We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the last real grand hotels”
Review of The Manila Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Manila Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is not a modern cold concrete hotel but one of the few GRAND HOTELS that relly know how to cater to guests. Just stepping into the entrance sets the stage for the hotels level. We stayed here during the Christmas season and it was great to see the great entrance decked out in Christmas decorations. There is a great breakfast buffet that caters to both Western and Eastern needs alike. The room had full ammenties that all great landmark hotels have. I would recomend this hotel to all, as there are getting fewer with this level of grandure left. If there is a negative it is that cab drivers don't want to turn on there meters when you state Manila Hotel and overcharge you to get there. Simply ask first and find a cab driver that will use their meter.

Room Tip: Make sure you pay the little extra and get the sea view the sun is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roddybuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

The grande dame hotel of the Philippines. Stunning lobby - from an era when hotels still had big, beautiful lobbies for grand entrances. Feels very authentic; love the use of deep, rich, dark topical wood throughout the hotel. Amazing that people such as General Douglas MacArthur, Ernest Hemingway, The Beatles, President John F. Kennedy and other big wigs have been guests here. Walking distance to Rizal Park and located directly across from the beautiful and historic Itramurous (the old walled city of the Spanish period.)

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank PeanutButters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Manila Hotel is very iconic. When you walk through its doors to its majestic lobby, you'll feel a distinct Filipino ambiance - friendly, warm and full of character. Although it is a historic hotel, its rooms have modern amenities. The restaurants offer great food. I specially like the Champagne Room, which is both classic and classy.

Room Tip: If you love nature, you can choose the sunset side where your room is overlooking Manila Bay. But if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank writeonthespot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have reviewed this hotel twice before so I will not engage in repetition except to say that I love staying here despite the slightly out of the way location (mind you, it is only a P70 five to eight minute taxi trip to the great Robinsons Place Ermita shopping centre, the best in Manila).

On my latest visit a friend called twice. On the first occasion it apparently took five staff to locate me; on the second, three. Apparently they had difficulty correctly repeating the spelling of my name despite my friend repeating it slowly (and more than once).

This is not good enough for a supposedly international standard hotel. There is no indication that Manila Hotel management reads these TA reviews but it needs to employ staff who can understand English native speakers from the UK, Australia, Canada and the USA with their varying accents.

When I was there, the hotel was very busy with Korean guests, Filipino partygoers and airline crews. It's great to see the hotel well used.

Room Tip: Ask for a Manila Bay facing, non smoking higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed in Manila hotel for 4 days. It is quite pleasant, the room design is somewhat traditional which did not appeal to me, but many people liked it.

Facilities are good, room service was good and fast.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seif E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I would still say that Manila Hotel is still the pride of Manila, though it is only rated as 4 star. Me and my family stayed here for a day just for the experience,the first time we stayed here is when my sister got married that was 2007 , nothing much have changed but for me that is good since it has been like 5 years laready and they were able to mainitain the rooms and their services.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank princessrosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you want the feel of The Philippines culture and history, this is it. There is so much history here...from the WWI era to WWII to now....many famous people stayed here. There is an archives room in the hotel.....you can go there to see pictures of this history. I wish the room was bigger and better organized.
The atmosphere is fabulous. The staff is friendly. The breakfast and lunch are very expensive, however.
The room was very comfortable...with a nice view.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Manila.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Hotel H2O
#12 of 110 in Manila
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#2 of 110 in Manila
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manila Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manila Hotel

Address: One Rizal Park, Manila, Luzon 0913, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila > Walled City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Manila
Price Range: $95 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manila Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manila Hotel embodies a rich tradition of elegant living, fine dining, and gracious service that goes back over 97 years. Here the city celebrated its most important events. Here the world’s personages held court and left their mark. At once, ageless and historic, Manila Hotel has always been everything a hotel should be: comfortable and gracious ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manila Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing