We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Luxery nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Manila
Certificate of Excellence
Roosendaal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Luxery nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Had à stopover here. After à long flight from Amsterdam spend à nice evening and night here. Its luxery and relaxing. But expensieve for the Fillis but to me it was worth every penny! Nice pool great breakfast. Location is not that great some rooms looking out at à building site. Looks not that nice but had no problem of noise. Hotel is not in the city center.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulus1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for the positive review! We are pleased to hear that you had a magnifique stay at Sofitel Manila.

All your kind comments are certainly flattering and we are extremely proud that you appreciate the rate value of our hotel. Following your comment, Sofitel takes pride in its outstanding view has to offer; the breath-taking view over the Manila bay, the Manila skyline, the sunset and the lagoon shaped pool.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to serving you in the near future!


Best regards,


Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,022
    1,205
    483
    185
    125
See reviews for
1,350
983
271
819
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed a couple of days ago at the Sofitel Manila and although the service was attentive I was disappointed by the current status of the pool area, one of the main reasons I have chosen to stay there. There is no view of the bay whatsoever due to ongoing heavy construction work (re-enforcement of the sea wall). The entire hotel shoreline is fenced off. The views are marred by a high metallic fence, painted in a vivid green, in harmony with the green mats of the pool lounge chairs. There is constant noise coming from the heavy construction machinery behind the fence (grinding, drilling, hammering and unloading rocks). I don’t remember seeing any warning about this on their website, nor on the websites of the agencies selling their accommodations. When I asked a reception member about the estimated duration of the works I got no clear answer, so I’m afraid it will be continuing like this for weeks, if not months.

Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and well appointed, the décor is classic with an abundance of brown colours. Regrettably they charge for in-room WiFi & Ethernet connection, which in my opinion is a let-down in a 5-star hotel charging their prices, especially when many 3-star hotels are offering WiFi for free. An alternative is to browse the web for free in the bar or lobby.

Service is excellent and the staff at the concierge desk are doing their best to accommodate the guests’ needs.

Having seen and tried other buffets in 5-star hotels around the world, I find that the “Spiral” at the Sofitel Manila is overpriced. As many online prices are for the room only, here is a list of the buffet net prices (as of April/May 2013):
-Breakfast Mon-Fri PHP 1720 / Sat-Sun PHP 1965,- (Kids PHP 983/1105,-)
-Lunch Mon-Sat PHP 2432,- (Kids PHP 1351)
-Brunch (Sunday) PHP 3623,- (Kids PHP 1842)
-Dinner (Sun-Thu) PHP 2800,- (Kids PHP 1597) / Fri-Sat PHP 3046 (Kids 1597,-)
[Quick orientation: 1 USD = 40 PHP / 1 GBP = 60 PHP (approximative high street FX rates)]

For those who feel unhappy about these stratospheric prices (especially for children), there is also an a la carte breakfast / lunch / dinner option, not only cheaper but also healthier (no overeating / excess calorie intake).

In conclusion, I would try out other competing hotels before committing again to the Sofitel in Manila, at least until the construction works are finished.

Marius_Berger

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marius_Berger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for your honest and constructive feedback. It is through feedback of our guests that empowers us to boost the quality of our products and improve our services.

We regret for the inconvenience caused through the seawall rehabilitation, we are working together with the government in order to be prepared for the next rainy season to ensure the safety and security of our guests and employees.

At Sofitel Manila, we understand the importance of fulfilling our guest’s expectations and we truly regret that we have not satisfied you. Our pricing is comparable to similar restaurants in the area as we provide outstanding value and high quality of products. We do understand your point of view about our Spiral rate and rest assured that we will forward your comment to the Food and Beverage Director.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward of welcoming you in the near future.



Best regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We keep coming back at Sofitel since the pool is my daughter's favorite. good thing you already renovated the rooms. A couch on the room would be nice. The rate of the buffet is a bit too pricey, i don't think kids age 4 should be charged half the rate since they eat so little.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank jen_riguera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Manila and for taking the time to tell us about your experience.

We are glad to hear that our pool is your daughter’s favorite. Sofitel is the only resort hotel in Manila with a lagoon-shaped pool.

Following your comment about the Spiral rate, we do offer a great variety of A La Carte dishes within a different price range. Additional, we have done a field study and our rate stays competitive as we are within the upper priced segment in comparison to other luxurious hotels. Rest assured that this had been discussed with the Director of Food and Beverage.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.



Best Regards,


Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo,FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just completed a 6 night stay. Check in was smooth but when we got to the room there was an aroma resembling an old pair of socks or grease. When the stench persisted the next day we notified the staff and they were able to move us. The rooms are big,stylish and I loved the shower. It would have been nice to have a refrigerator but there is enough space in the minbar to get a couple of waters in there. The gym has 4 treadmills,ellipticals,weights,and yoga. We visited daily,the fitness area was one of the strong points of the hotel. The pool is beautiful. Cannot comment on Spiral because it was 100 dollars apiece and I don't care how good it is that's too much. As for the service I appreciate attentiveness but do they need to have 6 or 8 people telling me "bonjour" or " have a nice day"? I felt like I was being monitored at all times.They sure have a lot of staff standing around doing nothing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjl330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for sharing your experiences with Sofitel Manila. We are gratified to hear that our big and stylish room was to your satisfaction.

It is our endeavor to perform up to our guests' expectations, and great feedback such as yours inspire the team to work hard and ensure the consistency of our service quality. Nonetheless, we regret that you had experienced some challenges with our room. Rest assured that the department head concerned has been informed.

We hope this did not impact your overall stay and the possibility of returning back to our hotel.



Best regards,


Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at this hotel. The room was spacious and clean. The beds uber comfortable. The bathroom very nice and classy. Our room had a balcony which had a beautiful sunset view. We also had our meals at their renowned Spirals restaurant which features the biggest buffet in the city. Their food is wonderful -- with a wide array of choices. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. We had a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChezLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for sharing such a wonderful feedback according to the recent stay.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve upon our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next visit in Sofitel Manila.


Sincere Regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I came here for more than 32 years, ever since it was build and called "Philippine Plaza Hotel", build by the great president Marcos. The hotel was owed by the Philippine government up to the time when the new president: housewife and president Aquino sold it. It was after the revolution and the confiscation of a lot of property..., to be sold.
In those good old days (before 1985) all incomes at the hotel paid for all the expenses at CCP (The Cultural Center of the Philippines) just down front on Roxas Boulevard. And in those good years of Philippino history "International and National Culture" (soul food) was provided to the fine and ordinary Philippino people for free, or for low cost and always with great value". That was the religion of president Ferdinand Marcos..., at that time. And the hotel... WOW!

I always stay here when I don't have to pay myself (invitations).

Now it is called "Sophitel Philippine Plaza Hotel" and all the incomes goes somewhere else than for the fine arts and great music....

BUT I love this hotel and will always come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GADE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Sofitel Manila. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you are a loyal guest to our property since 32 years.

Thank you very much giving our Trip Advisors visitors a brief review about the history of our hotel. Our goal is always to exceed our guests' expectations, so we are glad to hear that you were happy with your choice of hotel.

Our whole team looks forward to your next visit

Sincere Regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have renewed our Accor Advantage plus after staying at Sofitel. Our fourth year as Accor Advantage plus holder. Satisfied with the services and friendly staff. Looking forward for another stay.
Can you please inform us if there are promos at Sofitel, Manila. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank akoganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofitel-Philippines, Manager at Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bonjour Mabuhay from Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila!

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience. It is always pleasant to receive positive feedback from our guests. Be assured that your relevant feedback will provide valuable support to all of our staff as we strive continuously to reach excellence.

Regarding your request about future promotion, please sign up at our website sofitelmanila.com for our newsletter and we will keep you updated.

Our whole team looks forward to your next visit.



Sincere Regards,

Federico Tacoli
Director of Quality Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manila
Malate
Pan Pacific Manila
Pan Pacific Manila
#1 of 111 in Manila
4.5 of 5 stars 989 reviews
Hotel H2O
#9 of 111 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
Walled City
The Manila Hotel
The Manila Hotel
#3 of 111 in Manila
4.0 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bayleaf
#5 of 111 in Manila
4.5 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila

Property: Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila
Address: CCP Complex, Roxas Boulevard, Manila, Luzon 1300, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Manila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Manila
#3 Romantic Hotel in Manila
#3 Business Hotel in Manila
#4 Luxury Hotel in Manila
#4 Family Hotel in Manila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 609
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila is an iconic 5-star luxury resort nestled in an expansive tropical setting. Renowned for its magnificent contrast of captivating sunsets and the sparkling waters of Manila Bay, the hotel attracts international and local travelers alike with its signature Filipino brand of hospitality and the French joie de vivre reflected in its service rituals; from entertainment, food and wine offerings. Nestled adjacent to the historic Cultural Center of the Philippines, Sofitel Philippine Plaza boasts of a location within the city beat and the refreshing tranquillity of the bay. It stands 15 minutes away from the international and domestic airports and approximately 30 minutes away from Makati City, the central business and commercial district of thriving shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Spiral is the hotel's most interactive restaurant in the Asia Pacific Region, featuring 21 ateliers of the world's best cuisine in one magnificent destination. Other than Spiral, Sofitel Philippine Plaza also has other restaurants and bars including Le Bar, a bistro, patisserie and library in one destination, La Veranda, a Parisian-style bar with an indoor lounge that stretches to an outdoor terrace, Snaps Sports Bar, a sleek and modern bar for sports enthusiasts, and the Sunset Bar, the idyllic blend of a picturesque outdoor dining venue. The first of its kind in Asia, the Vietura Aesthetic Lifestyle features anti-aging, detox and weight management along with a comprehensive services menu of holistic, personalized beauty and wellness programs. It combines non-invasive aesthetic procedures, integrative medicine and lifestyle coaching tailored to fit the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippine Travel
Sofitel Manila
Accor Philippine Plaza Manila
Philippine Plaza
Hotel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippine Plaza
Sofitel Philippines
Manila Sofitel
Westin Philippine Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing