We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Sofitel Manila is the only hotel I've experience the feeling of being on holiday outside of Manila. This was my second time staying here and it's just gotten better. While I am an Accor member and frequent the Sunday brunch, we opted for another staycation with some friends to celebrate a birthday.

We booked 2 Club Millesime rooms this time as last year we stayed in a superior room, which was slightly tired. We were so happy. Once in our room the feeling of being out of the city started immediately. The check-in process at the club lounge is slow and needs some improvement. While the room was not ready, the actual check-in process was delayed due to a queue system problems.

We lounged by the amazing pool and enjoyed some bubbles and lunch at the Sunset Bar. Very enjoyable and the service around the pool and bar is superb. Thank you to Jomaire for looking after us and making us feel so welcome.

We then went to the Club Millesime Lounge for happy hour. This made our stay so much more special. As we were celebrating a birthday, staff members Sally and Kim made our celebration even more special. As we enjoyed the sunset and fireworks from a terrace off the club, the staff looked after us and even brought out a birthday cake and sang Happy Birthday. Very nice and thank you. One of those special touches that make you want to come back.

The bed in Sofitel could not be better. Honestly, you don't want to get up for breakfast. The Sunday brunch was great and never lets you go away being disappointed. All in all, a wonderful time at this oasis in the city. We look forward to returning. Thank you team Sofitel Manila.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side offer an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RandyRively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

It was such a delight reading through your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful experience and we thank you for your continued patronage.

It is great that you were able to enjoy the hotel’s facilities and amenities: Club Millesime, which offers refreshments and snacks throughout different periods of the day, our lagoon-shaped pool, perfect for families and guests who seek for relaxation and enjoyment, our very comfortable MyBed and of course, Spiral’s famous Sunday brunch.

While you enjoyed our facilities and found them great for relaxation, we are most delighted to learn that it was our service that impressed you the most. We are always humbled to be part of your special celebrations and making every effort to make it as memorable as possible is our priority. Thank you for taking the time to recognize the efforts of Jomaire from Sunset Bar and Sally and Kim from Club Millesime. Your compliments are highly appreciated as this will serve as motivation for the continued pursuit for perfection.

We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,741 - 2,747 of 4,921 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

The main thing about this hotel is its location on reclaimed land overlooking Manila Bay. You can swim in the lovely pools or sit in the bar or on the front, overlooking the bay. The rooms are clean and spacious, the buffet breakfast includes stations from both Asian and European countries and the staff are attentive and helpful. The one criticism I have is the check in system. Although I booked online in advance, when I arrived there were forms to fill in, and everything seemed to require pieces of paper manually completed. A fully computerised system would up the process and give a better first impression of this fine hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johndavisdorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Sofitel Manila is strategically situated where you can witness the best views of the majestic Manila Bay sunset, making its location being one of the top features of the hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed this along with our famous lagoon-shaped pool. We are thankful as well for your recognition of the attentive and helpful service of our ambassadors and they will certainly be delighted to receive your praises. It is such a joy to know that you thoroughly have a pleasant dining experience with us.

We value the recommendations that you have as it allows us to maintain and improve the service we provide to meet the needs of our distinguished guests. Rest assured that the department and management is looking into your comments and will carefully study on how we can do better in the check-in process without compromising any standards pertaining to the guest’s safety and security.

It was a pleasure being of service to you and we look forward to welcome you back soon.


Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We held a business conference here and my husband and I then stayed 3 extra nights for some luxury R&R at the Sofitel. Mostly kudos to Sofitel on the conference; not as many for other aspects at the hotel. They organized our conference well, prepared supplies, snacks, had excellent staff on hand and fixed all technical issues quickly. My one quibble was that they took away three of five wifi connections on the second day of the conference.

Checkin: We were greeted as one would expect at a 5-star hotel, then ushered to the desk, and that's where it went downhill. The receptionist spoke quickly enough to make one's head spin, and then informed us that we were fortunate to have a pool/bay-view room ... on a SMOKING floor. What? I get migraines from strong smells so that's not cool. We booked way in advance, so we asked her to change it, and she looked in the computer and said she couldn't because they had a convention and a wedding, but that guests are asked to smoke outside to avoid setting off the fire alarm, so it shouldn't smell bad. She said she would have someone "freshen the air." We agreed to try. The perfumed air freshener just about knocked us out -- we had to leave the room for a couple of hours just to see if we could handle the smells. In the end, it wasn't bad and we didn't like to complain. Second floor view is little view -- except of the pool and palm trees, BTW.

Food: How do I count the many ways to get tired of a buffet? The first time one sees the buffet, it seems amazing and offers so much, but after a few days ... Granted the food was good, at times excellent, but I'm not the buffet kind of person. During certain times of the day, it's chaos with masses of people crowding food stations zigging and zagging and a loud dining room. After day 3, we turned to a la carte.

Service: Hit or miss. Many times good. People are polite, but at breakfast, you will wait for an eternity to get your coffee/tea (you may have finished breakfast) and may have to ask 3 times. If you eat a la carte at le Bar or the Sunset bar outside, although the staff is lovely, you could fall asleep before you get served. We never actually got turn-down service. The guy would either come too late (11 p.m.?) or too early (6 p.m.) or not at all.

Amenities and other: WiFi -- I have to complain strongly about this. It's ridiculous for a hotel of this caliber to not offer free unlimited wifi. They gave us 3 hours of free wifi, and to get more, we had to pay. The worst was, the 3 hours was only good for ONE device, so if one of us used it for the phone, we couldn't use it for the laptop! Special events: The hotel hosts special events, I get that. But one lasted until the wee hours of the morning outside with loud music. Some guests actually DO sleep at hotels. One evening, they had a special event with live performance traditional dancing/music, and left the techno music on outside where we were dining. Listening to the two together was horrid. We spoke to someone who looked like he knew what he was doing (nice French fellow), who said he was not allowed to turn off the annoying techno, but he did turn it way down. Thank you! Location: Right on the bay. Area's a bit dodgy and far from everything but the Mall of Asia, but they offer free transportation to MOA, and you can get a taxi any time at the desk. Very safe.

Finally: It's absolutely FREEZING inside. I'm not kidding. I had to go to the MOA and buy sweaters and scarves. Despite the Manila pollution, we left our balcony door open because we couldn't get the temp controller to go higher than 23 degrees C. Everyone at the conference was wearing scarves and long sleeves. In Manila. Go figure.

Room Tip: Ask for a POT of coffee/tea at breakfast because you will wait forever for a second cup. Second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spendley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

We appreciate that you took the time in sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is always our aim to exert every effort by providing top-notch service and well-appointed products to ensure that our guest’s expectations are met, if not, exceeded. However, we regret that this was not the case, based on your review. Your comments are essential in addressing the improvement needed on our daily operations to better help us determine where we stand in terms of guest satisfaction. The department heads concerned have been duly informed of your feedback and appropriate measures will be taken to address where we have shortfall. Please note that the incidents are not of Sofitel standards, and we will make sure that recurrence of such matters will be avoided.

Spiral restaurant being a well-known dining destination and the most visited Food and Beverage outlet in the hotel for its famous 21 dining ateliers offering a variety of cuisines from around the world has a busy daily operations catering to both in-house and outside guests. You may wish to know that a la carte dishes are also being offered in the same restaurant. Other outlets namely LeBar, Snaps Sports Bar and the Sunset Bar offer sumptuous choices for your dining and drinking pleasure.

In spite of the challenges, we are glad to know that your business conference was successful and that you are pleased with the services of the team. Thank you for recognizing their efforts, as this will certainly boost their confidence to continue on striving harder for perfection.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to provide to you the service that the Sofitel brand is proud of.

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stay here annually during this time because it's my daughters birthday and her wish for her birthday weekend is to stay at Sofitel and swim at the fabulous pool.

Upon check in, Mr. Rome who fantastic in every aspect of customer service upgraded us to the club floors because the room I booked was not available at the time if check in.

As always, customer service by their professional staff was exceptional. The rooms however is another story. The club floors was still disappointing. It's dated and was not tidied up properly. My wife the OC found traces of number 2 under the the water closet rim. (Major foul). My wife wrote the GM a letter regarding this matter.

Customer service is important so I gave a rating of 4 out of 5. Kudos to the staff- front desk, club lounge and spiral. Job well done. You might want to retrain the housekeeping and renovate the rooms while you're at it,

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank MOMSPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Thank you for taking the time in sharing with us your review on your recent stay. Every effort is taken to ensure that your expectations are met. Thus, we are thankful for showing your appreciation. Rome and the rest of the team will certainly be delighted to receive your compliments and will certainly be motivated to continue on striving harder for excellence.

However, we regret to know that you encountered some lapses with regards to room cleanliness. Rest assured that the Housekeeping team has been informed of the matters raised and that housekeeping standards will be keenly observed.

We look forward to having you back!

Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was my first time staying at a Sofitel. There's not enough space to elaborate, so here's my quick pros: Quiet location; attentive staff are always smiling and look professional; beautiful modern design; very clean; great amenities, great spa, great bars & restaurants, breakfast buffet, pool - I didn't need to leave the premise nor did I want to leave! I would 100% return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank RKing20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

The short yet valuable feedback you have is truly a wonderful sight to see on Trip Advisor. This leaves a smile on us and the urge to continuously offer our guests with the quality products and deliver excellent service from the heart.

Thank you and we shall look forward to creating another magnifique experience on your future visit.

Kind Regards,
Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed for two nights and really enjoyed the hotel, the amazing ocean view and the unbelievable food buffet. We did upgrade to some special package which included evening drinks and nibbles (fantastic selection of drinks, wines, cocktails and some delicious nibbles), WiFi, and breakfast. There were other benefits which we didn't even take advantage of, but definitely well worth the extra pesos! We would love to come back one day!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JitkaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

The fantastic review of your recent stay experience is truly appreciated and helpful to the Trip Advisor community. It is such a delight to know that you get to experience the exclusive services offered in our Club Millesime that made you better enjoy the accommodation.

We will be very glad to welcome you back in the future and will be best if you’ll have the chance to take pleasure of the benefits entitled for the extra cost paid in which we agree to be worthy.

Thank you and see you soon!


Kind Regards,

Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Heh...this is Manila. Your prices are way too high ! But very nice staff and well-trained. They make up for the lousy costs. Yes, we were suddenly moved from our table on the pool island mid-meal to accommodate the babes in the beauty pageant, but the management dealt with the situation well. Take out a loan if you wish your family to partake of the wonderful Saturday night barbecue. It's pricey. Book through a local agent or better still look elsewhere. It's not a bad arrival or departure place, especially if you want security. Not too far from the airport. The pool is good for kids and there are nice gardens. It overlooks the bay. You can get a room in Manila of equal quality for 1/2 the price. The Sofitel is also near the fabulous Asia Mall. Food isn't too bad at all. Even though it is costly I like it and would go back.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side overlook pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Thank you for sharing your views regarding your visit at the Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila. It is always our aim to offer our guests’ the excellent stay experience in all ways possible.

Your appreciation of the amenities and services shows that we have met, if not exceeded your expectations in aspect of your stay and this truly made us glad. Moreover, it is such a pleasant thought to learn that you will re-visit us given another opportunity.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and have the magnifique experience you deserve.

Kind Regards,
Ella Mendoza
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manila
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 109 in Manila
1,497 reviews
Hotel H2O
#11 of 109 in Manila
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 109 in Manila
1,302 reviews
Conrad Manila
#3 of 32 in Pasay
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Address: Roxas Boulevard | CCP Complex, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#3 Business Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
Price Range: $124 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 609
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila is an iconic 5-star luxury resort nestled in an expansive tropical setting. Renowned for its magnificent contrast of captivating sunsets and the sparkling waters of Manila Bay, the hotel attracts international and local travelers alike with its signature Filipino brand of hospitality and the French joie de vivre reflected in its service rituals; from entertainment, food and wine offerings. Nestled adjacent to the historic Cultural Center of the Philippines, Sofitel Philippine Plaza boasts of a location within the city beat and the refreshing tranquillity of the bay. It stands 15 minutes away from the international and domestic airports and approximately 30 minutes away from Makati City, the central business and commercial district of thriving shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Spiral is the hotel's most interactive restaurant in the Asia Pacific Region, featuring 21 ateliers of the world's best cuisine in one magnificent destination. Other than Spiral, Sofitel Philippine Plaza also has other restaurants and bars including Le Bar, a bistro, patisserie and library in one destination, La Veranda, a Parisian-style bar with an indoor lounge that stretches to an outdoor terrace, Snaps Sports Bar, a sleek and modern bar for sports enthusiasts, and the Sunset Bar, the idyllic blend of a picturesque outdoor dining venue. The first of its kind in Asia, the Vietura Aesthetic Lifestyle features anti-aging, detox and weight management along with a comprehensive services menu of holistic, personalized beauty and wellness programs. It combines non-invasive aesthetic procedures, integrative medicine and lifestyle coaching tailored to fit the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing