We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manila Hotel :)”
Review of The Manila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Manila Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our experience in this hotel was very nice. The staffs and crew are very friendly and they gave us a great service for our christmas vacation. The room was very cozy. The food tastes good and the reason why we go to that hotel because it is very known in Manila.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jhanyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,481)
There are newer reviews for The Manila Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 978 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've been to the Manila Hotel a couple of times. I love this place! first exclusive hotel ive ever been to. Comment, not all rooms have the same view. and unfortunately i always end up with a not so "viewable-view". to think it is the oldest hotel in manila it still provides that luxury dinning and lounging experience that most tourist are looking for. Thumbs up! Love the staff. Very considerate and helpful. Always puts up a smile!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claudinese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Well, what can I add that has not already been posted here by others. If you are planning a visit to Manila then you must stay here!!

We were a group of 16 travellers on a tour... We were not business travellers or tourists on a simple overnight. We had 3 nights here... and could have stayed longer. Simply put, this is the type of hotel where you just want to stay inside for the day and skip your touring or sightseeing.

From the location to the atmosphere... it is all perfect. Here you have history and ambiance. If you price out the other high-end hotels you will find that this place is a great deal. Walking distance to Intramuros, where you have some great places to eat and lots to see. Close to the waterfront.

Breakfast! In all of my 20 years of travelling I would rate this as one of the top 10 breakfasts ever. This meal alone is worth $30 - $40!

- The lobby bar is great, with reasonable prices.
- From the airport you can be here in less than 30 minutes if traffic is decent
- You are right next to Rizal Park!
- The rooms offer every single amenity that you could ever want... from stationary supplies and postcards to a tv over the bathtub!

Try for a top floor room for some great views. Unfortunately, we never had the chance to eat dinner in... what a shame.

Enjoy a first class stay.

Room Tip: Allow at least an hour for breakfast... to take in as much as possible. Also, try for a top floor ro...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2006TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I have been to Manila Hotel thrice...and each of my week-long stay there was relaxed and comfortable. I love its rustic design fusioned with modern facilities. I love its huge lobby, it's gentle and helpful staff as well as the the comfy beds!It was built since 1912 but notwithstanding its age, it is well-maintained and well-managed. It's walking distance to Rizal Park and Manila Ocean Park. It is a nice hotel to stay in Manila if you want to experience genuine Filipino hotel hospitality. It's quite expensive though if you're on a budget travel as there are a lot of cheaper hotels within the area. Well, all of my superb stay there was paid by my company. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julietteBacolod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I've been to this hotel a few times in the last year and have enjoyed every stay. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the decor in the lobby is classy and attractive. During the Christmas period, the entire hotel is decorated with giant nut cracker dolls and trees, it's very beautiful.

The rooms are spacious and cosy (fresh fruit brought in every day) and for an old hotel they have managed to keep up with technology. Everything is available by a push of a button and they even have iPod docks speakers.

If you want a massage call down to the concierge and ask for a masseuse outside of the hotel. They will come directly to your room and will cost about 700 pesos.

The hotel is not far from the big malls and has a large variety of restaurants near by (especially Korean BBQ).

Love this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha-and-Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I step into the hotel until the time I checked out, this hotel faultless.
Greeted by the staff with a smile wherever you walk. Beautiful room, huge tv, the bathroom equipped with seperate shower and bath tub. The gymnasium facing the pool area. Tried the room service, lingunie with crab meat, couldn't get enough and had the same menu again on the next day.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meow_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Manila Hotel has the best location if you want to experience Manila at it's finest. It's walking distance to some historical and touristic places in Manila and just one taxi ride to Mall of Asia and Dampa (fresh seafood market and restaurants). The first time i've been to Manila Hotel was when i was about six years old so i was expecting it to be spooky or something old. But much to my surprise, it was pretty nice and updated - even the bathroom has television so you can relax dipping in the hot tub while catching the latest news at the same time. The hotel staff were very friendly and nice. The security is also good. They will do a security check upon entry and in every floor there is a security personnel. The food in the hotel (room service) is also nice but a bit expensive. However, they allow delivery from the restaurants outside the hotel. They also allow the masseur/masseuse inside the room so you can just doze off after having a really good massage.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1StreetSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Hotel H2O
#11 of 109 in Manila
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manila Hotel

Address: One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Walled City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: $94 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manila Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila Hotel embodies a rich tradition of elegant living, fine dining, and gracious service that goes back over 97 years. Here the city celebrated its most important events. Here the world’s personages held court and left their mark. At once, ageless and historic, Manila Hotel has always been everything a hotel should be: comfortable and gracious ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Manila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing