrance as you drive in, just as impressive is the number of staff in the entrance but I didn't quite get why so many - quite overwhelming actually & yet not a single staff directed us to reception, I had to ask where it was (tucked away to the side of the massive foyer). My room was big enough but it can do with a revamp on furnishings. It was a bit plain in comparison to the grandeur of the foyer. The buffet was excellent, the staff at the restaurant were the most accommodating. For the rate this hotel charges and the 5 star rating it holds, I expected a bit more.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The facilities and lobby of thr hotel are very good and the hotel but the feel of an outdated Raffles hotel
In some ways it feels very traditional with the large chandeliers and piano playing in the background in the lobby. The receptionists are efficient yet officious as were some of the wait staff. The pool is very clean and has a swimm up bar. The breakfast bar is farly typical of most 5 star establishments with various international selections and the egg station.
The rooms are clean and spacious , the beds are very firm.The view of Manila bay is interuppted with the port and docks area.
The furnishings are very 80's all over the hotel and in definite need of an upgrade
Its central to the Intramusos old city and 10/15 minute cab ride from the Asia mall and 30 mins from the airport

Room Tip: Get a room at the top of the hotel with views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chriswalsh365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Manila Hotel has rich history and traditions. Worth staying in this hotel because this hotel is part of Philippine History. Rooms are clean and tidy. Staff are courteous and accommodating. I just hope they can make the rates affordable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank docRonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Hotel H2O
#12 of 110 in Manila
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#2 of 110 in Manila
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manila Hotel

Address: One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Walled City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: $95 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manila Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila Hotel embodies a rich tradition of elegant living, fine dining, and gracious service that goes back over 97 years. Here the city celebrated its most important events. Here the world’s personages held court and left their mark. At once, ageless and historic, Manila Hotel has always been everything a hotel should be: comfortable and gracious ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing