We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm and class...”
Review of The Manila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Manila Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Old world charm and class...”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Manila Hotel at the end of our 18 day trip in the Philippines. This is a hotel filled with old world charm, class and memories of a gone by era. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and luxurious and offer every imaginable and expected ammenity in a 5* hotel. The buffet breakfast is excellent, abundant and unforgettable. Every item that you may wish for, is available!!
The swimming pool is inviting and beautiful as well as all the lounging areas around it!! It is a hotel to be experienced! Recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlbufElmhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    513
    160
    57
    27
See reviews for
344
415
141
307
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Ive always admire Manila Hotel's architecture, precisely the white vaulted gothic ceiling and wood carved accents. Im so glad that they have removed "MANILA HOTEL" on the roof and main entrance (exterior), and I certainly hope that they don't put them back on.

What Manila Hotel really has to improve on is the interior design.  The marble flooring has to be replaced, some furnitures are worn, the carpet on the hallway look so old, the chandeliers in the lobby are way too big,and the list goes on.

Check in wasn't a breeze(15 minute queue to get to our turn), but tolerable.  Check out was faster.  We got a renovated room on the 9th floor.  They have refurbished room, and I don't know which one is better.  The beds are comfortable, and there's a tv beside the bath tub, which my son loves.

The pool is child friendly and spacious.  I appreciate the health club, where they have high quality gym equipments from Life Fitness, a jacuzzi, a sauna and a steam room.  

Dinner buffet was okay, just what you would also get from Shangri-La Hotels, and other 5 star hotels in Manila.  The server who took our bill was kinda rude, and I hope they improve on that.

Overall, Manila Hotel was able to make our stay a comfortable and relaxing one. 

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophiegrayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was my first time staying at the Manila Hotel since they renovated the hotel 4 years ago. What a beautiful difference. This is the last of the great legendary hotels in SouthEast Asia. It is absolutely stunning just to walk around and look at this gem. We stayed for 2 nights in a tower room facing Manila Bay. The Front Desk was friendly and professional as usual. Check-in was fast and easy. I paid just over $100 a night on agoda.com and it included a beautiful buffet breakfast! The rooms have been completely renovated including a beautiful new bathroom. The swimming pool has also been completely renovated and is now of 5-star standards competing with the Manila Sofitel's grand swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Currently here for a few more days. This hotel is very nice. Clean, grand and the staff are great.

I stayed on the 13th floor faxing the golf course (or some park with a pond). Very quiet and everything about the room is great.

The breakfast buffet was included in my price. It is average. They have all types of food for all folks including fresh made omlettes and over-easy eggs to kimchee and congee. One tip is to get your coffee yourself. It's a bit of a wait if they get it for you. There are juice and coffee stands around. Go find them.

I normally like to walk around at night but nothing is really close and my local friends say that in the Philippines, you shouldn't walk at night anyways and to taxi it.

Overall, I would comeback but would like to try something closer to where there is some nightlife or shopping within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scrappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I decided to stay in the Manila Hotel aiming at getting relaxed after some tiring days in the Cordillera area.

To my surprise, on arrival, I immediately realised that my stay would not be that enjoyable.

Actually I am writting this review whilst still at the hotel, since the fact that the reservation options required full pre-payment, gave me no possibility to run away.

Checking-in took almost 30 min (I arrived by 15.00 pm) Most of the reservation options were related to Easter packages, so no possibiity to simply book for a room but the whole package.

It is far from being an exclusive hotel but the contrary. It looks like an amusemet park. So the price paid is definitely not worthwhile if you are expecting to have a quite stay in Manila.

Crowded and noisy everywhere.From the lobby to the swimming pool.

Do not bother too much about the dressing code. Flip-flops, shorts and t-shirts are predominant.

Special mention:The dinner. Buffet (55 EUR/person aprox). Despite of the fact that the variety suits any taste, obviously it is overpriced, considering that you will be sorrounded by people hunting for their food like if they would not have eaten in years. It looks like a fast food restaurant instead of a 5-star hotel restaurant. Also annoying that because I was alone, they thought that i can be given the worst located table in the dinning room. (An advice: For dinner it is much worth the terrace of the Bayleaf hotel, located in Intramuros, nice view, three times cheaper and in a very enjoyable environment)

Rooms are equipped with all the necessary. For those who might be allergic, the carpeted floor might not help, but overall, the facilities correspond to the category of the hotel.

Overall this is a good example that not because you stay in a 5-star hotel you ensure that you will have a nice stay. Hotels should be more than a name, its history and arvertising personalities who have stayed in it. Price should include service, tranquility and comfort.

Lesson learned. Douglas MacArthur would say: The glory past will never come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaime G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanatuan City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Manila Hotel is a Philippine landmark that is full of history. The hotel provides the best services and amenities for a really great experience. The rooms, designed with a Filipino theme are equipped with modern facilities and the toiletries, wow, Acca Kappa. The food selection is wide with local and international cuisine. One need not to worry about safety as the hotel strictly observes security procedures using modern equipments. And the best thing for tourists, the hotel's proximity to other top Philippine attractions like the Rizal Park, Intramuros, Manila Ocean Park, SM Mall of Asia, etc.

Room Tip: Choose a room that provides a breathtaking view of the bay and the fabled Manila sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weng845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Cannet, France
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Manila Hotel is one of this famous and historical hotel like the Carlton in Cannes, The Peninsula in Bangkok, the Waldorf in NYC or the Rafles in Singapour. A huge wooden lobby so beautiful. We had a Nice room, large desk, two step down a little living room opening on a terrace. A choice of restaurant. We choose the buffet that offer a wonderful variety of anything : prawn, oyster, fishes, meats, even raclette. There was a long time ago I didn't see such a buffet.
Manila Hotel is the place you have to go one time when you are in Manila.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Hotel H2O
#11 of 109 in Manila
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#2 of 109 in Manila
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manila Hotel

Property: The Manila Hotel
Address: One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Walled City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manila Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila Hotel embodies a rich tradition of elegant living, fine dining, and gracious service that goes back over 97 years. Here the city celebrated its most important events. Here the world’s personages held court and left their mark. At once, ageless and historic, Manila Hotel has always been everything a hotel should be: comfortable and gracious ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Manila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing