We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Nearby Hotels
$104
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
City Garden Suites(Manila)(Great Value!)
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Manila Central(Manila)(Great Value!)
$109
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel H2O(Manila)(Great Value!)
$80
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Bocobo Hotel(Manila)(Great Value!)
$29
$23
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $26/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (5,275)
Filter reviews
5,275 results
Traveler rating
2,751
1,525
594
237
168
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,751
1,525
594
237
168
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspiral restaurantle barclub millesimeluxury roomsunset barpool areaclub roomthe executive loungefree shuttledinner buffetbay viewfive star hotelchecking inupon checkaccormagnifiquesnaps
Filter
Updating list...
3,405 - 3,410 of 5,275 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here three times in the past five years and it never fails to be a grand time for the family. I suppose the French élan mixes well with Filipino hospitality. From the traditionally dressed ushers to one of the best value buffet in the world, Sofitel fits the requirements of tourists with young families as well since the play area and the resort like maze of pools is sure to please. The hotel even hosted a grand egg hunt during Easter, complete with hosts and games.

The filipino staff is the epitome of top notch service. The cuisine is above the grade for standard 5 star hotel fare.

The rooms are well appointed and retain their former American owners' design sensibility, that is the walls can use a bit more art for that cozy feeling.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaleTula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

It is very fulfilling to receive such a wonderful and informative feedback from one of our beloved guests. I am sure that other travelers would find your review very useful so we thank you for taking the time to share this with us.

We thank you for your continued patronage and we are very pleased to hear that we always exceeded your expectations because your satisfaction is our utmost reward. Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel and its services and facilities. I have shared your comments with the rest of the team to motivate them to continue on providing the excellent service that our guests look forward to experiencing at our hotel.

Sofitel and its Ambassadors would love to have the pleasure of being of service to you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had two nights at the Sofitel for a work-related trip. I never even had a chance to go in the pool but it looked awesome. The breakfast buffet was the best buffet I have ever eaten ANYWHERE. Holy crap that was a ton of great food. My wife and I were wide awake at 0630 so went to eat early, yet we never needed to eat again until dinner time. There was that much delicious food.
The front desk service was outstanding, as was the bell staff. I have nothing else to compare it to in the Philippines, but I can't imagine many nicer places than this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperDrDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent experience with us.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, particularly your dining experience at Spiral. We are very glad that you enjoyed the vast selections of food; our chefs would definitely be very pleased to receive your wonderful feedback.

We look forward to welcome you back as we have a lot more services and facilities that we would like for you to experience and enjoy.

Kind regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my partner on holiday in late July/early August and had a wonderful time. We hardly wanted to leave the hotel to see the rest of Manial! As you would expect with a five star hotel, the service was impeccable, friendly, personalised and efficient, the bed king size and very comfortable, and the suite huge and modern. The privacy of the separate living and bedroom areas, with televisions and DVDs in each room, meant we could do our usual thing of sleeping or watching television at different times. I also liked the completely block-out curtains for sleeping. We were lucky enough to have a suite that looked out on Manila Bay, which was a superb view. (Suggest you ask for one of these.) The sunsets from the balcony were magnificent. The pool was large and had shallower areas for children and adults who were less confident in the water, but there was still plenty of deeper areas of the pool for us to swim. Staff brought free nibbles around the pool area, which was a nice touch. We also made use of the Club Milliesime, which meant that we were able to have private check in and check out, as well as breakfast and cocktails in a club-like atmosphere. We met some really interesting other guests there. If you have not yet availed yourself of the Club facilities at the Sofitel, I highly recommend this one. I have been to a couple of other Club facilities at other hotels, but found this one to be superb. The Spiral restaurant, which serves authentic food from every part of the world, was spectacular. If you are there on a weekend, try to get to the Sunday brunch, which seems to be a local Manila favourite, and starts at noon. It serves as much food and wine (including Moet champagne) for as much as you can eat or drink. The array to choose from, including for me the sweets and desserts, were fantastic.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite which faces onto Manila Bay. Watching the sunsets and the shipping is amazing.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

What a great pleasure to receive such a wonderful and detailed feedback. We appreciate that you took the time to share this with us and the TripAdvisor community.

We are very much delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your experience at our hotel, particularly the impeccable service provided by our Ambassadors and also the guestrooms and its amenities. Club Millesime offers in-room check in, breakfast, afternoon tea and snacks, cocktails and a lot more; we are glad that you were able to enjoy this experience. Spiral offers a variety of dishes from different parts of the world and is freshly prepared daily for our guests to enjoy. We recommend that reservations be done prior to arrival to avoid the hassle of long lines as it is quite busy during Sunday brunch.

We look forward to welcome you back as we would love to have the pleasure of having you as one of our regular guests.

Kind regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Everything you expect from a Sofitel - well trained and efficient staff, good sized and very comfortable rooms with in room cable internet connection that worked well (you have to pay for connection for either 3 or 24 hours), well fitted out bathrooms with good quality soap/shampoo and a very comfortable nights sleep.
Unfortunately I didn't get to try the outdoor pool which snakes its way in a loop and also has slides, nor some of the numerous other bars and restaurants within the hotel, but the buffet at the Spirals restaurant is truly memorable - both at breakfast and lunch time where the choice is huge and the quality of food excellent - foods from almost every part of the world are on offer and when a buffet divides foods from North and South India, you know it's going to be a great experience. Location wise the hotel is right on the waterfront and whilst you can walk along the sea wall in the evenings, you can't walk too far before reaching the edges of the property which are guarded by security.
I stayed here just two nights on a business trip, but would have happily stayed longer and if I return to Manila for a holiday I would certainly give serious thought to staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickworld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share such a wonderful and detailed feedback with us and with the TripAdvisor travellers.

It is very pleasing to know that you had an excellent overall experience at our hotel and particularly enjoyed comfortable rooms and the vast choices of food at Spiral. Spiral is an interactive dining restaurant which has 21 dining ateliers wherein every single dish is prepared right in front of each guest.

We are humbled by your compliments. Rest assured that these will be shared with all of our Ambassadors as I am certain that this will motivate them to continue on striving harder for excellence.

We look forward to welcome you back as we would love to have you experience the other facilities and services of our hotel.

Kind regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

My friends & i decided to drop by at Sofitel's Le Bar because it comes highly recommended by someone. We were just hanging at the Lounge & had to ask what is the best-selling cake that they offer. One of the service attendant named cristina (or is it kristina?) recommended the opera cake so i decided to try it & she also suggested the mango manila tea. It was such a shame that i didn't bother to take a picture of it but it tasted so good!
add the fact that the ambience is really relaxing & the service is too & i have to say that it was a great way to end the night. their opera cake is one of the best that ive tried so far. will definitely be back for more while im still here.
ps:
i make it a point to commend people that pleases me but i forgot to do so because we were in a bit of hurry last night.the lady who served us was really very friendly & accommodating. she made us feel very welcome indeed! now im thinking of dropping by every now & then if i would be getting the same treatment that i did & for other cakes too! yum!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank rachael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay!

It is such a pleasure to receive such a wonderful feedback; thank you for taking the time to share it with us.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your dining experience at LeBar, particularly the cakes and the services provided to you by Cristina. I will share your comments with her and with the rest of the Ambassadors to motivate them into providing the excellent quality service that our guests really love.

We would love to welcome you back as we have a lot more cakes and pastries that we would like you to try and enjoy. It would be our pleasure to be of service to you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews