We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living up to the Sofitel's standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We checked-in at Sofitel last March 21 2014 and Iam quite impressed at the same time disappointed about this hotel. But before I go into details with the hotel, let me start with the hotel's location. It is situated in Manila's beautiful bay and it is more beautiful when the sun sets as it casts its colorful rays over the bay's horizon and you can see it perfectly from the hotel. However, it is entirely isolated from malls, restaurants, nightlife etc.. Though it is nice that the hotel offers a FREE SHUTTLE bus from the hotel to Philippine's largest mall -- The Mall of Asia. Then from the hotel its about 10-15 minute taxi drive to the nearest food strip along Macapagal Avenue.

Now for the hotel. The lobby is very nice but often time busy (or just maybe it was a busy week as I learned that there was some convention going on). But the staffs are very nice and polite. They attend to your needs at their earliest possible convenience. Room 329 was assigned to us and we had a spectacular view of the bay and its neighboring famous landmarks. As we entered the room, we were greeted by some kind of moldy scent from the room which apparently came from an old carpet. Indeed it was, the carpet was kinda old and looking at some of the furnitures and fixtures in the bathroom, they have shown signs of aging. However, I cant complain about the bed. It was very nice, soft and comfortable!

I have also learned that before this hotel became Sofitel Philippine Plaza Hotel, it was previously named the Westin Philippine Plaza -- which gave me the idea that probably the hotel didnt get much attention in renovating the rooms upon its acquisition from Westin Philippine Plaza.

Bathroom and amenities were nice, offering basic amenities such as shaving kit, dental kit, soap, lotion, shampoo and conditioners are from Lanvin collection. Bathrobes, slippers, hair dryers, flat iron and iron boards, Safety box, hangers were also provided.

The hotel's pool area is very nice and complements the very nice view of the bay.
And best of all the hotel boasts of its BEST BUFFET EVER!! The spiral -- wherein you have the widest array of food to choose from. Undeniably one of the city's best buffet place! I know that you will surely enjoy it as they have cheese section, ham / cured meat section, Japanese, Indian, Chinese, Filipino, assorted bread and pastries, fresh fruits and drinks, waffle, pancake, desserts, chocolates, etc.... I really enjoyed taking time in savoring each food that it took us nearly 2-hours seated at the restaurant!!

In the future, I may not opt in staying at the Sofitel but will surely go back to dine at the SPIRAL restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Sofitel Manila is strategically situated where you can witness the best views of the majestic Manila Bay sunset and being in close proximity to the Mall of Asia, making its location being one of the top features of the hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed this along with our famous lagoon-shaped pool.

It is such a joy to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your dining experience in Spiral. The Food & Beverage and Culinary team will certainly be delighted to receive your praises. We are thankful as well for your recognition of the attentive and helpful service of our ambassadors and will leave smiles on their faces.

We value the recommendations that you have as it allows us to maintain and improve the services we provide to meet the needs of our distinguished guests. Rest assured that the department and management is looking into your comments and will take appropriate measures to ensure utmost guest satisfaction.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back and be of service to you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,700 - 2,706 of 4,916 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Overall this hotel was nice and the staff was awesome. The few issues I had were taken care of promptly. The pool, spa and restaurants were amazing, the concierge and doormen were great, along with the staff at the front desk. The room itself had a nice view, and the bed was comfortable (I wanted to steal the pillows). Room service was awesome as well. This hotel is one that you don't have to leave, lots to do or just relax in your room. Very close to Mall of Asia (the hotel provides a shuttle as well). Really like this place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hersh35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We constantly strive to provide a magnifique experience for our guests. Every effort is taken to ensure that this is achieved, thus, your appreciation and recognition for the outstanding services of the team is truly appreciated. Your compliments will be shared with the rest of our ambassadors to continuously motivate them to provide the service that our guests always deserve when staying with us.

The Sofitel MyBed is designed for a nice and comfortable sleep, making you never want to get out of bed. We are glad that you were able to enjoy this and the spacious guestroom along with the nice view of your room and the free shuttle service to the nearby Mall of Asia.

We look forward to welcome you back.


Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed for 6 nights - and it was not a five star experience ! The welcome - or rather lack of welcome - said everything. After a some time the receptionist finally announced - "I have found your reservation". I was then given a whole page of "house rules" that I had to sign. As an elite member of Accor Club I had expected a somewhat different welcome. But here were none of the usual - and promissed - perks (upgrade, free drink, fruit and welcome gift) Instead I was offered to pay twice as much and get an upgrade. The only free perk was free wi-fi internet access, which didn´t work or worked extremely slowly (½ hour to receive and send mail !) After this warm welcome I was left on my own. When the access system in the lift didn´t work and I returned to the reception desk I was asked once again - for passport and ID. I had been away from the reception desk in less than one minute. That was indeed a personal and warm welcome. But it got worse !
The room was big, but the furniture should have been changed a long time ago. The armrests on one of the chair had a big hole in the polstery. The desk - and the bathroom - was dirty. But at least the room had been cleaned, so-so. A few days later housekeeping simply forgot to clean the room. Even after they had promissed to do so by 5 pm the room was still untouched by 8 pm - and it required another phonecall to finally get it done.
The socalled concierge deserves special mentioning. I have never stayed in a hotel with such an incompetent concierge. Booking a first class bus ticket was far beyond his competence. Instead I was told that I could take a taxi to the terminal and spend half a day buying it myself. A simple thing like a boat ticket to Corregidor Island was also to much to ask. I was given a map where a completely wrong mark should show me where to go to buy a ticket. It turned out - after I had been searching for the terminal in the wrong place I was directed to - that the terminal actually was located 200 meters from the hotel !
After a few days the socalled customer service officer called me to confirm that they had fixed the internet - which they hadn´t. It turned out that the real reason for the call was to push expensive spa-treatments.
The hotel seems to make a good business on weddings and other functions. Most of them take place outdoor near the pool area - and they are all noisy. Each night you will have loud music entertaining you.
The restaurants are real showcases. Especially the breakfast buffet is impressive, although not all the items are top quality. This is the first Sofitel I have stayed at, where they don´t know how to bake a baguette. Some of the waiters are very service minded, some are not. Twice a very eager waiter brought me an Ipad to make sure that I gave him personally a good review on tripadvisor. This might explain the great number a personal endorsements on this site.
After 6 nights in this wannabe place I switched to Manila Hotel. What a relief !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheDane2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Our ambassadors deliver the renowned Filipino hospitality along with the French savoir-faire to create a memorable experience for every guest. Every effort is taken to meet, if not exceed your expectations because our guest’s comfort and satisfaction is on top of our priority. Thus, it is with regret to read of your encounters with our staff and we apologize for the inconvenience this has caused. Through your feedback, we are able to understand which areas we lack in order to make necessary improvements and we thank you for sharing it with us.

On a lighter note, we are glad to know that you appreciated the Food and Beverage outlet of the hotel, particularly, Spiral. With its 21 dining ateliers, this interactive restaurant aims to cater to the discerning palate of people from all around the world to create a unique and memorable gastronomic experience.

We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to show to you the magnifique experience that the Sofitel brand promises.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We loved this hotel. From our room we had a great view of Manila Bay and the hotel pool and grounds. The pool and gardens are just like being at a resort. While relaxing on sun lounges, staff walked around offering complimentary fruit and water.

The buffet breakfast is the best I have experience anywhere, and I have done a lot of travelling for both business and pleasure. There was so much choice and all the chefs cooked in view of the diners. Make sure you allow plenty of time for breakfast.

The hotel offers a complementary shuttle service to the Mall of Asia. The hotel is only a short walk from Starcity Amusement centre and restaurants, which was safe at night. We ate outside the hotel, but really enjoyed more the meals and service we received when dining at the Sofitel.

The WiFi was expensive so we didn't use it.

We will stay at the Sofitel next time we are in Manila.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AusFrequentTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

One of the best features of the hotel is its location, showcasing the breathtaking views of the majestic Manila Bay sunset and being in close proximity to the Mall of Asia. Our famous lagoon-shaped pool and outdoor areas create the resort-feel for our guests without having to leave the city.

The Food and Beverage and Culinary team of Sofitel Manila aims to cater to delicate palates of our distinguished guests. Dishes are masterfully prepared in each atelier, a French word for a special working station. We are very pleased to know that your breakfast experience at Spiral was one of the best you had anywhere.

Thank you for your comments and recommendations. The TripAdvisor travellers will certainly find your feedback very useful. We are also very humbled to receive you compliments, we will certainly strive even harder to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Typical chain hotel. Grand entrance, fancy restaurant with renowned buffet and pool, but the rooms left a lot to be desired. They wanted $20 for wifi, no comp breakfast and the service wasn't all that great when compared to other establishments in this beautiful country. We stayed here a night as we used Manila to transit while island hopping, but after the first night decided not to return to the Sofitel.

We were upgraded to the deluxe rooms generously but were horrified to find such poorly appointed rooms. This made us a bit curious to see what rooms a grade below would look like considering... I am sure you can't find a better place to stay and always visit for the buffet if that's your thing ;)

Hope you have a great trip to the Philippines.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank axepsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Hearing about your insights and recommendations help us determine areas where we are in need of maintenance and improvement. We appreciate that you took the time in sharing them with us. Rest assured that the management has taken note of your concerns and will be addressing them accordingly.

However, we are glad to know of your good words for Spiral. We hope that we will have another opportunity to be of better service to you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
11
Reviewed March 21, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Our dinner at Spiral is the best! The variety of the food selection is great. Unlike the other hotel buffets we tried, they are complete. We were greeted by Ms. Danica. Our food servers Mike G. and Rachelle H.are very friendly and attentive to our needs, Super excellent service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Every effort is taken to ensure your expectations are met. We are thrilled to know that you appreciated the services given by Duty Manager Danica, and Spiral service attendants Mike and Rachelle. Your compliments will serve as motivation to them and to the rest of the team and will aid us in our continuous pursuit for excellence.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manila
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
1,494 reviews
Hotel H2O
#11 of 109 in Manila
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
1,293 reviews
Conrad Manila
#3 of 32 in Pasay
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Address: Roxas Boulevard | CCP Complex, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Manila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#3 Business Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
Price Range: $124 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 609
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila is an iconic 5-star luxury resort nestled in an expansive tropical setting. Renowned for its magnificent contrast of captivating sunsets and the sparkling waters of Manila Bay, the hotel attracts international and local travelers alike with its signature Filipino brand of hospitality and the French joie de vivre reflected in its service rituals; from entertainment, food and wine offerings. Nestled adjacent to the historic Cultural Center of the Philippines, Sofitel Philippine Plaza boasts of a location within the city beat and the refreshing tranquillity of the bay. It stands 15 minutes away from the international and domestic airports and approximately 30 minutes away from Makati City, the central business and commercial district of thriving shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Spiral is the hotel's most interactive restaurant in the Asia Pacific Region, featuring 21 ateliers of the world's best cuisine in one magnificent destination. Other than Spiral, Sofitel Philippine Plaza also has other restaurants and bars including Le Bar, a bistro, patisserie and library in one destination, La Veranda, a Parisian-style bar with an indoor lounge that stretches to an outdoor terrace, Snaps Sports Bar, a sleek and modern bar for sports enthusiasts, and the Sunset Bar, the idyllic blend of a picturesque outdoor dining venue. The first of its kind in Asia, the Vietura Aesthetic Lifestyle features anti-aging, detox and weight management along with a comprehensive services menu of holistic, personalized beauty and wellness programs. It combines non-invasive aesthetic procedures, integrative medicine and lifestyle coaching tailored to fit the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing