We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick the Club Suites if you can”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Ranked #3 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We spent several days in Manila, and decided to stay at the Sofitel because of its location near the airport. We landed in Manila late at night and had to catch a flight to Cebu the next morning. The Sofitel is located pretty close to the airport - a taxi costs between 150-200 PHP. If you decide to take the hotel car, it costs about 800-900 PHP.

The hotel is very beautiful and the staff is very friendly. Every time we walked into the hotel, two well-dressed ladies would always open the doors for us. The check-in staff isn't overly friendly, but they were helpful enough for us.

The best part of the hotel is the grounds - there is a casino, lots of restaurants and bars, tennis courts, a 24-hour spa, and a very well-maintained pool that has two water slides! The prices at the restaurant are expensive relative to other restaurants in the area, but the other restaurants are about a 15-minute walk away, near Rizal Boulevard. There's a lot to do and eat here!

Also, there's a free shuttle all day to and from the Mall of Asia, which is only about 5-minutes away by car, and there are many shops and restaurants here.

The first time we stayed at this hotel, we stayed in a regular room, and the decor was average. It had all the basic Sofitel toiletries, a comfortable bed, and cable television. The second time we stayed at the Sofitel, we booked a Club Room because we wanted to spend a few days in Manila, and this room was so much better. Everything is updated - the room is much nicer. Plus, we also had access to the Club Lounge, where we could get drinks and snacks all day long. The breakfast spread in the Club Lounge is excellent, and I highly recommend it!

Since all rooms have a balcony, I recommend booking a room with a view of Manila Bay because the sunsets in the afternoon are spectacular! Plus, you get a better view of Rizal Boulevard at night and the skyscrapers.

Overall, we had a great time at this hotel, and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,047)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,513 - 4,519 of 5,047 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2008

Got a good price of about 127 per night from Orbitz. Great location close to airport, convenient for my early AM flight. Hotel chauffer is not overpriced like other hotels. Club and casino seemed cool. The pool can put any resort pool to shame, its a nice relic from the Marcos era (as is the architecture of the building and the grand lobby). The rooms are modern, big, with very comfortable beds. Perfect for business or romance. Also, next to mall of Asia - thrid largest mall in the world, so you have plenty to do . Bars and nightclubs nearby.
Oh, and next to the convention center and 10 minutes to airport, thats nice in manila!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hypnoticrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2008

STAYED there to enjoy the summer since we didn't have the time to go to provinces and other beaches in the philippines, when we checked in the front desk was very rude, seems that they don't even know hat they are doing. as well as their manager joel. if it was not for the nice manager darwin we would have left the hotel, the place is really nice specially if your there on holidays, to go swimming and the food was great too, a bit pricey, but really good, only thing is that they lack training in customer service. was thingking of oging back since we had fun but when you think of the hassle with annoying staff, makes you change your mind. by the way if somebody pays for your hotel, like used a credit card not under your name, you have to fax the front and back of the card that was used to book the room, talk about inconvinience!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank paulapatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

Not central but beautiful location overlooking the bay. Close to the airport - only about 20mins and there are some good nightspots, restaurants and shopping close by.
Downstairs bar is great , although perspective may be swayed by the fact they were hosting a Playboy anniversary one evening and the outdoor bar is also a nice place to start, or finish, the night. Food good quality and the rooms are pretty comfortable. Minor gripes- pool was too small and crowded- nice for splashing but not for laps, and the gym was squeezed into a couple of rooms while regular gym was under renovation.
Will stay in Makati next time but this was a nice change.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Alena&Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

I stayed at the Sofitel last year in September, and found it so wonderful I returned! Its vicinity to the Mall of Asia (a very confusing and time consuming to find anywhere type place) also gives it a plus.

The attention to detail is superb, it's the little things that count. I love the bathroom provisions, it was complete.

The rooms have a balcony, which is a plus, as you can take in the view of the bay.

The beds at the Sofitel are great, no lumps or hard places. It definitely gives one a good night's sleep!

The front desk can be improved a little. There isn't much staff available for such a big hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank stummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2008

When you drive to the Sofitel Manila, you see a very big and huge building. It did not inspire me.......But when you are getting out of your taxi, and feel and see how welcome you are then you will forget this first feeling.
My room: very big bed, nice bathroom. The management has decided to remove the bath from the bathroom and that was a good idea. Now I had a so called rainshower. Enough bahtroom amenities. Nice balcony, but no chair on the balcony. Tv, and desk to work on.
In the hotel you have a very good 24/7 beatyparlor. The treatment was professional done. The gym was in a temporarely part of the hotel, cause they are working on a new gym. Very pleasant was that the member of the gym explaned the use of the treadmills, and other equipment.
The lobby in the hotel is beautifull. With escolators you go downstairs to one of the restaurants. And there it happens at 18.30 hrs each evening: The buffet.
You have choises of: Indian, Japanese, European, Korean food. and a big Grand dessert corner. Everything is well prepared and the staff is making your plate on the spot. show cooking at all the counters. Friendly and advising. A real pleasure. The staff is helpfull, and care taking.
I enjoyed every minute.
The swimmingpool is a very nice area to be during the stay.
Reception also friendly and helpfull. In short a very pleasant stay in this Sofitel hotel. Much better than the Sofitel Karnak Luxor, on which I also wrote a review.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kuiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2008

The Sofitel has recently been renovated, the rooms are very clean and modern. The pool area is large and very nice. There are several restuarants to chose from in the hotel and the buffet is very good. The day spa and gym area are still under renovation but are open and offer very reasonably priced massages etc. The staff are very accomodating and helpful. I would highly recomend this hotel.

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank TLS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manila
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#2 of 111 in Manila
1,364 reviews
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#5 of 111 in Manila
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel H2O
#11 of 111 in Manila
1,244 reviews
Conrad Manila
#3 of 34 in Pasay
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Address: Roxas Boulevard | CCP Complex, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Manila
#3 Business Hotel in Manila
#3 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
Price Range: $130 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 609
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila is an iconic 5-star luxury resort nestled in an expansive tropical setting. Renowned for its magnificent contrast of captivating sunsets and the sparkling waters of Manila Bay, the hotel attracts international and local travelers alike with its signature Filipino brand of hospitality and the French joie de vivre reflected in its service rituals; from entertainment, food and wine offerings. Nestled adjacent to the historic Cultural Center of the Philippines, Sofitel Philippine Plaza boasts of a location within the city beat and the refreshing tranquillity of the bay. It stands 15 minutes away from the international and domestic airports and approximately 30 minutes away from Makati City, the central business and commercial district of thriving shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Spiral is the hotel's most interactive restaurant in the Asia Pacific Region, featuring 21 ateliers of the world's best cuisine in one magnificent destination. Other than Spiral, Sofitel Philippine Plaza also has other restaurants and bars including Le Bar, a bistro, patisserie and library in one destination, La Veranda, a Parisian-style bar with an indoor lounge that stretches to an outdoor terrace, Snaps Sports Bar, a sleek and modern bar for sports enthusiasts, and the Sunset Bar, the idyllic blend of a picturesque outdoor dining venue. The first of its kind in Asia, the Vietura Aesthetic Lifestyle features anti-aging, detox and weight management along with a comprehensive services menu of holistic, personalized beauty and wellness programs. It combines non-invasive aesthetic procedures, integrative medicine and lifestyle coaching tailored to fit the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing