We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Nearby Hotels
$108
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$61
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Garden Suites(Manila)(Great Value!)
$59
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oasis Paco Park Hotel(Manila)(Great Value!)
$38
$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Casa Bocobo Hotel(Manila)(Great Value!)
$28
$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel H2O(Manila)
$76
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,238)
Filter reviews
5,238 results
Traveler rating
2,731
1,515
589
235
168
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,731
1,515
589
235
168
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspiral restaurantle barclub millesimeluxury roomsunset barsports barpool areaclub roomthe executive loungefree shuttledinner buffetbay viewfive star hotelupon checkaccormagnifiquesnaps
Filter
Updating list...
2,984 - 2,989 of 5,238 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I am a filipino working in singapore. My british partner and I wanted to spend some time with my family before we go on a long trip all over europe. for the last 5 years, my family and I have not had a family picture complete. We (14 of us) all had dinner at the sunset bar and took pictures by the pool. service is excellent. Especially Aly, who helped my family through choosing what they want to eat. she is very good in recommending sauces for grilled meat. I would also like to praise sofitel philippine plaza's magnifique landscape architecture that really made it picture-perfect. I am really happy that at least even if I'm away from my family, we can always go back to that sofitel-magnifique memory. In the morning, for breakfast in spiral, I would like to mention the world class food choice and service. Franz from the japanese section is very approachable. Alvin is very helpful and brought us everything we need. He has very welcoming and pleasing personality and we feel very comfortable. He made sure that we always have magnifique breakfast every morning since we arrived. during the day, at the pool area, we all had fun enjoying the sun, water and of course the refreshments. It has been a wonderful experience with the help of Ivy, Dan and Clara. I understand that some are still practicumers, but they really have been working hard to give excellent service. Ivy made us really feel welcome, while dan and clara apart from making sure we have what we need and we get what we want, are also entertaining us. It has been an excellent stay so far and i don't wanna leave anymore. thank you, sofitel for making my 4-day home vacation magnifique. bonjour, mabuhay!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RafaelJTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Reading through your review and learning about your magnifique experience was such a delight. We thank you for taking the time in sharing this wonderful review with us and for making us your accommodation preference on your recent vacation to the Philippines.

Being a part of our guests’ memorable experience is always a pleasure to have. We take pride in providing quality service and products to ensure utmost comfort and satisfaction. We also make sure that every effort is given in creating wonderful memories and experiences for our guests. Your kind words and recognition for the excellent service rendered by Aly, Franz, Alvin, Ivy, Dan and Clara gives us the motivation to continue with our pursuit for perfection. It warms our hearts to know that we were able to be a part of that wonderful memory you will forever cherish.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back.


Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is a good combination between French and Philippines hospitality. The rooms are state of the art with a great view in the bay of Manila. But the fantastic buffet with dishes from all over the globe. Simply the best in town!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
1  Thank Thom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Blending French elegance with Filipino hospitality is the essence of creating a magnifique experience for our guests. We are thrilled to receive your compliments knowing that we are able to share it with you. Thank you for your recognition for our guestrooms, the great view of the Manila Bay, and of course, our famous restaurant, Spiral.

Sofitel Manila and the rest of the team look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here early March, tail-end of a two week visit. Last year stayed at the Peninsula in Makati, would give the nod to the Sofitel, same great service - with the Manila Bay as backdrop for everything.

Grounds/Facilities/Rooms: Used pool (excellent) and gym (good to V. good) - Pool is lagoon-shaped, but has spots long enough to do some laps. Part has slides & other kid-friendly features, but all in all big enough that I never had any problem finding space. Gym is nice, but smaller than in some of the newer top-star properties. Rooms were great, no complaints. Had free Wi-Fi as Accor member. Also grounds have a small play area (with mini-soccer field) for kids to burn energy (nice to have alternative to the pool).

Service was exceptional, from greeting to loading up taxis for trip to airport. Had breakfast poolside one day (really only stay at the Sofitel do get some great croissants) & also a snack in the lobby bar another time.

Dinner buffet in the restaurant (Spiral I think it was called) was pricy but A+ and a nice splurge. Being a Wisconsin boy, especially liked the cheese room! Multiple cuisine stations/seafood/sushi/meats & awesome desserts.

Mall of Asia is nearby so plenty of retail options. The "real" Manila only a quick cab ride away, but nice to comeback to this oasis after seeing the sites & exploring the city.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wiscomilker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Being the only luxury resort-hotel in Manila, we aim to create a relaxing experience through providing recreational facilities and activities. We are glad that you enjoyed our lagoon-shaped pool, SoFit, the soccer field, and also the Kid’s Tent. Catering to the needs of our guests, including the children is important to us. Thus, we try to ensure that every effort is exerted in providing excellent service to our guests. We thank you for your compliments for the team and we will continue on providing the service that our guests appreciate.

With different Food and Beverage outlets offering variety of international cuisines, one is sure to have an excellent gastronomic experience when dining at Sofitel Manila. We are glad that you were able to dine in our outlets and enjoyed the experience. Spiral’s cheese room is one of the most sought after atelier, and we are glad that you are able to savor it.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Sofitel is a resort hotel with its own grand pool, walking and jogging tracks, bay view gardens, and everything else you need if you want to get away from the city. So it is very understandable that quite many Manila citizens (that can afford it) spend their weekends or "staycations" here to get away from the hectic and the traffic. However if you want to get "into" Manila, e.g. as a tourist, this is not what you may be looking for.

The Sofitel is far away from everything, and you basically need a taxi whereever you go. That is not made easier by the fact that they don't have taxis at hand waiting and you may have to wait for 10 or more minutes before they got hold of one (and tried to sell you their expensive limo services in the meantime).

As in every Sofitel, the highlights are the beds which are just fabulous. Also the rooms are very spacious.

A grand buffet restaurant, terribly depressing sports bar and decent jazz lobby bar with however somewhat mediocre artists plus the pool bar are your options to eat and drink as there's nothing nearby. The bayview lounge pillows near the pool bar are superb for your sundowner.

Long story short: You want to get away from Manila - yes you can stay here. You want to see Manila - wrong choice.

It's a resort hotel, lacking some "soul", everything is a bit superficial.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsh_1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Sofitel Manila is famous for being the only luxury resort-hotel in Manila. Comfort and relaxation is what we aim to provide to our guests and exerting every effort to achieve those is necessary.

We are glad to know that the experience on our Sofitel MyBed was the highlight of your stay. It was designed to ensure a very relaxing sleep that makes you never want to leave bed. We are glad that you enjoyed lounging at the Treasure Island. The comments you have enables us to make room for enhancements on the services we provide and we’d like to thank you for giving your insights.

We hope that we will have another opportunity to be of better service to you in the near future.


Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We checked-in at Sofitel last March 21 2014 and Iam quite impressed at the same time disappointed about this hotel. But before I go into details with the hotel, let me start with the hotel's location. It is situated in Manila's beautiful bay and it is more beautiful when the sun sets as it casts its colorful rays over the bay's horizon and you can see it perfectly from the hotel. However, it is entirely isolated from malls, restaurants, nightlife etc.. Though it is nice that the hotel offers a FREE SHUTTLE bus from the hotel to Philippine's largest mall -- The Mall of Asia. Then from the hotel its about 10-15 minute taxi drive to the nearest food strip along Macapagal Avenue.

Now for the hotel. The lobby is very nice but often time busy (or just maybe it was a busy week as I learned that there was some convention going on). But the staffs are very nice and polite. They attend to your needs at their earliest possible convenience. Room 329 was assigned to us and we had a spectacular view of the bay and its neighboring famous landmarks. As we entered the room, we were greeted by some kind of moldy scent from the room which apparently came from an old carpet. Indeed it was, the carpet was kinda old and looking at some of the furnitures and fixtures in the bathroom, they have shown signs of aging. However, I cant complain about the bed. It was very nice, soft and comfortable!

I have also learned that before this hotel became Sofitel Philippine Plaza Hotel, it was previously named the Westin Philippine Plaza -- which gave me the idea that probably the hotel didnt get much attention in renovating the rooms upon its acquisition from Westin Philippine Plaza.

Bathroom and amenities were nice, offering basic amenities such as shaving kit, dental kit, soap, lotion, shampoo and conditioners are from Lanvin collection. Bathrobes, slippers, hair dryers, flat iron and iron boards, Safety box, hangers were also provided.

The hotel's pool area is very nice and complements the very nice view of the bay.
And best of all the hotel boasts of its BEST BUFFET EVER!! The spiral -- wherein you have the widest array of food to choose from. Undeniably one of the city's best buffet place! I know that you will surely enjoy it as they have cheese section, ham / cured meat section, Japanese, Indian, Chinese, Filipino, assorted bread and pastries, fresh fruits and drinks, waffle, pancake, desserts, chocolates, etc.... I really enjoyed taking time in savoring each food that it took us nearly 2-hours seated at the restaurant!!

In the future, I may not opt in staying at the Sofitel but will surely go back to dine at the SPIRAL restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Sofitel Manila is strategically situated where you can witness the best views of the majestic Manila Bay sunset and being in close proximity to the Mall of Asia, making its location being one of the top features of the hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed this along with our famous lagoon-shaped pool.

It is such a joy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience in Spiral. The Food & Beverage and Culinary team will certainly be delighted to receive your praises. We are thankful as well for your recognition of the attentive and helpful service of our ambassadors and will leave smiles on their faces.

We value the recommendations that you have as it allows us to maintain and improve the services we provide to meet the needs of our distinguished guests. Rest assured that the department and management is looking into your comments and will take appropriate measures to ensure utmost guest satisfaction.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back and be of service to you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews