We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Manila Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$108
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$61
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$95
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Garden Suites(Manila)(Great Value!)
$59
$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel(Manila)(Great Value!)
$38
$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel H2O(Manila)
$79
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimberly Hotel(Manila)(Great Value!)
$77
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,639)
Filter reviews
1,639 results
Traveler rating
784
572
182
64
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
784
572
182
64
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe ilang ilangchampagne roomylang ylanggrand dameswim up barhistorical hoteldouglas macarthurgeneral macarthuroldest hotelrizal parkclassic hotelbreakfast buffetgrand lobbyfive star hotelhotel lobbychinese restaurantbay view
Filter
Updating list...
1,242 - 1,247 of 1,639 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We really enjoy our stay in your hotel. Good service and good food.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Stayed here one night while waiting for a delayed flight to the US. This is one of the heritage hotels in Asia, along with Raffles in Singapore, E&O in Penang and the Oriental in Bangkok. It keeps up a brave face, and the lobby still exudes colonial grandeur, but the rest of the hotel is slowly fading away. I guess it's because of the management, who insists that there should be "Manila Hotel" written in huge, ugly painted letters on the roof of the newer tower - lest people forget that it is a hotel. The rooms are typical international standard, with some Filipino touches like capiz shell windows. I love the breakfast and lunch buffets - the selections were huge!

It's nice to lounge about in the lobby,staring at the gigantic gilded chandeliers and the wood panels everywhere. The string and piano players add to the atmosphere. I just hope that the management realizes that this place is heritage, and not just a hotel. They shouldn't spoil it with tacky signs or garish tents. They should also try to clean up the Manila Bay water outside, just near the swimming pool. You get an unpleasant whiff that would spoil an otherwise lovely post-prandial walk.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing Rizal Park. If you get rooms on the other side, you get a view of the pier, which can be ugly and noisy - a lot of trucks pass by in this area.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheShrike_inManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Beautiful property with it's old world charm and unparalleled setting. Unfortunately it's living of it's providence. While parts of the hotel are quite outstanding ,the main lobby and outlets while a bit tired are kept quite well, they've constructed what I can only describe as warehouses that function as ball rooms . The service is still very good with pride in their work. At this point I would not consider this as a true 5 star hotel comparable with the best in the Makati or Ortigas area specially for those who travel a lot and have stayed in other great provident hotels or super luxury hotel gropus but if you are looking for more than the usual luxury chain surroundings and pampering, this may be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Get one facing the bay and of course the suites are the best kept and historic!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterAngliongto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Manila hotel is like a land mark on Manila. It is 100 years old. Refurbished with all the up to date amenities like LCD TV's multiple channels to choose from. Very courteous staff. Free wifi. Complementary drop off to near by Malls. Golf course road cross away. Hotel located next to the Bay.. Rooms/ bathroom are spacious.

Room Tip: Select a room away from lift. On higher floor for good view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shehzad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

After our honeymoon in HK we stayed here for 2 nights for r&r just before we return to our busy lives at the office. The hotel itself doesn't seem pleasant from the outside as it look aged already. But when we went inside we were awed by the interiors of the hotel lobby. The lobby is huge and there are musical performers playing instruments. There's a bit of feeling that we were in the old manila times as the hotel staff were also in traditional Filipino costumes (barong tagalog for men and baro't saya for women). The hallways and rooms are covered in thick and soft carpets. We had our room on the 12th floor and we had the city view which we also liked though we prefer the bay view more for us to get a glimpse of the sunset. Good thing there is a window in the hallway fronting the manila bay so we were still able to get a view of the sunset. The room is big and cozy and designed with an antique looking furnitures. King sized bed is very comfortable with a lot of pillows. Bathroom is clean and had a separate shower and bath tub which is a big plus for us but didn't have hair dryer. Nevertheless their toiletries is of Acca Kappa, not a local brand. The pool is clean, has mini bar and lots of poolside lounge chair. Service was great. Hotel staff were so polite and always wore a smile when we passed through them. Breakfast buffet is good. We had plenty of different selections from meat, bread, cereals and desserts. Dinner buffet is where I celebrated the most. They offered seafoods that night and I gorged on almost all the selections. I even had indigestion that night as I was so full I couldn't stack up anymore food. Overall, Manila hotel is highly recommended for us and we'll go back here someday.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms is much adviseable if you want a good view of either the city or the bay. Even though we got the city view (right side of the hotel) we were still able to get a view of the bay as there was a window in the hallway that is fronting the bay. Great to see the sunset.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmendoza0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews