We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Paranaque
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weekend Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2009

After a hectic week of office work, I opted for a brief weekend retreat. I have been hearing a lot of good comment about Sofitel Philippine Plaza, so I chose to stay here.

Sofitel Exceeded my expectations. The staff was remarkably accommodating and refreshingly friendly.

My experience to dine in Spiral was a great experience. The choices of food are very good and the presentation is superb. I was seated alone near the window and the waitress assisting me was very corteous.

My stay at the Club Sofitel was amazing. The ladies at the lounge were all beautiful. They are always smiling and ready to assist. I felt like a king during my stay here. What a weekend.

There are several interesting options for relaxation from restfull art deco rooms, the cozy lounge and quite retreat havens located in and around this luxurious hotel.

My silent moment at the library, the constant breeze in a secluded spot near the poolside and the endusring lullaby music at the lobby makes Sofitel a unique weekend rendezvous.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yanics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,352
    1,360
    533
    204
    145
See reviews for
1,556
1,133
305
940
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (790)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

Good location, On the outskirts of Manila. Close to airport and the mall of asia. The food was great, The Spiral buffet was awesome, best breakfast in the city, but pricey. Great view from the rooms, beautiful sunset. Every monday to thursday they set up lawn chairs to view the sunset. The rooms were nice and clean. Staff were nice (most of them). Overall great, Can't really compare to any other great hotels since it was my first time travelling abroad, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adimars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

Held our engagement at this hotel on a Sunday
Stayed overnight.. booked 3 rooms...
-coordination with Spirals staff for the engagement venue was disappointing, we did all the follow up... they seemed to be lost with their workload
-foreign lady at check-in counter was not that friendly (could barely even smile)
-staff / concierge staff / valet parkers at front lobby not attentive at all to customers (too busy fooling around)
-surprising that they have foreign staff who seemed not to enjoy their work too much
-call this a 5 star hotel? the gasboy at the local caltex gas station can do better in terms of service and courtesy
-could it be that most of our more competent local hotel staff have gone abroad???

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dimzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mnl
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

Sofitel Philippine Plaza is Manila's best hotel. The rooms are superb, the staff are lovely, the restaurant (SPIRAL) has the best buffet selection in town, the pool is beyond wonderful, the lobby is plush, the executive club is wonderful. What more could you ask for??

The only downside is the location. It's situated in Pasay, Manila - which is way too far from the Philippines' hottest city which is Makati. Stay here if you want to discover Manila's old hidden gems. Not the perfect place to stay if you intend to go clubbing, shopping, or what have you.

Over-all, the hotel is LOVELY. I had a great time and would definitely come back if I'm provided with an affordable yet comfortable mode of transportation.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waxydoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

I stayed here with my baby daughter (9 months old) and my partner. They were so thoughtful! The bed had roses on them and there was a crib with toys suitable for her age.
Room service was excellent. The portions were generous for the price! Even the food in their restaurant was the same.
The staff were so friendly and my daughter who is suspicious of strangers kept smiling and waving at them.
I had the best weekend ever!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennanigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

I was scrolling down the reviews and, without having to stay in this hotel, I have a comment I wish to make that echoed a previous post.

3 weeks ago I tried to arrange for an appointment via telephone, calling long distance, to the Banquet and Events department. The operator was, in fairness, very pleasant, but when patched through, the phone kept ringing. I tried calling again, and, after being patched through, no answer again.

As a leading brand in the 5-star hotel industry, this was unacceptable on just the account that the phone was not picked up! (No, I didn't call at midnight, and it wasn't 9.30pm on a Wednesday! It was on a Thursday afternoon, 4.15pm! I am sure that business hours haven't changed that drastically!)

I work in the luxury travel industry in China. As a rule, always pick up a ringing phone!

The purpose of my call was to initially view their property to hold a 200+ person event. However, if you cannot answer the phone, I cannot trust this property with any event.

A huge disappointment - makes me think that the brand is overstreched in their quest to expand in Asia. (I have had a terrible experience with another propertie of this brand in Nanjing, China in Q4 2008)

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
3 Thank HardBedVeteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

First off, why is this hotel so expensive!?! This is definitely not a case of "you get what you pay for" The deluxe room was $280, so I decided to splurge and go for a 1 bedroom suite, $400 / night. Breakfast included. That's about x2 of most other similar level Manila hotels.

I like Sofitel reputation, lets give it a try...

Hotel location is out of the way but I knew that, very quiet which is good. Check in / out was all ok.

Room 815 was recently renovated but already had that very worn out feeling, overspray paint, cheap carpet, lots of hard corners on over-designed “modern” furniture. Bathroon followed the same boring minimal design.

LOUSY shower !!!! Low pressure and a shower stall that didn’t drain!!!!! Nothing worse than standing in dirty water under a dripping shower head. I guess I could have changed rooms but who wants to do that first thing in the morning?

Breakfast buffet was good, lots of choices and nice staff. Comfy couch / chair tables.

Hotel bar / resto with slot machines should be closed. A very uncomfortable layout and smells like the bottom of a dirty ashtray. A cheeseburger, 3 beers for $35 USD!?! Way overpriced for Manila but there is no other place to go. Staff was good and let me change the tv channels.

We planned on staying 2 nights but checked out after 1 night and went to the Ascott Makati and paid $200 for a beautiful 2 bedroom with kitchen/living room!!! Lights years ahead and better than the Sofitel.

  • Liked — not much
  • Disliked — too much
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d16rr702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manila hotels
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel H2O
#10 of 109 in Manila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
The Bayleaf
#4 of 109 in Manila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Property: Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Address: CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Manila
#3 Business Hotel in Manila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 609
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila is an iconic 5-star luxury resort nestled in an expansive tropical setting. Renowned for its magnificent contrast of captivating sunsets and the sparkling waters of Manila Bay, the hotel attracts international and local travelers alike with its signature Filipino brand of hospitality and the French joie de vivre reflected in its service rituals; from entertainment, food and wine offerings. Nestled adjacent to the historic Cultural Center of the Philippines, Sofitel Philippine Plaza boasts of a location within the city beat and the refreshing tranquillity of the bay. It stands 15 minutes away from the international and domestic airports and approximately 30 minutes away from Makati City, the central business and commercial district of thriving shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Spiral is the hotel's most interactive restaurant in the Asia Pacific Region, featuring 21 ateliers of the world's best cuisine in one magnificent destination. Other than Spiral, Sofitel Philippine Plaza also has other restaurants and bars including Le Bar, a bistro, patisserie and library in one destination, La Veranda, a Parisian-style bar with an indoor lounge that stretches to an outdoor terrace, Snaps Sports Bar, a sleek and modern bar for sports enthusiasts, and the Sunset Bar, the idyllic blend of a picturesque outdoor dining venue. The first of its kind in Asia, the Vietura Aesthetic Lifestyle features anti-aging, detox and weight management along with a comprehensive services menu of holistic, personalized beauty and wellness programs. It combines non-invasive aesthetic procedures, integrative medicine and lifestyle coaching tailored to fit the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing